Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Lost MUX#37 Waltham

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
anthony2l
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 228
Tuned to Waltham, been away on holiday and on return seem to have lost MUX 37

https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Waltham

TV finds it ok, just not the Toppy which means SWMBO can't record her favourite programs.

Retuned 3 times but still doesn't show. Do I need a factory reset or is this MUX a problem as it seems to go AWOL from time to time though a retune has always brought it back until now.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2513
I lose a mux when the weather is bad, but so does the tv.

Have you tried a manual tune of mux 37?
(I'm pretty sure the native interface shows the signal level.)

What are you using to retune, I only ever use Channel Organiser, which does a factory reset as part of the process, and remembers all your settings.

Without a factory reset, the channels found are added to the ones you've already got, not a problem usually unless there has been a significant change to the mux's.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 228
I am using Channel Organiser, I go down the list of transmitters to Waltham, Ch37 does not show on its listing.

Is there some other way of forcing a tune of Ch37? Looking at some old notes I believe the programs (Pick, Really etc) used to be on C56 but I think that's gone HD.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 228
I should add perhaps that I get a warning about Freeview.Dat needing updating but I've not done this for years and not sure what in fact it does. I remember vaguely attempting it without success. Is it relevant and if so can someone point me to an idiot's guide to update it?

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2513
You can find the 2 files here....

http://www.geeceebee.co.uk/channelorganiserdatafiles

You can use Altair to update them on your toppy, or wait for Geoff Bacon for more advice.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4225
CO uses a list to decide what muxes are on each transmitter; it then only scans the indicated muxes i.e. if it doesn't show in the list then it won't be scanned.

Install TopManager from my site (link in signature) and
1) Connection| Create
add a USB connection record and call it something
2) Connection| Open
3) Tools| Install Files| Freeview.dat
4) Tools| Install Files| FvTxData (or whatever it is called, adjacent to Freeview.dat)

You should then be able to use CO to scan the mux.

After the scan, reboot the toppy and wait about 2 minutes. Then in TM, do
5) Display | MyInfo Log
6) Tools| Update Forum Signature

Geoff

Note for others; I have prepared updated versions of Freeview.dat and FVTxData.tsv but I'm holding these back until after Christmas (to prevent any viewing issues over the festive period). Please remind me to make them live should I forget to do so.

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
anthony2l
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 228
Geoff Bacon wrote:
CO uses a list to decide what muxes are on each transmitter; it then only scans the indicated muxes i.e. if it doesn't show in the list then it won't be scanned.


Ah that explains it. Channel musical chairs. I've just scanned ALL TX channels and the recalcitrant one has reappeared.

I'll deal with Freeview.dat etc as per your instructions when feeling fresher though I do have your TopManager installed (somewhere!)

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4225
As you have done this manually, make sure you only have following MUXes left after a channel scan
Code:
Central   Waltham      49   54   29   37   57


You can also add MUX 26 if you want the LTM (local transmitter)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
anthony2l
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 228
I ran Top Manager last night and caused the Toppy to freeze. I fully powered down and left it off at the second attempt for a while - might have been something to do with the USB connection but it is up again now.

The /program/settings folder contained a zero byte freeview.dat and no FvTxData.tsv so I've run the install again from TopManager:

Fetching Freeview.dat ...
Installing Freeview.dat
Copied Freeview.dat ==> \ProgramFiles\Settings\Freeview.dat
This file is used by the "PcControl" menu options and/or the ChannelOrganiser tap


Fetching FvTxData.tsv ...
Installing FvTxData.tsv
Copied FvTxData.tsv ==> \ProgramFiles\Settings\FvTxData.tsv
The new file is used solely by the ChannelOrganiser tap

Freeview.dat is now 22kb but still no FvTxData.tsv, despite the above report.

I'll await further advice before attempting anything else.

TopManager v6.01.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2513
Try again, I've downloaded FvTxData.tsv manually without any problems.

I assume TopManager grabs it from the same place.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 10:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 228
I seem to have lots of niggles. Firstly however my aerial is pointing to Waltham and due to the layout here I do not receive signals from any other transmitter. I do have local ch 26. A couple of channels have weak signals including 26 and 37 but the signal quality is good.

Niggles:
1) I don't see FvTxData.tsv via Altair but when I download it and try to copy I am warned that I am overwriting - so it is there, but not visible.

2) Despite updating Freeview.dat I get warnings it is out of date, this seems to vary if I use a aaved scan. archive, or go to Central->Waltham

3) I can't update my sig via Top Manager - I get invalid argument and then "Updating Profile page, please wait ..." with nothing happening.

4) Channel Organiser sometimes shows an empty/phantom MUX but still displays a signal strength. Signal monitor displays all the expected MUXs.

Otherwise everything is working from a viewing perspective and the guide is fully populated.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4225
TM shouldn't cause the Toppy to freeze; it doesn't do anything special when accessing it.

Freeview.dat should never be 0 bytes

You shouldn't have any issues using TM to install FvTxData.tsv; I haven't changed that web reference for a long time. Even if the web reference was wrong, I would expect you to have some sort of file in the \Programfiles\Settings folder

Perhaps you've had a minor file system corruption at some point; you could try running fsCheck to see what it says.

The link that ccs posted downloads the following file
http://www.geeceebee.co.uk/updates_4/FvTxData.tsv?attredirects=0&d=1

TM uses the following link and renames the file to FvTxData.tsv
http://www.GeeCeeBee.co.uk/updates_4/pccFSGTable_input4.txt

Both files are identical (and download when entered in the browser)

Geoff
Note: As with all unexplained issues, have all the capacitors been replaced?


Last edited by Geoff Bacon on Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:12 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
albertd
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 563
anthony2l wrote:
A couple of channels have weak signals including 26 and 37 but the signal quality is good.
How good? Needs to be >98%.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2513
Geoff Bacon wrote:
The link that ccs posted downloads the following file
http://www.geeceebee.co.uk/updates_4/FvTxData.tsv?attredirects=0&d=1

TM uses the following link and renames the file to FvTxData.tsv
http://www.GeeCeeBee.co.uk/updates_4/pccFSGTable_input4.txt


The TM link (2nd one) doesn't work for me - I get a "… unsafe to download...." windows defender smartscreen error.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4225
@ccs
There is usually a way to override the virus checker/defender (it may not be obvious - try clicking "more details")

I've just fired up my test toppy, renamed it's existing FvTxdata.tsv file (to hide it) and successfully used TM | Install Files | FvTxdata.tsv
i.e. TM will update the file so there must be something strange about Anthony's toppy (file system or caps)

Geoff


Last edited by Geoff Bacon on Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:34 pm; edited 2 times in total

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum