Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Freeview, TopUp and TV  ~  Retune needed for ITV4 Tuesday 25/8

Page 1 of 1
albertd
Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 563
For the info of those who have not picked it up elsewhere, ITV4 is changing Mux on Tuesday and will become unavailable without a retune. Especially important for anyone following La Vuelta a Espana cycling event.

This change will, however, make ITV4 available for the first time in Freeview Lite areas.

I have no idea as to when on Tuesday this will be happening and there is no point in retuning until it has. Presumably the clue will be no picture on LCN24.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 12:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
There are two repeats of the cycling event the next day throughout the tour.
In answer to tour question, I believe the advertised time is 12:00 (I haven't seen the message for a while) but the change-over frequently happens before this between 11;00 and 12:00. If a retune isn't done usually the programme continues to be on the original mux with an LCN in the 790 region. Your Toppy should cope with this and record as normal.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
mstombs
Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 12:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 937
Bizman wrote:
... If a retune isn't done usually the programme continues to be on the original mux with an LCN in the 790 region. Your Toppy should cope with this and record as normal.


For a MUX move at best there will be a info page on the old slot, and 790s only appear after retune?
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
EMJB
Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 1:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3630 Location: Maldon Essex
mstombs wrote:
Bizman wrote:
... If a retune isn't done usually the programme continues to be on the original mux with an LCN in the 790 region. Your Toppy should cope with this and record as normal.


For a MUX move at best there will be a info page on the old slot, and 790s only appear after retune?


To clarify, AFAIK the Toppy totally ignores LCN changes until a retune. If it continues to be broadcast on the old Mux with a 790-series LCN your Toppy will not notice the LCN change until you retune, so you will not experience any problems till the old Mux broadcast ceases. If the old Mux broadcast is replaced by a warning with a 790-series LCN, you will get that when you select the old LCN (provided the warning is pukka video rather than interactive).

EMJB

_________________
Silver 5800, Board Rev 1.2, MS recomm F/W, Sudbury Tx, varying TAP config
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 6:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3984 Location: Buckingham
albertd wrote:
Especially important for anyone following La Vuelta a Espana cycling event
Or BTCC.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
anotherbob
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:59 am Reply with quote
Joined: 20 Mar 2008 Posts: 21 Location: Almost Yorkshire.
gomezz wrote:
albertd wrote:
Especially important for anyone following La Vuelta a Espana cycling event
Or BTCC.

Or MOTO GP highlights.

Can I ask if there's a way of retuning just my chosen channels or do I have to go through the business of deleting all the **** channels after a full retune?

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.95; MyStuff 6.0; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 12:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3984 Location: Buckingham
Channel Manager is my current weapon of choice for managing retunes and channels on the Toppy. But as I watch ITV4 on my Digitalstream PVR I will be going for deleting the old location of ITV4 followed by an update channel scan on that.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bizman
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 1:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
gomezz wrote:
Channel Manager is my current weapon of choice...
Channel Organiser?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 1:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3984 Location: Buckingham
Er, probably. Embarassed

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
albertd
Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 563
The changes have been done and I have successfully (I hope) rescanned everything that matters, especially the Toppy.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
I found my series linking of the cycle race was corrupted, so tonight's recording was started manually while I sort out the others.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum