Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Transmitter's down?

Page 1 of 1
MickKi
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 6:44 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Hi All,

This morning (Mon 06/06/2016) the Crystal Palace transmitter appears to have gone down. I couldn't get a signal on any mux and as a back up had not taken place for some months now, I decided to power down the Toppy and switch off at the wall to avoid yet another filesystem corruption.

I can't recall if there is a website to check for the status/uptime of transmitters. I'd prefer to use something like this to avoid the lottery of losing my recordings.

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:33 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
Have a look at http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/help_and_advice/engineering_works and enter your location details.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:44 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 571
MickKi wrote:
This morning (Mon 06/06/2016) the Crystal Palace transmitter appears to have gone down.
I have just checked Crystal Palace about 3 hours after your post and it is fine 25 miles from the transmitter. So if you are still getting nothing then the problem is probably with your setup in some way. Aerial not properly connected, amplifier failed or not powered - who knows?

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:19 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2584
I'm having problems with Belmont at the moment, although no reported issues.

Eg bbc1 ok, itv3 no signal, HD down as well (since about 21:00 last night).

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:30 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 571
I believe that the east coast has been experiencing a lift across the North Sea, which could result in interference to Belmont signals, but I wouldn't think it would affect the London region.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 12:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2584
Belmont ok again now, odd how some mux's totally disappeared at 21:00 last night, and re-appeared at 11:10 this morning.
Officially blamed on the weather conditions.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Thanks for the URL. I just checked and 3 London relays report some problems: Reigate, Otford, and Woolwich, but I am located towards Bucks at north west of London.

Anyway, the wife switched the toppy on at lunch time and the signal was back at its normal level.

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum