Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAPs  ~  Timer Extend Tap

Page 2 of 3
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Andy K
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 9:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3515
Don't worry about adjusting the ini file.

I have used extend with various different paddings without issue.
View user's profile Send private message
gramps
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 6:58 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2007 Posts: 325
cawright1 - Just to clarify your original post. Which tap are you asking about, 'Timer Extend 8.11' or 'Extend 1.7'. Most of the replies so far are talking about the 'Extend' tap.

Never used Timer Extend but reading the author's comments it looks like it automatically adds padding to timers. A bit like what Mystuff does but possibly without anything to help resolve timer clashes.

Just checking we're all talking about the same tap.

gramps

Edit - Reading some old posts. 'Timer Extend' does not resolve overlapping timers after the padding has been added. So it will mean some timers will fail to record anything when they do overlap.

_________________
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 8:46 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
I am confused here, there are two taps, one called Extend and the other Timer Extend. When I last tried Timer Extend it started, popped up a message saying to the effect that it needed a signature or password and was closing down. Extend didn't seem to do anything when I tried it.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 9:05 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4272
@Bizman

Extend won't appear to do anything if the broadcaster's are sending the correct signals; it really only comes into play when they miss a signal (or it is delayed because the program overran)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gramps
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 9:58 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2007 Posts: 325
@Bizman - Didn't mean to confuse, just wanted to make sure which tap @cawright1 was intending to use.

Interesting that you say Timer Extend may need a key/password to run. It seems it auto pads timers for you and was written long before Mystuff came on the scene. Never used it so can't say how it works.

As Geoff has said the Extend tap just sits in the background and monitors recordings looking for the end of program marker from the broadcaster. It the end of the program does not turn up it extends the recording until it does. Well that's my take on how it works it's magic.

gramps

_________________
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 2:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
Thanks guys for the clarification, I will give Extend another go.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 3:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2536
All you need in extend.ini is

Code:
File updated by Channel Organiser B2.1 on 28/3/2015 at 10:37

[Control]
PrePad = 2
PostPad = 6

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4272
@Bizman

Except, as you aren't using MyStuff, you probably want
Code:
[Control]
PrePad = 0
PostPad = 0


These values tell Extend what paddings you are using on the timers; the default MyStuff ones are 2 and 6. (You may find it doesn't matter in practice)

You can check what Extend did by looking in \ProgramFiles\Auto Start\Extend.log (this is really a debugging aid for R2-D2 and is of no use now so can be deleted periodically to prevent the file getting too large)
In fact, if you try without using a .ini file, you could look in this file to see what it is defaulting to.

Geoff



Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bizman
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 7:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
Well the log file doesn't mean much to me at present:
Code:
-
- 2015-05-27 18:49:26 (0d 0h 0m 7s) -
Extend v1.7: Hook=801ACF3C AppBE=801ACB68 BE=806D2F4C net=200 ts=196 srv=18 name=40
Extend: added hook
Maybe it needs more time to grow.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 7:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4272
That is just it starting; when it starts extending programs, it will add more info.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 7:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2536
deleted

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu May 28, 2015 1:05 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
cawright1 wrote:
oh my, that all sounds too complicated. Hence why I've never used mystuff or timer extend. Crying or Very sad
The TAPs are coded to do the complicated stuff automatically so that you don't have to.

Extend just sits in the background and does its thing - extending overrunning recordings by comparing the signals from the broadcaster with what it was expecting based on the timers you've set. It needs a bit of setup information to be able to do that correctly, and as the majority of Toppy users also use MyStuff, it uses the MyStuff default settings as its default settings. If you're using both, you don't need to do anything to either. If you're NOT using MyStuff, then Extend needs to know that, or many of your recordings will be 2 hours long, because the settings that work for MyStuff padded recordings will be wrong for unpadded recordings.

MyStuff automatically adds a bit of fixed padding for you (as long as that doesn't prevent other recordings from happening), so you don't have to adjust timers manually or miss the start or end of programmes that don't start or finish on time. MyStuff can automatically reschedule clashing recordings for you.

All of this saves you hassle, and means you don't have to micro-manage your Toppy. The TAPs are doing all the hard work so you don't have to.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu May 28, 2015 5:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 741
As juwlz says, the TAPs do fiendishly complicated things, but they just work. If you want to, you can delve deeper into the options of MyStuff and change things, but the defaults work fine and will do all that you have asked for, as well as making loads of other things much, much easier and/or clearer

It's like your mobile phone, which does loads of complicated things to allow you to make a call. It can also perform loads of other things like texting, changing backgrounds, emailing, playing games and so on. You may (or may not) use some of these functions on your phone, but it still works fine as just a phone

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
cawright1
Posted: Sun May 31, 2015 1:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
ah, ok, so, I currently have mystuff tap installed. But it neds to be renamed back so that it works. Once i do that and it loads from boot, can I take it that without any other it will automatically pad out all my progs, UNLESS there is a prog directly after it on same channel - or any other channel that could cause a problem?

I mean, if I record something for an hour on one channel at 2100 and then there is something ekse starting recording on another channel at 2200 would mystuff know that it cannot add time to the 2100 prog?

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
?
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun May 31, 2015 2:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2536
MyStuff will add padding whenever it can. In your simple example, both programmes will be padded, -2 +6.

If you do rename MyStuff to get the tap working, reboot, and allow MyStuff to run for about 30 minutes before touching the remote.
This will allow MyStuff to fully populate the epg.

You'll also need to delete all your existing timers (do this before starting MyStuff for the first time) , and then recreate them using MyStuff.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 3
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum