Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Whats dead now ??

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Beanz
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 12:26 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2011 Posts: 27
Hi guys,

I had problems with my Toppy 5800 a while back but hoped that was all behind me as i had the caps done in Jan.
But, on turning on my TV this mornin i had the Erase All Data message to which i chose cancel. But as before i now have no MyStuff, no recordings and on going into archive and scrolling across its showing as a completely blank drive.

Is it remotely possible the PSU could be to blame again, or is it more likely that the HDD is on its way out and really should have been changed along with the Caps ??

Haven't got as far as trying to hook it up to the laptop as my wifes watchin crappy daytime tele, but don't hold out much hope of anything being fixed from there anyways.

I was tempted to hammer the credit card and change to a Humax of some description but to be honest am put off by the standard freeview EPG, its horrid compared to MyStuff !!

So, if it is my hard disk thats at fault are there recommendations of ones to replace it with and guides for popping it in, formatting etc ??

Thanks for any info !
View user's profile Send private message
Wallace
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 12:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911
It is possible, I suppose, that the the failing PSU (before you had the caps replaced) damaged your HDD.

You could check the PSU voltages again for 'belt and braces'.

Check out: http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17720 for more info on replacement HDD's

No doubt someone else will be along with a more helpful suggestion soon.....

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 12:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
Beanz wrote:

But, on turning on my TV this mornin i had the Erase All Data message to which i chose cancel. But as before i now have no MyStuff, no recordings and on going into archive and scrolling across its showing as a completely blank drive.


Disk wipes are thought to be caused by poor reception and possibly recording a program whilst the MUX is dropping out.

It may be worth installing the Signal Monitor TAP to check your reception http://www.tapworld.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=318 Anything above 60% for signal strength is probably OK but signal quality needs to be 98%+ and non-varying.

It is also possible to have too much signal in which case an in-line attenuator (6/10dB) may prove to be a useful fault finding tool http://www.beststuff.co.uk/store/TV-Attenuator.htm

One of the changes with Mystuff 6.4 is:
Changes to significantly reduce the number of calls to one of the Toppy API functions that is (at the time of writing) suspected of causing the hard disk wipe when recording during low quality reception.

http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff//ChangeLogs.shtml

Quote:

Is it remotely possible the PSU could be to blame again, or is it more likely that the HDD is on its way out and really should have been changed along with the Caps ??


It is a possibility but there are perhaps more common causes of disk wipes/corruption. I assume that you have run MyInfo to check for no duplicate channel and that you have pruned the channel list to a sensible total of around 40 or 50.


Last edited by alan_m on Mon May 30, 2011 1:13 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
Beanz
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 12:59 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2011 Posts: 27
Thanks for the info guys will look into all that once i get back from the bank hol run to the DIY store.

Didn't realise that there was a new release of MyStuff so will download that now.

Stands a chance then that something may have been recording and reception problems could be to blame, have noticed recently that it struggles on some channels - previoulsy i flicked past ideal world and got blocky jumpy pic, then last night noticed Film4 wasn't giving me a picture, so if something on that Mux was recording it may be the reason why.

Thanks again.
View user's profile Send private message
Wallace
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 1:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911
Sounds like the most likely cause is reception issues from what I have read in you reply.

The advice from alan_m is spot on.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
Beanz
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 2:21 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2011 Posts: 27
Right ive hit my first stumbling block, when connecting thru Altair the left pane (PVR HDD) shows one recording (about 1.4MB from 17th May (and one of the folders had on my Toppy with 4 recordings in, BUT, i can't go up a level on teh folder and have no access to the usual program files, mp3 & this recordings folder isn't the usual DATA one.

I've tried making a folder within Altair and copying file from my laptop to the Toppy drive but both look like they're carrying out the task but then nothing new appears on the PVR HDD.

Do i need to re format the drive from the Toppy hoping it recreates the required folders and gives me access to reinstall MyStuff etc and give the signal monitor a go ???
Had planned to -
Try signal monitor and check my levels
Install MyStuff
Install Myinfo and delete channels i'm never gonna watch/any duplicates etc

Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 2:38 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
Beanz wrote:

Do i need to re format the drive from the Toppy hoping it recreates the required folders and gives me access to reinstall MyStuff etc and give the signal monitor a go ???.


When I had a disk corruption earlier in the year I simply reformatted the disk via the Toppy menu. With a format you will lose everything on the disk but this is possibly what you want if the disk is so badly corrupted that it is misbehaving. Auto Start (Capital A, capital S and with a space between Auto and Start ) may not be there after a format until you have run a TAP, or perhaps used the installer, but it can be created manually using Altair.

The alternative is to try and recover the hard disk by connecting it to a PC running TopfHDRW http://www.toppy.org.uk/downloads/windows.php but for me life is too short Smile


Last edited by alan_m on Tue May 31, 2011 10:25 pm; edited 2 times in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 2:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2656
Reformatting will create the correct directory structure on the toppy, but you will lose all files on the disc, but it sounds like there is nothing worth keeping anyway.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Beanz
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 2:57 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2011 Posts: 27
Thanks guys.
Just formatted rather than faffin with anything else.. Can download anything wer'e likely to be behind on.

Signalwise, most muxes show low to mid 70's for strength except for Mux D which is averages 53% on both tuners with 91:92:100 & 87:90:100 for quality. Every other mux has quality permanently @ 100%.
Is there a keypress for saving the screenshot from Signal Monitor to the HDD for future ref ??

Maybe an aerial upgrade is required...bit of an outlay but may mean that my Freeview HD tele could actually pick up the HD channels too ( get them thru satellite anyways but like to have it all Smile )

Gonna have a search for channels on Mux D see if it was the ones i was thinking of and then start reinstalling.
Cheers.
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 3:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4546
Press Record to write the stats to a file.

Your signal quality is too low - it needs to be 98+

This could be down to the aerial (try resating the aerial leads).

It could also be because you are not picking up signals from the best transmitter - try the FastScanGUI tap.

It would also help if you post the output of the MyInfo.tap program (and your signal stats.

If you have a windows pc, please try TopManager (link in my signature). This will allow easy retrieval of these files (plus lots of other goodies).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 4:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
Beanz wrote:


Signalwise, most muxes show low to mid 70's for strength except for Mux D which is averages 53%


If you post the results of the Signal Monitor TAP it may give us some clues about your reception. Press record while it is still on screen and it will generate a text log file of the results which can be posted back here. Use the code tags to preserve the format http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/faq.php?mode=bbcode#5

Quote:

on both tuners with 91:92:100 & 87:90:100 for quality.


One result of 100% is not too good if the others are not the same and/or varying. The results above are the worst, best and average over a very short period of time - 3 or more samples in 5 seconds. Repeat these results during te evening when reception can change

Quote:

Every other mux has quality permanently @ 100%.


That's perfect

Quote:

Gonna have a search for channels on Mux D see if it was the ones i was thinking of and then start reinstalling.


http://www.dtg.org.uk/industry/dtt_channels.html

Quote:

Freeview HD tele could actually pick up the HD channels too ( get them thru satellite anyways but like to have it all


Are you sure that you have a TV with a HD capable tuner? OR just a HD TV with a Freeview (SD) tuner?

Post the signal Monitor and MyInfo log files.

From which transmitter are you getting your signals?

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 4:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2656
alan_m wrote:
Beanz wrote:
on both tuners with 91:92:100 & 87:90:100 for quality.


One result of 100% is not too good if the others are not the same and/or varying. The results above are the worst, best and average over a very short period of time - 3 or more samples in 5 seconds. Repeat these results during te evening when reception can change
Slight typo - should read worst, average, best.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Beanz
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 5:14 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2011 Posts: 27
All reinstalled and so far runnning well, even for some reason still have this weeks timers but no series links etc... odd..

I'm viewing from Sutton Coldfield transmitter and do think that maybe my aerial is now getting old and not up to the job, would love to change it but unless totally necessary funding says different...will see if its gonna keep killing my box then will have to.

Yes i do have a freeview HD tv (sony bravia kdl37ex403) but not enuf signal to get the hd channels.

My signal monitor info is
Code:
Signal Monitor 0.53 Results

Measured on 30/5/2011 at 17:06
Data format: T1 Levels, T1 Quality, T2 Levels, T2 Quality, all as Min:Average:Max %

Mux 1: BBC ONE on RF Ch 41           |  70: 70: 71 | 100:100:100 |  73: 73: 74 | 100:100:100
Mux 2: ITV1 on RF Ch 44              |  75: 75: 77 | 100:100:100 |  76: 78: 81 | 100:100:100
Mux B: BBC FOUR on RF Ch 51          |  72: 72: 73 | 100:100:100 |  74: 74: 75 | 100:100:100
Mux A: ITV3 on RF Ch 47              |  69: 69: 71 | 100:100:100 |  70: 70: 71 | 100:100:100
Mux C: Pick TV on RF Ch 52           |  75: 75: 77 | 100:100:100 |  75: 75: 78 | 100:100:100
Mux D: Yesterday on RF Ch 55         |  54: 54: 55 |  90: 92:100 |  52: 52: 53 |  85: 88:100

Settle time: 500 milliseconds - Sample time: 5 seconds


MyInfo
Code:

MyInfo B5.5 Logging settings etc on: 30/5/2011 at 16:58

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Ini file found
Starting to record data 3193 seconds from boot

System ID: 456
TV Output: Type = PAL, Video = RGB, RF Channel = 36
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.13.65T dated Oct 10 2009
Base firmware version: 5.13.65

Running TAPS:
   Slot 0: EPG2MEI v0.96  :  Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
   Slot 1: Font Manager 1.0d  :  Manage TAP Fonts
   Slot 2: Extend v1.7  :  Uses the Accurate Recording info to extend recordings (safely)
   Slot 3: SecCache (UK) v0.4  :  Optimal (UK) section caching to reduce the load on the Toppy
   Slot 4: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6  :  Provides faster, simpler and more robust EIT data collection, except when playing games
   Slot 5: MyStuff 6.4  :  UI Replacement
   Slot 6: MyInfo B5.5  :  Displays & records Toppy basic info
   Slots 7 - 15 not used

Installed patch list:-  Ab Bf Bq Ce Ck Cp Cw Cy De Ec Ee Ef Ep Er Es F Fm Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot P Pc Pe R Ra Re Rh Rp Rs S Sd Sl Sr St T2 Td Te Tf Tp Ts Vr Xp Xw
Firmware MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009  modified thus: -Sy-Xl+Pe
Patch Decode Links - Will explain your patches:
   MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 :- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=AbBfBqCeCkCpCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFFmGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcPeRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStT2TdTeTfTpTsVrXpXw
   Missing patches:- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=SyXl
   Extra patches:- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=Pe

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 78 TV channels and 24 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 41 are: 1, 2, 7, 70, 80, 105,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 44 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 28, 33, 102, 103,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 47 are: 10, 16, 17, 20, 23, 26, 27, 30, 31, 34, 35, 38, 43, 72, 92, 93, 101, 104, 109, 189, 191, 192, 307, 308, 309, 724, 727, 728,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 51 are: 9, 41, 42, 71, 81, 301, 303, 700, 701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 706, 707, 708, 709, 710,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 52 are: 11, 19, 25, 29, 32, 37, 44, 82, 84, 87, 95, 97, 98, 306, 723, 725,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 55 are: 12, 15, 18, 21, 22, 24, 36, 40, 85, 89, 90, 94, 96, 99, 108, 199, 711, 712, 713, 714, 715, 716, 718, 722,

Interactive On
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 12 MB,  Available: 11 MB
Disk - Total: 149 GB, Free: 151 GB

0 recordings (0 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 0 folders (+ 1 empty folders)

Time since boot: 0:0:53 (d:h:m)

i'll look at updated my sig with the myinfo stuff i've just done and look into TopManager.

What Tap is best for deleting unused channels to get it pruned down to a decent level ??

Thanks for all the help/advise guys.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSyXl+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; fsSave 1.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 8/3/16
?
View user's profile Send private message
Wallace
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 5:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911
Use Channel Organiser to 'prune' unwanted channels. May I also recommend that you disable Interactive services (unless you actually use them) as this will reduce the load on the Toppy too.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 5:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4546
TopManager provides an easy way of updating your signature ("Tools|Update Forum Profile")

Only Mux D appears to have a quality problem. The only channels you may want on this Mux (well ok, the only ones I would want) are Yesterday, Film4 and possibly ITV4 i.e. if you don't want to change your aerial, you might get away with just deleting everything on this Mux (see ukfree for details of channels)

I'm surprised that you don't have the [Xl] patch as that is normally provided by the MyStuff Installer (it speeds up boot time). Other than that and the high number of channels, the MyInfo log looks ok.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum