Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Changes to Options resetting after rebooting

Page 1 of 1
WightWalker
Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:52 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 38
I don't understand why the changes I make in Options is not be saved so that they are there when the Toppy is switched back on again.

It was working OK until I deleted v6.3 before doing a re-installation to v6.5; firmware has also been updated but I'm not sure of the version.

_________________
Toppy: Topfield 5800 Black Panther
Taps: MyStuff v6.5
Firmware: v5.13.65 - MyStuff Recommended
View user's profile Send private message
mstombs
Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 938
I suspect corrupt files/directory structure on hard disk.

First question must always be - when were PSU capacitors changed?
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
juwlz
Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 3:08 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
I'd agree, this looks very much like hard drive corruption, or possibly memory corruption.

Note that MS always makes a backup of your settings every time you change anything, which can be recovered using option Z12 (the third option you're prompted for).

A full MyInfo listing would be helpful too.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WightWalker
Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:00 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 38
mstombs wrote:
I suspect corrupt files/directory structure on hard disk.

First question must always be - when were PSU capacitors changed?


Caps have never been changed - not sure with the Toppy on Standby, why this would have an effect.

I manually deleted v6.3 so there shouldn't have been any old files remaining before installing v6.5. v6.6 wouldn't install - found a problem when trying to install ICONs.

Settings are remembered when exiting setup but not after switching Toppy to Standby.

_________________
Toppy: Topfield 5800 Black Panther
Taps: MyStuff v6.5
Firmware: v5.13.65 - MyStuff Recommended
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4357
Caps are a must

Does sound like the file system is corrupted- you could try running my fsCheck tap; use TopManager Tools| Install Files or download from my site (link below).

I won't have an internet connection for a few days but what you are looking for in the fsCheck report is "GOOD" with no anomalies flagged.

You can install MS 6.6 if you use my Build Offline MyStuff Installer (see my site); this fetches all the files before the install starts.

I can recover files on a corrupted disk but won't be in a position to do so for 1 or 2 weeks; so probably not much use to you.

Suggest you switch toppy off NOW and get the caps done before doing anything else!

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:55 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
WightWalker wrote:
Caps have never been changed - not sure with the Toppy on Standby, why this would have an effect.
Even on standby, the Toppy uses some power. See Toppy Repairs for typical Toppy life without any replacements.

Since the Toppy hasn't been available to buy within the average expected lifetime of the capacitors that Topfield used, any Toppy that hasn't had them replaced is on borrowed time. Failing to change them is false economy. Even if they're not the direct cause of the problem, you should still replace them as an inexpensive precautionary measure.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum