Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAPs  ~  TF5000 display short names

Page 1 of 1
noncom
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
Hi all

As discussed in other threads, I've had some problems with my main Toppy which have prompted me to do a fresh install.

I've run TF5000 display TAP for years, and always had it displaying the "short channel names" eg BBC1, dAVE, 5USA etc.

But now when I re-install it, I can't get it to do that - it will either show the LCN number or the long scrolling name eg BBC ONE.

I've got a TF5000 display.chn file with the short names in the ProgramFiles directory, but it seems to be ignored. I've had this problem before with my Dad's Toppy, but managed to make it work by trial and error moving files and tweaking things, but I can't remember what I eventually did to make it work and don't seem to be able to repeat the trick now!

Any help welcome

Andy

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2671
Try putting the file in the settings folder (or autostart if that doesn't work).

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
meadfoot
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 261
Not near the TV at present but I know theres a readme in the ZIP file that explains settings.

Rog

_________________
Sutton Coldfield TX
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -SyXl+WfZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Bookmark 3.0; MyInfo B5.6; TF5000 Display v1.53; UK Subtitle 1.9; Font Manager 1.0d;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/7/13


'I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand' Confucius
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
noncom
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
Thanks.

I've got the ReadMe and understand all the Settings. In fact, I've set all the Options to the same as before. The resulting behaviour, however, is different!

So I think it could be to do with either the format of the List of Short Names (although I've tried "1=BBC1" as well as "1 = BBC1" and neither shows up in the Toppy Display)....

Or it's to do with where the .chn file is. The ReadMe says it should be in the ProgramFiles directory, but it's there and isn't working. I'll try moving it around and see what happens.

Andy

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message
noncom
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
Nope - I've tried it in the root of Program Files, and in both Auto Start and Settings, and nowhere seems to pick up the Short Channel Names. Wherever the .chn is, or if I delete it entirely, the display shows the scrolling long names.

Below is the .chn file in its entirety - is something missing?

----------------

// 'TF5000Display.chn' file generated by Channel Organiser B1.2 on 18/2/2014 at 16:44

[names]
1=bbc1
2=bbc2
3=ITV1
4=Ch 4
5=Ch 5
6=ITV2
7=bbc3
9=bbc4
10=ITV3
12=Dave
14=mor4
15=Fil4
18=4Mus
19=Yest
20=Drma
24=ITV4
28=E4
30=5 St
31=5USA
32=mmx
47=4-7
70=cbbc
71=cbbs
72=CITV
80=bbcn
200=bbcr
301=301
302=302
R700=R 1
R701=R 1E
R702=R 2
R703=R 3
R704=R 4
R705=R 5L
R706=R5SX
R707=R 6M
R708=R4X
R709=R As
R710=RWld
R713=Kiss
R717=Kerr
R723=TSpt
R724=Capl

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message
noncom
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
Also, although I confidently said I understand the Settings - just in case I've got something wrong there:

Menu Key - Exit
Clock Duration - Off
Info Duration - 3s
Channel Info - channel name
Scroll count - 0
Record Info - ch. number and remaining time
Play Info - status and remaining time
Pause display - PAUSE
Timeshift info - remaining time
Scroll Speed - 3
Use LCN - On
Display on Start - Standard
mp3 info - Standard
Amber LED - firmware controlled
Green LED - firmware controlled
HDD threshold - off
Digit display -off

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2671
Daft question, I know, but is the tap actually running/in autostart?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
noncom
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
No such thing as a daft question..... Smile

Yes, it certainly is. I can use the Exit key to bring up the settings, and I can change whether it displays the Long Channel Name or the LCN.

I just can't make it show the Short Channel Name.

Sad

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message
noncom
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
I realise that above I stated that I had "Channel Name" set to display, which should (and does) show the long scrolling name.

However, my understanding is that if I set it to "Channel Number" it should show the Short Names from the .chn file. Which it doesn't.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
noncom wrote:
Also, although I confidently said I understand the Settings - just in case I've got something wrong there:


It looks similar to my settings (and identical for the ones that matter)

Channel Info = Channel number - short name
Channel Info = Channel name - short name
Channel Info = Channel number & name - scrolling long name and number
Channel Info = Channel number & name(alternating) - short name
Channel Info = Channel name & event - scrolling short name and descrption

Your .chn file also looks correct

My .chn, and .ini files are in \ProgramFiles\Settings


Remember if you move the files you need to put the box into standby and then back on. Some TAPs only pick up their support files when booting.

Part of my .chn file
Code:

// 'TF5000Display.chn' file generated by Channel Organiser B1.2 on 4/10/2013 at 22:45

[names]
1=bbc1
2=bbc2
3=ITV1
4=Ch 4
5=Ch 5
6=ITV2
7=bbc3
9=bbc4
10=ITV3
11=Pick
12=Dave
14=mor4
15=Fil4
16=QVC
19=Yest
20=Drma
24=ITV4
28=E4
30=5 St
31=5USA
32=mmx
38=Qust
46=Chal
70=cbbc
72=CITV
80=bbcn
83=AlJa
85=Russ
200=bbcr
301=301
302=302


Make sure that you haven't got duplicate (older) TF5000 dispaly files elsewhere on the disk


Last edited by alan_m on Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:55 pm; edited 4 times in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:49 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2671
Any clues here?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
noncom
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
Thanks everyone, sorted now.

What I did was delete the .chn file I had, start again with the one contained in the TAP zip file, edit it to match my channel settings and everything now works.

So something must have been amiss with my previous .chn file.

Good night all

Andy

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
Quote:
// 'TF5000Display.chn' file generated by Channel Organiser B1.2 on 18/2/2014 at 16:44

Could CO have incorrectly written this file?

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
noncom
Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:32 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Posts: 542
It seems so.....

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/4/16?
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum