Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Toppy 5800pvr tuner blown ?

Page 1 of 1
AP100
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:21 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 08 Aug 2012 Posts: 2
Hi all

I have a 5800pvr, its been problem free for the last 4 or so years. I woke this morning and switched it on to watch the news before work and it came up with a 'no signal at tuner' i thought it may have decided to bug out so i did a retune but it found no channels, (although the night before it was working fine) i tried a factory reset and retune but again no channels where found. Shocked

Please can someone advise me of what the problem is, and how i can go about fixing it, i cant even see any pre recorded films now either.

Oh and the TV is working fine channels wise, which is still plugged into the 5800pvr. Confused

Much appreiciated thank you Smile
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
First check is to do a cold reboot, i.e. switch off completely at the mains and leave for a couple of minutes before powering up again.

If that doesn't sort it the most likely problem is with the Toppy power supply. If it has gone faulty then all sorts of damage can be done to other parts of the Toppy's circuits including the tuners. Best to disconnect from the mains until it can be sorted out, either by yourself or one of the two members here who can do repairs for you. See the fulty PSU thread.

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Topfield_5800/PSU_Repair

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:03 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
You can find more information about repairs here.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AP100
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:37 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 08 Aug 2012 Posts: 2
Ah i feel like a wally, didnt even do a col;d reboot, its working fine now lol, Thank you so much,

Was thinking though maybe i should have the capaciters changed just in case it fries something after reading things on here.

Thank you again Smile
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum