Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Empty EPG on startup

Page 1 of 1
anthony2l
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:33 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 263
The Toppy is used daily as well as being set to update the EPG at 0645 daily.

Last night it was switched on so that an imminent program could be recorded and the whole EPG was empty. Where did it go? The tuner was working and TV program showing.

After checking settings etc returned to live TV and the "L" roundel came up and the full EPG reappeared.

Bemused and confused and the program to be recorded was too far in to be bothered.

Not witnessed this before. Running the latest GCB installs.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]™
View user's profile Send private message
Laser
Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2008 Posts: 441
In my experience MyStuff can be a bit keen to throw away its data files. Loss of EPG is fairly rare, loss of searches happens occasionally, and loss of structure (which recordings in which folder) I've seen several times.

It all comes down to file corruption. On a flaky Toppy you may see these things a lot, but even on a solid machine it can be a bit funny about how it powered down or how long it had a poor or nonexistant signal.

First port of call for me is to go into MyStuff backup settings and recall the information from the day before. Normally fixes the worst of it.

In your case, just waiting 20 mins usually repopulates the EPG. If you start to see this regularly, consider looking into possible HDD or PSU issues.

_________________
TF5800 250GB Black Panther FW 5.13.65 (Patched)
TAPs: MS6.6, EPG2MEI 0.96, Extend 1.7, SecCacheUK, EIT_Sub, UKSubtitle, SDS
TV: Pioneer PDP-4280XD. AVR: Denon AVR-X2600H. Transmitter: Tacolneston
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4493
@anthony2l

When you say the whole EPG was missing; was it showing the MS EPG screen or the native one?
You can always record using the native screen (press > between the << and >>) before pressing EPG


Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
anthony2l
Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:03 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 263
Geoff

The MyStuff screen, all time slots for all channels stating "No information available" or similar.

Took 10-15 mins to populate, maybe more. As if the machine hadn't been on for a week or two except it had.

Didn't try the native.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]™
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:16 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4493
The fact that it showed the MS EPG screen indicates that MS was running and therefore the disk was visible/working.

So the implication is that the EPG files had no valid data in it (if it didn't exist, I think MS would have prompted about entering recovery mode).
It looks like you might have had a minor file system failure or, possibly, EPG2MEI wiped the file but failed to recreate it.

Suggest you run \ProgramFiles\Utilities\fsCheck.tap and post the result in the fsCheck Results thread.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:42 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4493
The fsCheck report shows that the disk is ok with two minor file system errors that are easily fixable with Antares.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum