Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Another C457 Loading Run loop problem

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Simes8888
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:35 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 13 Nov 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Leicester
My first post here, but have been using this site for years, and have managed to resolve all my problems previously by reading how other people have tackled them.

I have 2 5810's, and love every aspect of their usability, but some time back I made the mistake of allowing the disk to become full on one of them, and forgot there was a programme scheduled to record. I came home to find it locked up, and on reboot it came back with the dreaded loop.

I tried all the normal things to rescue the situation, but none would work. With the hard disk removed it shows the same, so I suspect a corrupt firmware, however I can't get Antares to connect for longer than 2 nanoseconds during the looping sequence.

Any suggestions?

Cheers, Simon.
View user's profile Send private message
Simes8888
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:36 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 13 Nov 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Leicester
This is a dump of MyInfo from my second 5810, as they are set up the same.

BTW, Courtesy of (the very helpful) AndyFras, both have had a set of caps done (by me)


MyInfo B5.5 Logging settings etc on: 6/8/2013 at 13:04

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Ini file found
Starting to record data 1224001 seconds from boot

System ID: 457
TV Output: Type = PAL, Video = RGB
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.15.09T dated Sep 02 2010
Base firmware version: 5.15.09

Running TAPS:
Slot 0: EPG2MEI v0.96 : Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
Slot 1: MyStuff 6.4 : UI Replacement
Slot 2: Font Manager 1.0d : Manage TAP Fonts
Slot 3: Extend v1.7 : Uses the Accurate Recording info to extend recordings (safely)
Slot 4: SecCache (UK) v0.4 : Optimal (UK) section caching to reduce the load on the Toppy
Slot 5: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 : Provides faster, simpler and more robust EIT data collection, except when playing games
Slot 6: MyInfo B5.5 : Displays & records Toppy basic info
Slots 7 - 15 not used

Installed patch list:- Ab Af Bf Bq C0 Ce Ck Cp Cw De Ec Ef Eg Em Ep Er Es Ev F Fm Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot Pc Pe R Ra Rh Rm Rp Rs S Sd Sf Sl Sr Sx Td Te Tf Tp Tq Tt Vr Xw Xl
Firmware MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 modified thus:
Patch Decode Link - Will explain your patches:
http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=AbAfBfBqC0CeCkCpCwDeEcEfEgEmEpErEsEvFFmGmHHeKtMhNfOtPcPeRRaRhRmRpRsSSdSfSlSrSxTdTeTfTpTqTtVrXwXl

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 45 TV channels and 13 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 39 are: 15, 18, 19, 21, 24, 47, 57, 58, 59, 717,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 42 are: 10, 20, 25, 26, 27, 30, 31, 38, 39, 44, 54, 790, 727,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 43 are: 1, 2, 7, 9, 80, 200, 301, 302, 700, 701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 706, 707, 708, 710,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 45 are: 11, 12, 17, 29, 32, 46, 48, 82, 723,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 46 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 28, 33,

Interactive Off
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 8 MB, Available: 7 MB
Disk - Total: 465 GB, Free: 17 GB

Checking for actual or imminent recording
Found apparently invalid file:- /DataFiles/Just a Minute-5.rec
Checking for actual or imminent recording
Found apparently invalid file:- /DataFiles/Mythbusters-3.rec
Checking for actual or imminent recording
Found apparently invalid file:- /DataFiles/The Big Bang Theory.rec
651 recordings (445 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 4 folders (+ 1 empty folders)

Time since boot: 14:4:0 (d:h:m)

Suggested signature for Toppy forum - copy following lines to signature block at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=editprofile
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/8/13
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2671
You can use Antares to reflash the firmware on a 5810.

Power off the toppy, get Antares running and double click the firmware you want to use, and then power on the toppy.

If the update works, but you still have problems, try the "emptysettings" firmware which effectively does a factory reset.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Simes8888
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:53 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 13 Nov 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Leicester
Thanks for the prompt reply.

Tried doing that, but Antares will only connect briefly, the loop then drops the usb connection.

It's frying my brain!!

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/8/13
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3477
Have the PSU capacitors been replaced on the 5810s? Failing PSU capacitors are often the cause of this type of problem.

I suspect that the firmware has become corrupted. Assuming that the PSU is OK, you'll need to reload the firmware using TFDN_USB.exe

It's available on my website (you'll need to add the final 'e' after download):

https://sites.google.com/site/andyfraserelectronics/freeview-and-satellite-recorder-repair/topfield-pvr-faults/TFDN_USB.ex

You'll also need the 5810 firmware:

http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Firmware/Recommended_5810.tfd

Method: Switch off Toppy, run TFDN_USB and select the firmware, click Download

Switch on Toppy and the firmware will load.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2671
NB. TFDN_USB.exe doesn't work with 64bit Windows.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2671
Simes8888 wrote:

Tried doing that, but Antares will only connect briefly, the loop then drops the usb connection.
So there is no sign of the firmware update starting?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
Simes8888 wrote:
Thanks for the prompt reply.

Tried doing that, but Antares will only connect briefly, the loop then drops the usb connection.

It's frying my brain!!


Are you powering off at the mains or just putting the box into standby before clicking on the firmware file in Antares?

Emptysettings is a file pretending to be firmware that resets some Toppy parameters. Sometimes Emptysettings doesn't work and you may have to load up the real firmware

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
Simes8888
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:59 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 13 Nov 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Leicester
Thanks for the help guys, appreciated.

@Andy- see my second post "BTW, Courtesy of (the very helpful) AndyFras, both have had a set of caps done (by me) "

You sounded so adamant: "Switch on Toppy and the firmware WILL load." so I was eager to sort this tonight, but no joy- gutted.

Followed to the letter the sequence, inc power off at mains, but it just carries on looping, with a chimes up and down as the laptop acknowledges a usb connection connecting and disconnecting.

Can see the Toppy going on a road trip Fleet-wards unless there are any more suggestions, but would love to bottom this myself.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/8/13
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3477
I'm sorry that the firmware load didn't go as planned. I bought a 5810 off eBay a couple of days ago with identical symptoms, and the firmware reload worked perfectly. That's why I felt so confident.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Simes8888
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:43 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 13 Nov 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Leicester
So I'm at a dead end now, really don't know what else to try- any ideas please?

Cheers, Simon.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/8/13
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
Simes8888 wrote:


unless there are any more suggestions, but would love to bottom this myself.


Long shot - you can load emptysettings/firmware via the RS232 serial port
http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=253801#253801

Read all the instructions as there may be a "gotcha" if your haven't got a free comms port in the range 1 to 4


In the instructions in the above link there is:
"Optional: Downlod and install USBDeview"
If you run this utility on your computer you may/should be able to see what USB drivers have been associated with your Topfield and check that they haven't defaulted to some generic rubbish installed by Microsoft.
Screenshot of the USB drivers associated with my Toppy using USBdeview
http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/usbdeview/
It also shows my USB to RS232 adapter is connected to comm port 4 (USB-SERIAL CH340)

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
Simes8888
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 3:33 am Reply with quote
Joined: 13 Nov 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Leicester
@Alan
Thanks for your suggestion, I've just spent a couple of hours looking for cables and stuff- found my usb-9pin serial adap, loads of 25 pin null modem serial cables, some 9-25 pin adapters, but all the wrong gender. Losing the will to live now...

(Also found a box with some 5 1/4" floppies, and some 8"floppies!! And a 1200baud test pattern generator.....really must get down the tip soon, lol.)

If I could put my hands on the right cables, I'd give it a go, but I'm not convinced enough that it will work to go out and buy a cable. Basically can't see why the serial input would have any better chance of interrupting the loop than the usb.

Am I being stubborn??

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/8/13
View user's profile Send private message
Simes8888
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:07 am Reply with quote
Joined: 13 Nov 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Leicester
@ccs

I'm running Windows 7, 64 bit on my laptop, but I cranked up my gas powered XP desktop with the same results.

When you say 'doesn't work', what do you mean- it appears to function ok, just not producing the end result?

Cheers, Simon.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/8/13
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:23 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3477
Simes8888 wrote:
I'm running Windows 7, 64 bit on my laptop, but I cranked up my gas powered XP desktop with the same results.

Had you used either of these computers with your Toppy before? Were the correct drivers installed?

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum