Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Toppy 5800 - don't all laugh please

Page 4 of 5
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
juwlz
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:11 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
OK. I stand corrected. How many people could find a serial cable around the house though Wink

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2614
juwlz wrote:
OK. I stand corrected. How many people could find a serial cable around the house though Wink
More likely than finding 2 5810's.

Having said that, it might be handy for a mac user with 2 5810's and a faulty usb connection. Or maybe not.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Wallace
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911
Lol, I have two 5810's and a serial cable!!

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:11 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
That combination could very well make you unique! Wink

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wallace
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911
That's what my Mum says!

I only use one 5810. The other is 'a maintenance backup'. I have a Humax HDR-FoxT2 for HD. You could say 'AV overload'.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:32 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Wallace wrote:
I have a Humax HDR-FoxT2 for HD. You could say 'AV overload'.
Hardly. We have a Foxsat for HD, a 5810, and now (thanks to andyfras for work on all three) two working 5800s.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:49 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2614
Wallace wrote:
Lol, I have two 5810's and a serial cable!!
Me too.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
chris_s
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:20 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 403
ccs wrote:
Wallace wrote:
Lol, I have two 5810's and a serial cable!!
Me too.
We could start a club, (and invite Jumbo as our first guest speaker).

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message
MarkPax
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:48 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 520
ccs wrote:
juwlz wrote:
OK. I stand corrected. How many people could find a serial cable around the house though Wink
More likely than finding 2 5810's.

Having said that, it might be handy for a mac user with 2 5810's and a faulty usb connection. Or maybe not.

Fat chance. Long ago Steve decreed that Thou Shalt Not Use Serial Cables.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:52 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2614
MarkPax wrote:
ccs wrote:
juwlz wrote:
OK. I stand corrected. How many people could find a serial cable around the house though ;-)
More likely than finding 2 5810's.

Having said that, it might be handy for a mac user with 2 5810's and a faulty usb connection. Or maybe not.

Fat chance. Long ago Steve decreed that Thou Shalt Not Use Serial Cables.
I must admit I didn't expect him to have a toppy.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
MarkPax
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:05 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 520
I have 3 Macs, 2 Toppies, 0 PCs and 0 serial cables. So they are not mutually exclusive. Though I agree, an Apple-designed Toppy would be white, 3" on a side, cost 9000 and would only record what Steve deemed good for you.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:18 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
ccs wrote:
juwlz wrote:
ccs wrote:
juwlz wrote:
No, you can't transfer anything directly from one Toppy to another.
Actually, you can
Without involving any sort of computer? How? (I'm intrigued.)

Julie
The 5810 manual says.....................

6.4 Copy Firmware and Settings to Another System
If you have more than one TF 5810 PVRt, you can copy a
firmware or Settings between them by connecting a RS-232
cable .
6.4.1 Copy Firmware to Another System
To copy a firmware from one to another, perform the following
steps:
1. Turn off the target digital receiver.
2. Plug one end of a RS-232 cable (9 pin D-sub cable) into the
RS-232 port on the digital receiver, and the other end into
the matching port on the other digital receiver.
3. Turn on the source digital receiver if not already on.
4. Press the MENU button to display the PVR?s main menu,
and then select Installation and Transfer firmware. On the
Installation menu, select Copy firmware to another system
menu. Then you?ll be asked for confirmation; select ?Yes?.
5. Turn on the target digital receiver to start the firmware transfer.
6. Aprogress bar appears showing the progress of the firmware
transfer.
7. Restart the target digital receiver when the firmware transfer
is complete.
6.4.2 Copy Settings to Another System
You can also copy settings by connecting a RS-232 cable. When
you do this, some settings are copied such as services list, favorites
lists and preference settings.
To copy a Settings from one to another system, perform the
following steps:
1. Plug one end of a RS-232 cable (9 pin D-sub cable) into the
RS-232 port on the digital receiver, and the other end into
the matching port on the other digital receiver.
2. Turn on the source digital receiver.
3. Press the MENU button to display the PVR?s main menu,
and then select Installation and Transfer firmware. On the
Transfer firmware menu, select Copy settings to another
system menu. Then you?ll be asked for confirmation; select
?Yes?.
4. To start the data transfer, turn on the target digital receiver.
5. A progress bar appears showing the progress of the data
transfer.
6. Restart the target digital receiver when the data transfer is
complete.

I couldn't find any reference to this in the 5800 manual.


Thanks mate,

this sounds a whole lot easier and straightforward than the "palaver" I went through using my Mac!

Only problem is BOTH my Toppys are 5800.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:19 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2614
I did say that is only applies to the 5810, not the 5800.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:20 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
ccs wrote:
I did say that is only applies to the 5810, not the 5800.



Yes mate, I did note that!

So are we saying the 5800 can't be done this way?

Many thanks again.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:26 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2614
I couldn't find any references in the online copy of the manual.

It may be an undocumented feature, but unlikely.

Try

"Press the MENU button to display the PVR?s main menu,
and then select Installation and Transfer firmware."

Is this feature available??

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 4 of 5
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum