Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  AV & other discussions  ~  connecting old toppies

Page 1 of 1
jorly
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
hi after a bit but I bought a new Samsung ueh5000 or something and much to my heartbreak my toppies wont tune in to anything my old telly was an analogue so has that got something to with it and is there as easy fix worth the ask thanks in advance John

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3985 Location: Buckingham
Are you saying you cannot view your Toppies on the new TV? Are they 5800 or 5810 models? Are they connected to the TV using SCART cables or HDMI cables? What happens if you select each of the available source inputs on the new TV in turn?

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4280
@jorly

Your signature implies a TF5800 so this needs a SCART connection to the tv.
My initial thought was that the tv only had HDMI connections (in which case, you would need either a TF5810 or alternatively, you could use a SCART to HDMI cable - about 12 on amazon, possibly cheaper elsewhere).

However, the Samsung ueh5000 should have a SCART connection (looking at the pictures shown by googling) so you either have a cabling issue or you need to select a different input on the tv. As the input to a tv is typically auto-detected, this probably means that your cabling is wrong.

So
1) aerial cable from wall into back top left connector of toppy (when viewed from rear)
2) short loop through cable from bottom left of toppy to adjacent free top connector
3) a coax cable from the bottom free connector into the tv.

The above should allow both the toppy and the tv to receive signals.

4) SCART cable from the TOP socket on the toppy into back of tv.
Ideally, you should have the toppy powered off while you connect the cables.
5) Power on (or reboot) the toppy and the tv input should automatically switch to it (if it doesn't then, assuming the tv scart is working, you will have to go through the tv manual to work out how to choose the input. Another faint possibility is that you may have to use the TV menus to enable the SCART connector but I would expect it to be automatically enabled if a device is plugged in).

Anyway, you should be able to use SCART and, before you ask, I wouldn't expect there to be a benefit by using SCART to HDMI cable (but I have no knowledge or experience using one of these!)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy K
Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3515
Is the tippy and TV in the same room?

Sounds like the op was using the rf output.
View user's profile Send private message
jorly
Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
yay it was the way I had looped those little ariel thingys so now I'm very happy thanks to all more than appreciated John

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
?
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum