Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  MS crashing advice

Page 1 of 4
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
kevsterci
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
Hi.
I'm having some issue with MS crashing on start up the last few days on my 8510. If its woken up and recorded during the day while I'm out sometimes it will have turned off other times not. Mostly it still records OK.

Booting up manually it varies but still has issues. Either freezes with the 'S' and I have to turn off with remote, with verify files and folders. Or boots further but says 'last time MS crashed on last start up' etc.

If I bypass the option to restore it mostly crashes again.
If I choose to restore, with all the options as yes it either restarts and goes back to square one or crashes and re boots with verifiy files and folders.

Is there any suggestions or should I just re install the lot!?

[/b]

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:29 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Sounds like some sort of disk / memory corruption. First things first: Have you had your capacitors replaced?

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4357
Have you had all the capacitors (14?) changed on this 5810? If not then this is a must as strange behaviour is often caused by a failing PSU.

Are you really running MyStuff 6.5 as your signature suggests? If so, you need to upgrade to 6.6; as well as having improvements, this also makes fewer calls to a system routine that is implicated in trashing disks. The MS 6.6 kit also loads my PruneEPG tap which is essential (it works fine on MS 6.5 if you install it separately).

Try
1) Boot the toppy tapless (hold 0 until picture displayed.
2) Archive
3) << (display ProgramFiles)
4) Scroll down to Utilities and press OK
5) Scroll down to fsCheck and press OK
Check the screen to see if there is any corruptions
If the disk isn't too corrupted, please save the output to the disk and post it into the dedicated "fsCheck Reports" thread

6) Try deleting the EPG files using the TopManager Tools option. Alternatively , use the MyStuff option to delete the files.
7) try again.

To repeat; the capacitors are a must.

I also suggest you don't just reinstall everything as this is unlikely to cure your problem; just mask it until it reoccurs.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevsterci
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
juwlz wrote:
Sounds like some sort of disk / memory corruption. First things first: Have you had your capacitors replaced?


They have been done, bought it with them failed. Change approximately two years ago but I'd have to check.

Although is a re-failure possible, it would make some sense the way it is cutting out sometimes. Plus it has got worse the last few days. Over the last months it has twice been found on with all channels lost and no access to anything except the native install menu. I got round this with a native channel scan and then the channel organiser.

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3449
Probably not directly related to the problem, but the front panel clock battery (2032) will need to be replaced if not done already.

I see from my records that I supplied a kit to you in January 2014. If this is the same 5810, the capacitors will still be OK, I promise.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevsterci
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
andyfras wrote:
Probably not directly related to the problem, but the front panel clock battery (2032) will need to be replaced if not done already.

I see from my records that I supplied a kit to you in January 2014. If this is the same 5810, the capacitors will still be OK, I promise.


Beat me to it, thanks for the battery info Very Happy

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message
kevsterci
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Have you had all the capacitors (14?) changed on this 5810? If not then this is a must as strange behaviour is often caused by a failing PSU.

Are you really running MyStuff 6.5 as your signature suggests? If so, you need to upgrade to 6.6; as well as having improvements, this also makes fewer calls to a system routine that is implicated in trashing disks. The MS 6.6 kit also loads my PruneEPG tap which is essential (it works fine on MS 6.5 if you install it separately).

Try
1) Boot the toppy tapless (hold 0 until picture displayed.
2) Archive
3) << (display ProgramFiles)
4) Scroll down to Utilities and press OK
5) Scroll down to fsCheck and press OK
Check the screen to see if there is any corruptions
If the disk isn't too corrupted, please save the output to the disk and post it into the dedicated "fsCheck Reports" thread

6) Try deleting the EPG files using the TopManager Tools option. Alternatively , use the MyStuff option to delete the files.
7) try again.

To repeat; the capacitors are a must.

I also suggest you don't just reinstall everything as this is unlikely to cure your problem; just mask it until it reoccurs.

Geoff


Apologies. My signature should say MS6.6!

Never heard of PruneEPG Confused

Have followed your suggested try this, I haven't got fsCheck in utilities either Confused

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:00 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4357
What operating system do you have on the pc?

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevsterci
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:09 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
Geoff Bacon wrote:
What operating system do you have on the pc?

Geoff


Windows 7

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:37 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4357
In that case, I suspect you installed the MyStuff manually.

Suggest you install TopManager and use the Tools| Install Files option to to load fsCheck and PruneEPG.
Alternatively, if you don't have a \Programfiles\Utilities folder then you could reinstall MyStuff (it shouldn't damage anything but you could do a TM Snapshot| Take first).

Note: As you have multiple toppies, you need to create a unique TM connection record for each so that the Snapshot| Take will keep the snapshots separate (otherwise you could snapshot with one toppy and overwrite it when you snapshot another).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevsterci
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:49 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
Geoff Bacon wrote:
In that case, I suspect you installed the MyStuff manually.

Suggest you install TopManager and use the Tools| Install Files option to to load fsCheck and PruneEPG.
Alternatively, if you don't have a \Programfiles\Utilities folder then you could reinstall MyStuff (it shouldn't damage anything but you could do a TM Snapshot| Take first).

Note: As you have multiple toppies, you need to create a unique TM connection record for each so that the Snapshot| Take will keep the snapshots separate (otherwise you could snapshot with one toppy and overwrite it when you snapshot another).

Geoff


Installed via direct PC usb with the installer. I have Top manager too, and shall look in to installing those.

I have the utilities folder.

I'm not fussed if I format and re install the lot, I just have half a hdd to watch first!

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:57 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4357
Much better to find out what the problem is before reformatting the drive (should you decide not to be "fussed" about the files, I can recover them for you).


Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevsterci
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 6:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Much better to find out what the problem is before reformatting the drive (should you decide not to be "fussed" about the files, I can recover them for you).


Geoff


I'd just transfer the .rec files off and back on but it might take a while.

Still I'd like to know what's up too Smile

If it helps the error it comes up with when I come home to find it on and recording is a recovery mode error which says about a time out detected. Do you wish to bypass or load as normal. Not the exact wording forgot to take exact note.

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 8:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4357
Sounds like it is a timeout for the recovery mode (but I've never seen it myself).

Check that you have an EPG.mei file - I believe that MS enters recovery mode if the file contains no current data (and possibly if there is no file).
You should be able to view this file (it is just text) - either use the TM Connection| Browse option to select/inspect the contents and/or copy it off to the pc to inspect with a PC application.

The file should always be there unless you haven't used the toppy for a fortnight in which case the content will be stale.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevsterci
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 8:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 266
This evening everytime I press the white button for timers it reboots!

EDIT, and by it's self randomly Confused

_________________
TF5800, No.1 250GB, No.2 160GB , No.3 160GB , No.4 500GB , Plus No.5 TF5810 500GB TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 ?Sy MyStuff 6.6 on all ;TAPs on ALL: EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 4
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum