Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page

<  New users start here  ~  VERIFYING FILES

Page 1 of 1
SAMINA
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:06 pm Reply with quote
H i everyone
i am not tech savvy in any way so respones in plain simple terms would be appreciated.I have a TF5800 version TF - NPT 5.13.65T APRIL 14th 2009 C1.01 V5.3.36 and it does a verifying files thing when it trys to record something and does not record the program and show 0mb in the recordings list.
How can i fix this please - thankyou all.
samina
juwlz
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:43 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Try switching off at the wall, leaving it switching off for a couple of minutes, and then switching back on again. This may fix it for now, but it may only be temporary.

Where do you live / which transmitter do you receive your signal from? Has your region recently had any DSO changes? If so, have you done a Factory Reset followed by a channel scan? (It may be that you are trying to record a channel that no longer exists, or is a duplicate channel.)

How old is your Toppy?

If it's refusing to record anything, it may be having trouble accessing the hard drive, which is most likely due to failing capacitors in the PSU (a common and easy-to-get-fixed problem).

andyfras in Fleet, Hampshire or MikeyP in Bolton both offer a quick turnaround repair service for less than the price of a meal for two at a typical steakhouse chain. Send them a PM for details.

In the meantime, if you don't think the issue is DSO-related, unplug the Toppy from the mains to attempt to avoid any permanent hard drive damage. It's possible that it's already too late, depending on whether you have been ignoring other signs of abnormal behaviour, but many a Toppy with an apparently damaged hard drive has been revived by a timely PSU repair.

Julie

Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
SAMINA