Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Using 2.5" IDE drives with Toppy?

Page 1 of 1
Bob_Swede
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
I have a few 2.5" IDE drives extracted from old laptops when I upgraded them, for example a Seagate ST9160821A 160 GB Momentus 5400 drive.
If I get a connector converter kit for this drive, can it be used in a Toppy???
(I have a 3rd Toppy in my hands now but it is without hard disk and I want to do the update with disk as low cost as possible).

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
I see no reason why it shouldn't work. Probably woth having the adaptor cables anyway to be able to use the drives with a PC.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:33 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
There have been some reported successes with 2.5" SATA drives, but I seem to remember reports that 2.5" IDE drives had problems, especially when recording 2 channels while playing a back a previous recording.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bob_Swede
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:03 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
andyfras wrote:
There have been some reported successes with 2.5" SATA drives, but I seem to remember reports that 2.5" IDE drives had problems, especially when recording 2 channels while playing a back a previous recording.

Hi Andy,
I just bought two different 2.5" to 3.5" adapters (sorry for the Swedish language sites):
Cable only
With PCB

I tried the PCB version in the Toppy but it would not recognize the disk....
I also had a rather old powered USB<->IDE 3.5" adapter available so I tried to hook the disk to that and check if it could be read on my Win7 PC.
But it would not come up here either (I tried both the cable adapter, which has the polarizing pin covered, and the PCB version, which can be plugged both ways on the 2.5" end)....

I also had one of these 2.5" drive enclosures for USB connection so I used this and connected the drive to my PC. This time it worked just fine and Win7 could read the disk.
There are actually two partitions on the disk, it has been used in a laptop running XP-Pro.

So it seems like the Seagate 160 GB 2.5" drive is not recognized by the Toppy or the 3.5" powered IDE-USB converter.
Do you think there is a common problem between these?

If the Toppy sees a disk that has been used by Windows, can it still reformat it into its own native format? Or do I have to prepare it in advance of using it in the Toppy?
I have a Hitachi Deskstar 3.5" drive (250GB) in a PC where Vista X64 has been used, so I could use that (reluctantly), but if it would not be seen by the Toppy due to the Windows stuff on it then it is probably no use.

It is a bit strange because with the disk plugged in and the power cord is inserted the toppy starts up to the boot ID display, thinks for a while and then shuts down.
When I then use the power button it comes up but without any disk.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:05 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
I wouldn't have thought that to be a problem with a 5400 drive. After all a lot of PVR 3.5" drives are/were only 5400rpm. Were there any much slower laptop IDE drives in the past?

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:13 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
I have now re-partitioned the 2.5" drive and created a 160GB volume on it.
Now copying the data from the 3.5" Hitachi drive to this as backup.
Then I will use the Hitachi in the Toppy instead.

The Seagate 2.5" is stamped on the label as using +5V @ 0.487 A, could it be a problem in the Toppy that the 12V is not loaded like it is with a 3.5" drive?

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
Bob_Swede wrote:
So it seems like the Seagate 160 GB 2.5" drive is not recognized by the Toppy or the 3.5" powered IDE-USB converter.
Do you think there is a common problem between these?

Is the disk set to Master? Some adapters will not recognise a disk set to cable select or slave.

Quote:
If the Toppy sees a disk that has been used by Windows, can it still reformat it into its own native format?

The Toppy will reformat it without any prior preparation.

Quote:
I have a Hitachi Deskstar 3.5" drive (250GB) in a PC where Vista X64 has been used, so I could use that (reluctantly), but if it would not be seen by the Toppy due to the Windows stuff on it then it is probably no use.

Hitachi disks are not recommended for Toppy use.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bob_Swede
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
I took out the system drive from my test PC (a 160 GB Samsung) and put it into the TF5720HDMI.
It started up and offered to initialize the disk.

Now I just have to remember the procedure to patch firmware, because MyInfo reports this as the firmware:
TF-NPTs 3.40 dated Mar 12 2009
No patches at all...

Did I patch on the PC or did I do it on the toppy itself, can't remember.
Since I patched last I have replaced the PC with a new Win7 laptop...

I do have the tap hdfw.tap on my main toppy and a bunch of firmware files as well...

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
toliver
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:52 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 02 Dec 2007 Posts: 3
I'm using Samsung 1TB Spinpoint M8 2.5" SATA 3Gb/s 5400RPM 8MB 9.5mm in 2 X TF5800 with Maplins IDE to SATA Adapters (http://www.maplin.co.uk/sata-to-ide-adaptor-for-pvr-dvr-pc-351573) and they work fine.

Currently have unrelated other problems with both machines though..
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum