Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Set up and HDMI/Scart connections

Page 1 of 1
gordongaskin
Posted: Sat May 12, 2012 3:14 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 23 Dec 2010 Posts: 13
I have a 5810, a Panasonic Viera TV, a Philips VCR and a JVC DVD player. I have connected them all up using co-axial, scart cables and HDMI connection for the PVR. They all work OK and can record and playback. However I mostly use the 5810 and it is irritating when I am in the middle of watching a TV program and the PVR switches on to record a program that I have previously set up, it then changes the TV to the last channel the PVR was set to.

Is there any way that this can be prevented. Is it the way I have wired it all up? I want to continue watching the TV program without interruption and the PVR to record its program without switching the TV to the PVR AV channel.

Can anyone help?

Regards - Gordon Gaskin
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Sat May 12, 2012 3:32 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3988 Location: Buckingham
Is the 5810 also connected by SCART to the TV? Either directly of indirectly (via the VCR)? If so it is probably that SCART connection that is causing the TV to switch.

If it is just connected by HDMI then try connecting it to another socket on the TV. Usually only the first HDMI socket on a TV auto-switches.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
underquark
Posted: Sat May 12, 2012 4:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1790
Some sort of diagram of your setup would help e.g.:


VCR---->SCART---->Toppy---->HDMI---->TV_HDMI_1

DVD---->HDMI---->TV_HDMI_2

_________________
A 5800 and a 5810 still in use with various dead ones and bits lying around, one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; Various remotes - URC1056B01 (my fav.), URC11-7140 R02 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
View user's profile Send private message
nvingo
Posted: Sun May 13, 2012 12:35 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Jul 2010 Posts: 102 Location: Norfolk
Unless you're in an area still served by analogue (are there any?) you can disconnect the co-ax from the VCR.
Is the recommended firmware for the 5810 installed? I don't know, but maybe that includes a patch to disable TV scart switching when the PVR commences timer recording from standby.
The PVR doesn't necessarily need be connected by both HDMI and scart.

The other option is to snip scart pin8 from either end in the lead PVR>TV lead - but then you'll have to select PVR-AV or the HDMI input on the TV manually.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+Pe
TAPs: toppypal v3.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; Surfer v0.14; PcControl X25a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/4/12
?
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Sun May 13, 2012 8:52 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3988 Location: Buckingham
nvingo wrote:
Unless you're in an area still served by analogue (are there any?)
Yes, there are. Strange how so many people think it is all over just because Crystal Palace has now switched.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Sun May 13, 2012 9:24 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3511
nvingo wrote:
Unless you're in an area still served by analogue (are there any?)


Probably up to an eighth of the UK population can still get analogue from a mainstream UK transmitter!

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sun May 13, 2012 11:08 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
nvingo wrote:
Is the recommended firmware for the 5810 installed? I don't know, but maybe that includes a patch to disable TV scart switching when the PVR commences timer recording from standby.
It doesn't.

The patches included in the Recommended Firmware are here. The patch to deal with SCART switching is [Ds] (Deselect).

The issue doesn't arise for me because I use the MyStuff options to start up in the morning with a scan and not shut down afterwards, and then to automatically switch off at night. That way it never has to wake up for a recording (well, not while I'm in front of the TV anyway), but it still goes into standby overnight ... and I don't have to wait for TAPs to load etc when I want to watch TV (which I always do through the Toppy).

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nvingo
Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 2:43 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Jul 2010 Posts: 102 Location: Norfolk
juwlz wrote:
nvingo wrote:
I don't know, but maybe that includes a patch to disable TV scart switching...
It doesn't.

The patches included in the Recommended Firmware are here. The patch to deal with SCART switching is [Ds] (Deselect).
...
Julie
Thanks. I knew someone could expand if I at least pointed out the possibility.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+Pe
TAPs: toppypal v3.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; Surfer v0.14; PcControl X25a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/4/12
?
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 10:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 788
This is going back a long time, but the Toppy used to miss occasional recordings if it was not running. For this reason, it used to be recommended to leave the Toppy on, at least around the time that most of the recordings would have been made. If you switch to a "blank" channel (or disable timeshift), the disk should spin down and the power consumption is virtually the same as standby.

I haven't kept up with all the tweaks to the firmware, so this problem may well have been fixed by now, but it certainly wouldn't hurt to have it come on, stay on and power off automatically...

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 7:39 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
This is going back a long time, but the Toppy used to miss occasional recordings if it was not running. For this reason, it used to be recommended to leave the Toppy on, at least around the time that most of the recordings would have been made.

I haven't kept up with all the tweaks to the firmware, so this problem may well have been fixed by now, but it certainly wouldn't hurt to have it come on, stay on and power off automatically...
It was fixed in the Recommended Firmware years ago.

These days the recommendation is absolutely NOT to leave the Toppy on 24/7, due to issues with failing capacitors, which will be accelerated by heat.

Whether you choose to interpret that as only switching the Toppy on when you need it to record or playback, or (as I do) to automatically start up in the morning and shut down automatically at night is up to you.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gomezz
Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 8:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3988 Location: Buckingham
Or as I do, to only shutdown the Toppy if it is more than hour before the next recording or playback activity is due which I think gives a fair balance between leaving it turned on unnecessarily and the stress of turning it on.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 4:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 788
juwlz wrote:
These days the recommendation is absolutely NOT to leave the Toppy on 24/7, due to issues with failing capacitors, which will be accelerated by heat.
The Toppy is always "on", even in standby, so that it can startup and make recordings. As the power consumption on standby is only slightly smaller than the consumption with the disk idle (or timeshift off), does it really make that much difference?

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 6:40 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
The Toppy is always "on", even in standby, so that it can startup and make recordings. As the power consumption on standby is only slightly smaller than the consumption with the disk idle (or timeshift off), does it really make that much difference?
I'll leave it to others who can speak more authoritatively on the subject, but my understanding is that with 5.14.xx firmware, that is true; however, with 5.13.65T on 5800s and 5.15.09T on 5810s, there is a true standby, and a significant enough change in power consumption to make a difference.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryclark
Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 12:07 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
I would assume that with proper standby only the front panel display, IR receiver and clock are running, the tuners, decoder, hard drive and video output will be turned off. The clock can then power up the rest of the Toppy just before a timer is due from the timers stored in it's memory on the front panel PCB.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum