Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Disaster after re-scan on Toppy 5800

Page 1 of 1
bacoms
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:47 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 23 Feb 2006 Posts: 58
Toppy had been working well till I decided to do a rescan. On restart, got screen saying there were duplicate channels. Before I could do anything about this, MyStuff froze and had to switch off and on at the wall.
Difficult to remember exactly just what happened next but ended up with no recordings, no TAPS, etc. Zilch.
Could this be down to the re-scan finding duplicate channels? I understand this can cause problems.
In the end I reformatted the HDD, re-established the conection with my PC, via my Slug, and reloaded everything via MyStuff 6.6 Installation program.
All seems o.k. now but I did wonder if the capacitors might need replacing, having replaced all 13 about 5 years ago.
Perhaps someone more familar with the voltages could comment on the current voltages on the Toppy at the moment when under load:

30V = 31.3V
22v = 25V
17V = 17.3
8V = 7.7V
5V = 5.1V
3.3V = 3.3V
15V = 15.8V

On the Molex connector the voltages are:
5V = 5.1V
12V = 12.6V

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/5/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Tf5800
andyfras
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3457
The voltages are OK. I see from my records that you used one of my kits, so I'm confident that the capacitors still have many more years left in them. I've never had to change them twice in any Toppy.

It would be advisable to replace the remaining 5 capacitors, but they're unlikely to be the cause of the problem.

The problem was the crash caused by running out of RAM due to excessive channels. Did you do a factory reset before scanning, in order to clear the old channels? It's best to use Channel Organiser or Top Manager for retuning; either will clear the old channels first, then only tune a single transmitter to avoid duplicates. They also simplify removal of 'dross' channels.

It's too late now, but you may have been able to fix the corrupted disk without losing your recordings by connecting the disk to a PC running TopfHDRW.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mstombs
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 938
To scan I exit MyStuff, then use ChannelOrganiser to scan, delete junk, review ini files, then run Myinfo and Topmanager to check the channels/config before re-starting the Toppy.
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
bacoms
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:53 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 23 Feb 2006 Posts: 58
andyfras wrote:
The voltages are OK. I see from my records that you used one of my kits, so I'm confident that the capacitors still have many more years left in them. I've never had to change them twice in any Toppy.

That's good news. Up to this problem, my Toppy had been working fine.
Quote:
It would be advisable to replace the remaining 5 capacitors, but they're unlikely to be the cause of the problem.

I'll wait and see on that one.
Quote:
The problem was the crash caused by running out of RAM due to excessive channels. Did you do a factory reset before scanning, in order to clear the old channels?

Unfortunately I didn't see the note about a factory reset until after I'd done a rescan.
Quote:
It's best to use Channel Organiser or Top Manager for retuning; either will clear the old channels first, then only tune a single transmitter to avoid duplicates. They also simplify removal of 'dross' channels.

Now that I've got the connection via the Slug back up and running, Ive used TopManager to do a rescan using a single transmitter (Rowridge without LTM) and trimmed the number of channels down to 62 TV channels and 28 radio channels. So far no problems.
Quote:
It's too late now, but you may have been able to fix the corrupted disk without losing your recordings by connecting the disk to a PC running TopfHDRW.

I'll try and remember that should the problem happen again.

Thanks for your help, Andy. It's much appreciated.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/5/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Tf5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 1:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4404
You should only ever scan using TopManager or the Channel Organiser tap - any other method will lead to problems (unless you are extremely experienced).

I think there is a race condition (i.e. two things happening at same time) in MyStuff and this sometimes causes MS to freeze. Typically, for me, it occurs when I stop/delete a recording and start viewing another recording. Stopping this pretty quickly after it starts cause MS to freeze necessitating a power off/on (resulting in a VF&F when it restarts).
I have seen this more than a few times over the last year or so but I can live with it (it tends to happen when I have "accidentally" played a "wrong" recording")

Even though you hadn't performed a reset prior to the scan, I wouldn't have expected the box to crash due to lack of memory - I suspect MS just got it's knickers in a twist (CO and TM pause CO and stop EPG2MEI while doing scans).

I can recover corrupted disks (using my in house ToppyDiskMedic program) should you be unlucky enough to experience a similar fault.

You might also want to consider my fsSave tap - this saves the disk file system each day (assuming the toppy starts up each day). I can process the output of the tap to recover the disk completely to the last startup (excluding any areas that have been overwritten during the corruption).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 9:04 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
You've trimmed it DOWN to 90 channels? Seriously? I'm not surprised you had major memory problems.

See Toppy Memory for a LOT more information.

If I were you, I'd do some more pruning to save your Toppy having to work so hard. It's less critical on a 5800 than on a 5810, but do you really watch/listen to all of those channels?

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
albertd
Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 3:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 571
It would be worth posting the details from MyInfo (to be found in MyInfo Log.txt in ProgramFiles/Logs). It might show up some underlying problem.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
bacoms
Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 12:02 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 23 Feb 2006 Posts: 58
juwlz wrote:
You've trimmed it DOWN to 90 channels? Seriously? I'm not surprised you had major memory problems.

Have since got it down to 56 TV channels and 8 radio channels. I've no idea on whether this is still too high or not.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/5/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Tf5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 12:27 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4404
as albertd suggests, please post your MyInfo log

In TopManager :-
1) Display| MyInfo Log
2) Ctrl A (select everything)
3) Ctrl C (copy)
4) add to this thread and CtrlV (paste).

I don't think you need to reduce channels further but others might - if you want the channels that are left then keep them and see if you experience any issues (I run with a few more than that).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bacoms
Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 9:33 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 23 Feb 2006 Posts: 58
albertd wrote:
It would be worth posting the details from MyInfo (to be found in MyInfo Log.txt in ProgramFiles/Logs). It might show up some underlying problem.

My latest MyInfo.log, taken after power down/up, follows.
It highlights patch Sy as missing. Should I install this? It's not included in MyStuff66 Installer.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MyInfo B5.6 Logging settings etc on: 2/5/2016 at 09:15

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Ini file found
Starting to record data 60 seconds from boot

System ID: 456
TV Output: Type = PAL, Video = RGB, RF Channel = 36
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.13.65T dated Oct 10 2009
Base firmware version: 5.13.65

Running TAPS:
Slot 0: PcControl B1.4 : Toppy control from PC
Slot 1: EPG2MEI v0.96 : Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
Slot 2: MyStuff 6.6 : UI Replacement
Slot 3: Font Manager 1.0d : Manage TAP Fonts
Slot 4: Extend v1.7 : Uses the Accurate Recording info to extend recordings (safely)
Slot 5: SecCache (UK) v0.4 : Optimal (UK) section caching to reduce the load on the Toppy
Slot 6: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 : Provides faster, simpler and more robust EIT data collection, except when playing games
Slot 7: MHEG On/Off A3 : MHEG control
Slot 8: MyInfo B5.6 : Displays & records Toppy basic info
Slot 9: PruneEPG 1.0 : Program to remove unnecessary entries from the EIT table
Slot 10: fsSave 1.1 : File System Save (of key structures)
Slots 11 - 15 not used


Installed patch list:- Ab Bf Bq Ce Ck Cp Cw Cy De Ec Ee Ef Ep Er Es F Fm Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot P Pc R Ra Re Rh Rp Rs S Sd Sl Sr St T2 Td Te Tf Tp Ts Vr Xp Xw Xl
Firmware MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 modified thus: -Sy??
Patch Decode Links - Will explain your patches:
MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 :- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=AbBfBqCeCkCpCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFFmGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStT2TdTeTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
Missing patches:- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=Sy

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 56 TV channels and 8 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 22 are: 11, 12, 17, 29, 32, 41, 46, 48, 65, 68, 72, 126, 132, 731,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 24 are: 1, 2, 9, 120, 121, 130, 131, 200, 702, 703, 704, 705, 708, 710, 719,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 25 are: 10, 20, 21, 27, 30, 34, 37, 44, 55, 61, 66, 70, 122, 201,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 27 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 15, 24, 28, 33,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 28 are: 19, 25, 31, 38, 42, 47, 64, 73, 84, 125, 135,

Interactive Off
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 12 MB, Available: 10 MB
Disk - Total: 1863 GB, Free: 1773 GB

4 recordings (6 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 3 folders (+ 0 empty folders)

Time since boot: 0:0:1 (d:h:m)

Suggested signature for Toppy forum - copy following lines to signature block at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=editprofile
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/5/16

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/5/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Tf5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 10:29 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4404
That all looks ok to me (although I haven't checked all the channels numbers)

You can ignore the [Sy] patch - it makes a non 5800 toppy report itself as a 5800 (yours is already a 5800 so you don't need it)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 7:12 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
bacoms wrote:
juwlz wrote:
You've trimmed it DOWN to 90 channels? Seriously? I'm not surprised you had major memory problems.
Have since got it down to 56 TV channels and 8 radio channels. I've no idea on whether this is still too high or not.
If you have no idea, I would respectfully suggest that you haven't read the Toppy Memory article that I linked to.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 7:16 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
10 MB available, as shown in your MyInfo report, will be fine.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum