Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Freeview, TopUp and TV  ~  Belmont transmitter problems 12/03/14

Page 1 of 1
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 3:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2537
Bit obscure this.

Wednesday night (12th) at about 21:20 I lost all freeview channels for about 25 minutes. TV's and toppies both affected.

I connected a tv directly (ie no booster) to the aerial and got no signal.

Signal restored at about 21:55 and ok since. Setup unchanged.

My next door neighbour assures me that he was watching freeview at that time and it was fine.

My mother, 20 miles nearer the same transmitter, had no problems, and recorded bbc2 21:00-22:00 on her 5810.

A friend 10 miles nearer to the same transmitter had the same problems as me.

Most confusing.

The only thing I can think of is a mismatch of mux's, but my mum's is setup exactly the same as mine, and I have never seen rogue mux's getting thru'.

Anyone else have problems with Belmont last wednesday?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
Yes, I had the same. Continued to watch on Panasonic TV's freesat.
I was watching ITV3+1 (Poirot), and seem to remember going to other freeview channels, presumably on different MUX's, which were OK.

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:23 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5956 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Same thing here on Hannington but only impacted my Youview box. Toppy and TV were both okay and use the same aerial feed. Have to say I put the blame firmly at Youview's door based on my experience but perhaps there was something a little odder going on Confused

I lost the Michael McIntyre show on BBC1 HD owing to No Signal on the Huawei Youview box.

_________________
Hyde.
2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate , TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2537
Thanks for all the replies.

Another neighbour didn't have any problems, so I'm beginning to wonder if it was caused by too strong a signal.

Is the theory to use a variable attenuator and then try to get 99% signal strength maximum across all mux's,

or reduce the strength further, keeping the quality at 98% minimum?

I suppose it depends on whether signal strength variations tend to be higher or lower.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 2:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2537
ccs wrote:
Is the theory to use a variable attenuator and then try to get 99% signal strength maximum across all mux's,
or reduce the strength further, keeping the quality at 98% minimum?
The theory and the practice are 2 different things.

When I reduced the signal strength to just below 100, the quality on the worst mux was poor.
I had to increase the strength by 2 turns of the adjuster screw to get the quality high enough.
So it appears that the strength is now above the 100 mark again.

Currently the attenuator is set 1 and a half turns off zero attenuation. (It has no calibration marks to work with.)

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
ccs wrote:
Currently the attenuator is set 1 and a half turns off zero attenuation. (It has no calibration marks to work with.)
Neither has the Toppy, 100% of what? Not all tuners have the same sensitivity, so it's just a guide.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum