Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Satellite receivers, cable boxes and PVRs  ~  Help needed with a Topfield 5000

Page 1 of 1
DavidSteward
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:54 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 03 Jan 2006 Posts: 26
I have just bought a TF5000 on eBay, I thought I was buying a TF58xx. Not worth returning if as it cost the princely sum of 99p.

Can anybody help with instructions on how to set it up? I have connected it to a dish that is used for Sky but I can't get it to tune in. I could try it on a dish setup for FreeSat but that would not be an easy task.

The programmes stored on the hard drive seem to be of Eastern European origin.

Any help most welcome.

_________________
Three TF5800s 250GB 500GB and 1TB. An Icecrypt T2400, Panasonic DMR EX75 & LG OLED 55" with 2TB. TF5800s with MyStuff 6 and firmware 5.13.65T Tx Pontop Pike
24" iMac running OS X 10.11 & 15" retina MacBook on !0.12 and iPads.
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3450
A dish for Sky is the same as a dish for Freesat; it's the same satellite.

Was it sold as working? It may need its PSU capacitors replacing.

It may have been used on a different satellite, in which case, do a factory reset and channel scan.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:46 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
ISTR we had to buy a couple of gizmos (can't for the life of me remember what they were called) to use the Sky dish left behind by the previous occupants to be able to use it for Freesat.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3450
I can't imagine what gizmo would be required; the connections are the same for both.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
DavidSteward wrote:
I have just bought a TF5000 on eBay, I thought I was buying a TF58xx. Not worth returning if as it cost the princely sum of 99p.

Can anybody help with instructions on how to set it up? I have connected it to a dish that is used for Sky but I can't get it to tune in. I could try it on a dish setup for FreeSat but that would not be an easy task.

The programmes stored on the hard drive seem to be of Eastern European origin.

Any help most welcome.


The cluster of satellites used for sky and freesat are exactly the same. For free to air unencrypted channels the broadcasts are exactly the same . If you have sky mini dish (elliptical in shape) it will be suitable for Freesat broadcasts. There are also 200 free to air channels on the same cluster of satellites - mainly complete rubbish - hence the expression 200 channel and nothing to watch.

In the LNB menu screen which satelitte have you selected?
You need Astra (2E/2F/2G) @ 28.2E

What you may not get is the Freesat 7 day EPG - possibly you will only get now and next EPG information.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
duplicate deleted - The site timed out whilst posting


Last edited by alan_m on Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:57 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
duplicate deleted - The site timed out whilst posting
I only posted twice but there appears to be many more copies


Last edited by alan_m on Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:59 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
duplicate deleted - The site timed out whilst posting
I only posted twice but there appears to be many more copies


Last edited by alan_m on Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:01 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
duplicate(s) deleted - The site timed out whilst posting
I only posted twice but there appears to be many more copies


Last edited by alan_m on Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:00 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
duplicate(s) deleted - The site timed out whilst posting
I only posted twice but there appears to be many more copies

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:24 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Gizmo = LNB?

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:31 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3450
juwlz wrote:
Gizmo = LNB?

Same LNB for Sky and Freesat. The only thing I can think of is that you had a single LNB from an earlier Sky (pre Sky+) installation, so an upgrade to a dual or quad LNB was needed for full use of a newer Freesat recorder.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 11:37 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
andyfras wrote:
Same LNB for Sky and Freesat. The only thing I can think of is that you had a single LNB from an earlier Sky (pre Sky+) installation, so an upgrade to a dual or quad LNB was needed for full use of a newer Freesat recorder.
Ah - that could well have been it. I'll shut up now then Smile

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum