Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  C456-Load-Run loop advice please

Page 1 of 1
m003
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:45 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 04 Nov 2007 Posts: 90
Noticed the above on my TF5800 last night. Powered off and unplugged overnight, but the same today.

If I start up with no Taps then so far as I can see everything is fine.

Starting normally, I see TF5000 Display Tap (ie BBC1 on panel) then a pause then C456 again.

MyInfo reported 1 corrupted (0 length) recording, which I think was probably the point at where it went wrong last night. I've deleted that using FileZilla but no change.

AndyFras changed caps for me earlier in the year so I'm hoping this isn't hadware.

Suggestions appreciated as to what to do next.

Thanks
Martin

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmPeScUZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.5; TF5000 Display v1.53; EPG2MEI v0.96; PruneEPG 1.0; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 8/6/19
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:44 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
If it's starting up OK TAPless, the next most likely candidate is a corrupt EPG file.

Remove EPG.mei, EPG.raw and EPGdiff.mei (something with EPG and diff in it anyway!) from /ProgramFiles, and see if that works. NB: You won't have any EPG info after doing that until you've left the Toppy alone without any fiddling with the remote control for 20-20 minutes.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 781
I had a similar problem when I put in a new disk and copied everything over via TopfHDRW. If the EPG fix above from juwlz doesn't work, you could try removing the all TAPs from Autostart and put them back one by one and restart the toppy each time. It turned out to be a corrupt UKOZSurfer TAP for me, which may have been caused by TopfHDRW...

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4415
If you have a windows pc, use TopManager to remove the EPG files:-
1) Connection| Settings - create a USB (probably) connection
2) Connection| Open
3) Tools| Remove Bad EPG Files.
4) Reboot toppy normally

If you don't want to wait for the EPG to rebuild, use Tools| Install Files| MyStuff EPG.mei

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
m003
Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:26 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 04 Nov 2007 Posts: 90
juwlz wrote:
If it's starting up OK TAPless, the next most likely candidate is a corrupt EPG file.

Remove EPG.mei, EPG.raw and EPGdiff.mei (something with EPG and diff in it anyway!) from /ProgramFiles, and see if that works.
Julie


Thanks Julie, that worked.

Any idea why the EPG could have got corrupted?

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmPeScUZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.5; TF5000 Display v1.53; EPG2MEI v0.96; PruneEPG 1.0; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 8/6/19
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:49 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
m003 wrote:
Any idea why the EPG could have got corrupted?
I think there's a bug in EPG2MEI somewhere, that's never been found. Generally speaking, if EPG2MEI is left running, and MyStuff isn't, it'll self-heal after a while. The problem is that MyStuff will crash in the meantime.

The good news is that MyStuff 6.5 (if it ever surfaces) has a mechanism to prevent the reboot loop (it'll crash once, and then on restart won't try to run again until the problem's fixed, so at least your Toppy can record using timers that have already been set). It will also allow you to delete the EPG files without having to have a PC connected. In fact, if the Toppy switched itself on some time before you see there's a problem, it may have fixed itself by the time you see it, and just restarting MyStuff could be all that's needed.

You'll also be able to recover from backups of other MS config/data files if they get corrupted for any reason.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum