Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Radio - difference between TF5800 & 5810?

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
anthony2l
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 2:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 234
I've just reset my sister's TF5800 after she did a native channel rescan in error some weeks back in a vain attempt to access Radio channels. I've installed MyStuff 6.6 and rescanned onto Waltham only and done a channel cleanup. However I did not find it easy to get to the Radio.

I've just come home and tried on my TF5810 and the Radio button behaves as I would expect. Of course I am not now in a position to compare the two.

Before I try to guide my sister through any settings - are there any fundamental differences in the way the two should work? I had never played with X1,2,3 before and I am sure they would have been unchanged.

Thanks

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 2:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2587
TF5800 has a tv/radio button just like the 5810.

Quote:
5. Does MyStuff support radio?
A. Yes it does. From MyStuff v6 radio is supported without the need for extra steps. However if you used radio pre-version 6 then you will need to rescan to convert your radio channels back to standard versions.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 234
I did a complete channel re-scan and I don't know what to do differently. The unit is a recon from Andy Fraser and it has always had MyStuff 6.x on it since it has been in our hands and whatever it was tuned to before will have had to have been retuned since as we are in completely different regions.

So is there something I've missed?

Just to be clear - if I am watching TV on the 5810 and press the TV/Radio button it flips to Radio. If I have the Guide up I can scroll right through (All Channels) to Radio, or to save time I can merely go up from BBC1 to go to Radio. This does not happen on my sister's 5810 on which I did a full install of MyStuff 6.6 and retune today.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2587
.... you have described your sister's toppy as a 5800 and a 5810??

How did you do a channel "cleanup"? Might you have deleted all radio channels?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 7:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
anthony2l wrote:
I've just reset my sister's TF5800 ....

anthony2l wrote:
This does not happen on my sister's 5810 ...

Confused Shocked

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 234
ccs wrote:
.... you have described your sister's toppy as a 5800 and a 5810??

How did you do a channel "cleanup"? Might you have deleted all radio channels?


Rushing. Mine is as per my sig. My sister has the refurbished 5800. How should I do a "channel cleanup"?

Both initially and today I used the Channel Organiser TAP (I think a new one came with MyStuff 6.6), selected Waltham and then cleaned up the unwanted to leave < 60 channels.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2587
Channel Organiser is fine, that's what I would have used.

Like you, curser up in the epg of a 5810 takes me to radio channels.

I've never used favourites, so my X1,X2 and X3 are the defaults (1/7,2/7 and 3/7).

I can't imagine what would happed if I changed them, most confusing.


Last edited by ccs on Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:55 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 234
So does a 5800 behave the same - anyone?

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2587
anthony2l wrote:
So does a 5800 behave the same - anyone?
Mystuff is the same on both, so the answer is yes.

This thread probably won't help but......

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=267292#267292

Smile

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
mstombs
Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 10:04 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 938
DELETE duplicate
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
mstombs
Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 10:04 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 938
Radio button works fine on a 5800, I wish it wasn't so close to power button! I suspect the MyStuff issue is the Fav files which get updated by Channel Organizer using info from Freeview.dat (which is impossible to keep up to date), or the selected default Fav files from MyStuff setup - OR inadvertent use of the "Opt" button. MyStuff can have Radio channels alongside TV in your default Favourite file, and in the separate listing files.

I record various Radio programs, only gripe is that often Accurate Bookmarks do not get placed in the file, and are difficult to set, but I blame the broadcasters not Toppy for this.

_________________
TF5800 1.5TB, TS On, NSLU2 + unslung 6.10 + WD500GB + MWI 0.66, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+AfBmC0CfCtFsIMPePfPsScUWfWs
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; (MyInfo B5.6); MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6; DumbWidescreenTV 2.44; TF5000 Display v1.53; PruneEPG 1.0; (EIT Sub v0.6 SnG);
Sig generated with help from MyInfo on 18/4/15
?
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
juwlz
Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:25 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
It's worth checking MyStuff settings X1, X2 and X3 (default channel lists for TV, Radio and All).

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
anthony2l
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 234
juwlz wrote:
It's worth checking MyStuff settings X1, X2 and X3 (default channel lists for TV, Radio and All).

Julie


I never consciously use Favourites and I'm struggling to understand what is going on here. This is not made easier by not having immediate access to my sister's 5800.

I have ascertained:

If my sister is watching TV and presses the Radio button it takes her to ITV

X1 = 1/7 says Select the channel list to use on starup, currently All
Channels. To ue a channel list imediately, pres #Opt from EPG or Now &
Next.

X2 = 2/7 says Select the channel list containing all tv channels you are
interested in, currently All TV. Pressing TV/Radio in EPG/N&N will switch
between the TV and Radio Channel list.

X3* = 7/7 says Select the channel list containing all radio channels you
are interested in currently all TVs. Pressing TV/Radio in EPG/N&N will
switch between the TV and Radio Channel List

I think I set X3 to 7 whilst trying to get the Radio button to switch to Radio and it may have been set to 3 before then.

I don't understand where 1-7 come from, where they are stored and how they can be amended. I did run Channel Organiser - if I was asked I may not have accepted the "update favourites". But basically I don't properly understand the process anyway even after having read the MyStuff manual.

Neither do I understand the files on my 5810 - of which I have a snapshot copy - containing FavLists but making no mention of Radio.

Both Toppy's are being tuned from Waltham.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2587
ccs wrote:
I've never used favourites, so my X1,X2 and X3 are the defaults (1/7,2/7 and 3/7).


I never allow CO to update any files. It creates a log file which you could check to see what it did.

I haven't any references to "radio" favourites, or any files with radio in the name.

The epg is stored in the files named ProgramFiles/EPG.*

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 234
ccs wrote:
ccs wrote:
I've never used favourites, so my X1,X2 and X3 are the defaults (1/7,2/7 and 3/7).


I never allow CO to update any files. It creates a log file which you could check to see what it did.

I haven't any references to "radio" favourites, or any files with radio in the name.

The epg is stored in the files named ProgramFiles/EPG.*


So would you like to make a suggestion or two as to why the 5800 is behaving as it is and how I can make it behave as it should. Clearly I have missed or misunderstood a step in the process of either installing MyStuff 6.6 or running CO - and whatever it is I have not done the same on my Toppy.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 31/12/18
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum