Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  What to buy after a Toppy

Page 2 of 7
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Grand Dizzy
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:33 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 Oct 2009 Posts: 172
Fascinating thread.

I must say, the Toppy's slowness to respond does irk me, though I've got used to it over the last 10 years. My first PVR was a Digifusion and it responded instantly to every button press. You could hit pause, hit rewind, hit pause, hit play, and it would respond instantly and precisely to every press. It also let you go frame-by-frame, forwards and backwards. I do miss having that sense of power. Another thing I miss about my Digifusion is it had a nice small, light remote. I hate big, heavy remotes.

But MyStuff is so fantastic, it's worth the Toppy's shortcomings!
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 8:36 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3524
cuthbert wrote:
Quote:
Also, duplicates can be skipped. So you can set it to record eg. "The Professionals" and you don't end up with all the repeated episodes that get pumped out by ITV4 every week.


Test: The Topfield and the Pi are both set to record "Pawn Stars". Both find that there are 28 episodes in the next week. The Toppy is set to record all. The Pi will record only 12 of the 28, the rest being re-runs from within the week (or reruns from today or yesterday, when the timer was set up).


I've just done the same test on my Xtrend box

All = 42 episodes

Require short descriptin to be unique = 14 episodes

This is the box checking for episodes in the next 7 days and only on Blaze.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 9:17 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 228
Toppy with Mystuff will not record any program (or duplicates/reruns) that you have previously recorded, will also let you exclude an episode or series. All depends which search you use.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
cuthbert
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:24 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 103
alan_m wrote:

I've just done the same test on my Xtrend box

All = 42 episodes

Require short descriptin to be unique = 14 episodes

This is the box checking for episodes in the next 7 days and only on Blaze.


Ha, you caught me out! My test was set to search Mon-Fri only. When I change it to include all 7 days, the Pi and Toppy also both found 42 episodes. The target to record was 12, not 14 though. Perhaps accounted for by your search being done later than mine.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEfErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcPfRRaRe
RhRpRsSSdSrStSyT2TdTfXpXw
TAPs: MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/9/1
4

TF5800, OSMC/Pi, All in One 7145, Sansa Clip Zip/Rockbox, Sony Blu-ray, Leak Delta 70/Sandwich 600
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cuthbert
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:32 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 103
jimi wrote:
Toppy with Mystuff will not record any program (or duplicates/reruns) that you have previously recorded, will also let you exclude an episode or series. All depends which search you use.


Toppy/Mystuff can skip duplicates? Brilliant. Where is the setting for that? I can't see it.

EDIT: I have now found out how to skip duplicates on the Toppy - see below.


Last edited by cuthbert on Mon Oct 28, 2019 12:49 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEfErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcPfRRaRe
RhRpRsSSdSrStSyT2TdTfXpXw
TAPs: MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/9/1
4

TF5800, OSMC/Pi, All in One 7145, Sansa Clip Zip/Rockbox, Sony Blu-ray, Leak Delta 70/Sandwich 600
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
slimgym
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:45 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Aug 2009 Posts: 122 Location: Essendon, Herts.
I never had MyStuff record any duplicates even if they appear on other channels after the initial recording. The Humax sometimes records a second copy off the +1 straight after the programme and grabs repeats of stuff like Traffic Cops at the weekend too.

Failed or missed/clash Toppy recordings were grabbed by MyStuff on other days or even from other channels.

MyStuff was and still is way ahead of the game.

Have ordered a Zgemma H7S from WOS. There are some good video tutorials on https://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk/YouTube-Video-Guides and whilst I forgot to tick the box that said flash with OpenVix it will at least give me a chance to try some other images. On the Enigma 1 there was a piece of software called "Barry Allen" (?) that let you boot multiple images which was great for trying something out and easily backing away.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+Sc
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; (FastScanGUI v0.6b)
View user's profile Send private message
cuthbert
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 12:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 103
Until today, I didn't realize that my Toppy can skip duplicates. Doh! Guess I didn't read the manual properly when upgrading from MS version 5 to 6.

Now my Topfield searches have been changed from "Text Search" to "Power Search" and all is good. For example, with Pawn Stars, both the Pi/OSMC and the Toppy have have 12 non duplicates within the next week.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEfErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcPfRRaRe
RhRpRsSSdSrStSyT2TdTfXpXw
TAPs: MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/9/1
4

TF5800, OSMC/Pi, All in One 7145, Sansa Clip Zip/Rockbox, Sony Blu-ray, Leak Delta 70/Sandwich 600
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Grand Dizzy
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 Oct 2009 Posts: 172
MyStuff has never recorded any duplicates for me. I thought this was a standard feature, I don't recall ever enabling it.
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 228
It's not something you enable/disable, it depends on which search you use. A Power search is probably the best because it combines the others.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
jimi
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 228
cuthbert wrote:
Until today, I didn't realize that my Toppy can skip duplicates. Doh! Guess I didn't read the manual properly when upgrading from MS version 5 to 6.

Your sig says your on MS 6.5? Latest version is 6.6 Wink

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
jimi
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 228
slimgym wrote:

MyStuff was and still is way ahead of the game.
.

I totally agree Cool
Let us know how you get on with the Zgemma

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
cuthbert
Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 11:32 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 103
An interesting test result. With the Pi/OSMC, I can watch/record 8 (eight) channels at once. Seven of them are playing right now, simultaneously, on my computer screen. And a right noisy cacophony it is. There was no special setup, I just kept adding viewing/recording more and more channels, and 8 seemed to be the maximum allowed.

We all know that with 2 tuners, you can record 2 channels and watch a third, if doing so involves at most 2 multiplexes.

But 8??? I'm pleased, I guess, but a bit flabbergasted.

The tuner is a Hauppage dual DVB-T/T2/C HD/SC tuner. It's the only one attached, currently.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hauppauge-WinTV-dual-HD-Freeview-broadcasts/dp/B011Z7I0JY

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEfErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcPfRRaRe
RhRpRsSSdSrStSyT2TdTfXpXw
TAPs: MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/9/1
4

TF5800, OSMC/Pi, All in One 7145, Sansa Clip Zip/Rockbox, Sony Blu-ray, Leak Delta 70/Sandwich 600
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cuthbert
Posted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 103
To the above question, I didn't find a full technical explanation, even after chatting to Hauuppage and asking on the Tvheadend forum.

It seems that modern tuners and software can supply 4 streams from a mux once it has been demultiplexed. In watching 8 channels, I was likely demuxing 2 muxes, one with each of the dual tuners.

I read on some forum that the Topfied/Mystuff was the first system to allow recording of 2 channels while watching a third.

Anyway, testing continues. I am comparing Toppy/Mystuff, a Pi 2 running OSMC and a Pi 4 running Kodi.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEfErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcPfRRaRe
RhRpRsSSdSrStSyT2TdTfXpXw
TAPs: MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/9/1
4

TF5800, OSMC/Pi, All in One 7145, Sansa Clip Zip/Rockbox, Sony Blu-ray, Leak Delta 70/Sandwich 600
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3524
cuthbert wrote:
An interesting test result. With the Pi/OSMC, I can watch/record 8 (eight) channels at once. Seven of them are playing right now, simultaneously, on my computer screen. And a right noisy cacophony it is. There was no special setup, I just kept adding viewing/recording more and more channels, and 8 seemed to be the maximum allowed.

We all know that with 2 tuners, you can record 2 channels and watch a third, if doing so involves at most 2 multiplexes.

But 8??? I'm pleased, I guess, but a bit flabbergasted.

The tuner is a Hauppage dual DVB-T/T2/C HD/SC tuner. It's the only one attached, currently.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hauppauge-WinTV-dual-HD-Freeview-broadcasts/dp/B011Z7I0JY


The Toppy can do that
https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9138

Each MUX can have a dozen or more channels (and don't forget radio) so when tuned into a single MUX the PVR has access to all those channels to record. My Enigma 2 box can record 8 or more programmes at the same time as well as being able to watch a recording.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 228
I'm very interested in your results. I have a Raspberry Pi 3 sitting behind my Toppy, I have it setup so I can access the Toppy from my PC via FTP (for transferring recordings) and allows me to connect TOPManager for retunes & updates etc.
Can also connect to the Pi via Windows Remote Desktop Connection. Network connections are made over my LAN via Homeplugs. Been running continuously since 2017 and never had a bit of bother with it ... after the initial struggle to set it up and get it working Laughing
I did also try to setup KODI on the Pi back then and failed miserably Sad


Last edited by jimi on Sat Nov 02, 2019 7:29 pm; edited 2 times in total

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 7
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum