Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Toppy 5800 - don't all laugh please

Page 2 of 5
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:17 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
MarkPax wrote:
It's just like setting up a new printer, it shouldn't matter what kind of cable as long as the ends both fit.

Get a USB printer cable. It will have a larger rectangular end and a smaller square end. Put the Toppy in standby and plug the square end into the socket in the middle of the back. Plug the rectangular end into ANY USB port on your Mac. Just like with a printer. Don't worry about USB 1 or 2.

Turn on the Toppy and wait for it to boot up.

Double click the application MPEG Streamclip (if that's what you're using) on your Mac to start it up. It should open up with a window with five blobs in it like a dice.

Click on Altair > Files in the menu bar. A new window should open with a list of files on your Toppy. You should be able to navigate around this list a bit like using the Finder on the Mac. If you don't see any files, press Refresh. If still no, turn the Toppy off and on again. If still no, ask us!

Navigate to Programfiles. Click Upload. You will then need to navigate to the folder on your Mac where you put the HDFW TAP program when you downloaded it, eg on your Desktop or in the Downloads folder. Go to there, click on the file and press OK (or whatever).

MPEG Streamclip should then copy HDFW to the right folder.

If you are using MacTF the process is similar but you will have to Connect to your Toppy using the icon at the top left of its window and then Upload using the next icon.

Hope that helps.


Thanks mate, I'll give this a go!
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:56 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
MarkPax wrote:
It's just like setting up a new printer, it shouldn't matter what kind of cable as long as the ends both fit.

Get a USB printer cable. It will have a larger rectangular end and a smaller square end. Put the Toppy in standby and plug the square end into the socket in the middle of the back. Plug the rectangular end into ANY USB port on your Mac. Just like with a printer. Don't worry about USB 1 or 2.

Turn on the Toppy and wait for it to boot up.

Double click the application MPEG Streamclip (if that's what you're using) on your Mac to start it up. It should open up with a window with five blobs in it like a dice.

Click on Altair > Files in the menu bar. A new window should open with a list of files on your Toppy. You should be able to navigate around this list a bit like using the Finder on the Mac. If you don't see any files, press Refresh. If still no, turn the Toppy off and on again. If still no, ask us!

Navigate to Programfiles. Click Upload. You will then need to navigate to the folder on your Mac where you put the HDFW TAP program when you downloaded it, eg on your Desktop or in the Downloads folder. Go to there, click on the file and press OK (or whatever).

MPEG Streamclip should then copy HDFW to the right folder.

If you are using MacTF the process is similar but you will have to Connect to your Toppy using the icon at the top left of its window and then Upload using the next icon.

Hope that helps.



Thanks mate:

Can't get past the "Altair" part as this does not highlight the files selection.
Any solution?
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:06 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
MarkPax wrote:
It's just like setting up a new printer, it shouldn't matter what kind of cable as long as the ends both fit.

Get a USB printer cable. It will have a larger rectangular end and a smaller square end. Put the Toppy in standby and plug the square end into the socket in the middle of the back. Plug the rectangular end into ANY USB port on your Mac. Just like with a printer. Don't worry about USB 1 or 2.

Turn on the Toppy and wait for it to boot up.

Double click the application MPEG Streamclip (if that's what you're using) on your Mac to start it up. It should open up with a window with five blobs in it like a dice.

Click on Altair > Files in the menu bar. A new window should open with a list of files on your Toppy. You should be able to navigate around this list a bit like using the Finder on the Mac. If you don't see any files, press Refresh. If still no, turn the Toppy off and on again. If still no, ask us!

Navigate to Programfiles. Click Upload. You will then need to navigate to the folder on your Mac where you put the HDFW TAP program when you downloaded it, eg on your Desktop or in the Downloads folder. Go to there, click on the file and press OK (or whatever).

MPEG Streamclip should then copy HDFW to the right folder.

If you are using MacTF the process is similar but you will have to Connect to your Toppy using the icon at the top left of its window and then Upload using the next icon.

Hope that helps.



Discovered the following:

"The Altair menu is a connection tool for the Topfield TF5000/TF5500 only."

My Topfield is the 5800
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3523
There are 100,000s of Topfield users in the UK using Altair with their 5800/5810.

Altair is the standard (Microsoft Windows) connection software to connect a Toppy to a computer.

What you may be seeing is a MAC utility written by someone in Germany, Scandinavia or Australia where the documentation only covers the Topfield model available in their own country.


Last edited by alan_m on Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:18 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:34 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
[quote="alan_m"]
100949football wrote:


There are 100,000s of Topfiled users in the UK using Altair on their 5800/5810.

Altair is the standard (Microsoft Windows) connection software to connect a Toppy to a computer.

What you may be seeing is a MAC utility written by someone in Germany, Scandinavia or Australia where the documentation only covers the Topfield model available in their own country.



Many thanks friend - this is driving me "potty"

How, therefore can I gain access to the correct "altair"?
View user's profile Send private message
MarkPax
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 520
100949football wrote:
Thanks mate:

Can't get past the "Altair" part as this does not highlight the files selection.
Any solution?

Sorry you're having such a nightmare. don't worry about the TF5000 designation, it works with the TF5800/5810 as well.

If you open MPEG Streamclip and in the menu bar go MPEG Streamclip > Preferences, there is an option on the right "Enable Altair". That needs to be ticked. Sounds like it's not....

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:36 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
MarkPax wrote:
100949football wrote:
Thanks mate:

Can't get past the "Altair" part as this does not highlight the files selection.
Any solution?

Sorry you're having such a nightmare. don't worry about the TF5000 designation, it works with the TF5800/5810 as well.

If you open MPEG Streamclip and in the menu bar go MPEG Streamclip > Preferences, there is an option on the right "Enable Altair". That needs to be ticked. Sounds like it's not....


Thank you friend.

Yup initially that was not "enabled" but I stumbled through that one.
I then managed to get into the "files" but could not get to see what was there as it would not open the "programme files"!
Went into a ToFi upload but nothing was happening there either - do these files take ages to upload?
Still hanging in there - thanks for your interest and help.
View user's profile Send private message
MarkPax
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 520
OK we are getting there, at least you can see the Toppy.

By default I think you will start up in a Toppy folder called /DataFiles. That's where actual recorded programmes are. You should see a load of .rec files, that's how Toppy stores its recordings. You can download these from Toppy to Mac if you want, it will take 5-10 minutes to download a programme. But you can't upload them since they're already on the Toppy.

Instead click on the "Up" button top left of the Altair window, just under the yellow bar. You should end up in a folder with no name, containing
DataFiles
MP3
ProgramFiles

Double click on ProgramFiles. That's the folder where you want to upload HDFW. It's probably empty at the moment. So now click the "upload" button bottom left of the Altair window, navigate to where HDFW is on your Mac, highlight HDFW and press the Upload button bottom right. It should only take a few seconds.

Then you can ignore your Mac, follow the HDFW instructions using only your Toppy.

See if that works.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3523
MarkPax wrote:

Double click on ProgramFiles. That's the folder where you want to upload HDFW. It's probably empty at the moment. So now click the "upload" button bottom left of the Altair window, navigate to where HDFW is on your Mac, highlight HDFW and press the Upload button bottom right. It should only take a few seconds.


It may be stating the obvious but... the HDFW download from the Net will have been in a compressed format (.zip). You need to unzip the file first on your computer as the Toppy itself cannot do it.

As well as the HDFW.tap file you will also need to transfer the support files as detailed in the first paragraph of: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~r2-d2/hdfw.html

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:27 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
MarkPax wrote:
OK we are getting there, at least you can see the Toppy.

By default I think you will start up in a Toppy folder called /DataFiles. That's where actual recorded programmes are. You should see a load of .rec files, that's how Toppy stores its recordings. You can download these from Toppy to Mac if you want, it will take 5-10 minutes to download a programme. But you can't upload them since they're already on the Toppy.

Instead click on the "Up" button top left of the Altair window, just under the yellow bar. You should end up in a folder with no name, containing
DataFiles
MP3
ProgramFiles

Double click on ProgramFiles. That's the folder where you want to upload HDFW. It's probably empty at the moment. So now click the "upload" button bottom left of the Altair window, navigate to where HDFW is on your Mac, highlight HDFW and press the Upload button bottom right. It should only take a few seconds.

Then you can ignore your Mac, follow the HDFW instructions using only your Toppy.

See if that works.



Have done as requested and got - "Mpeg - streamclip - batch list now uploaded" but there was no apparent action on the Toppy!
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3523
100949football wrote:

Have done as requested and got - "Mpeg - streamclip - batch list now uploaded" but there was no apparent action on the Toppy!


What exactly are you transferring?

You need to first download (from the Net) the HDFW TAP
http://www.tapworld.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=435

You then need to unzip it on your computer

Using MPEG Streamclip transfer the HDFW.tap file and the hdfw.lng file (found in the same unzipped file) to the "program files" folder on your Toppy.

Disconnect your computer.

Using the Toppy's remote control and your TV run the HDFW TAP manually.
Press the archive key on the remote
Repeatedly press the >> or << on the remote to toggle to the Toppy's "program files" folder.
Use the up/down keys on the remote to highlight the HDFW name
Press OK and the TAP will run with its own onscreen blue screen
Press exit on the remote to quit the TAP

The running of the TAP (without doing anything) will result in the TAP producing a folder on the Toppy's hard disk called "Program files/HDFW_Firmware"

Now connect your Toppy back up to your computer using MPEG Steamclip.

Transfer the new firmware to you Toppy. The firmware file needs to go in the "Program files/HDFW_Firmware" folder.

Once this is done you are finished with your computer.

Run the HDFW TAP manually again (as above). this time HDFW will give you the option of selecting the new firmware which you can now "flash" to your Toppy as per the on-screen instructions.

I would recommend making a backup of your existing firmware (a HDFW TAP option) before re-flashing with new firmware.

After you have done this on one of your boxes post back about additional patches that you may install in a similar way.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:39 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
alan_m wrote:
100949football wrote:

Have done as requested and got - "Mpeg - streamclip - batch list now uploaded" but there was no apparent action on the Toppy!


What exactly are you transferring?

You need to first download (from the Net) the HDFW TAP
http://www.tapworld.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=435

You then need to unzip it on your computer

Using MPEG Streamclip transfer the HDFW.tap file and the hdfw.lng file (found in the same unzipped file) to the "program files" folder on your Toppy.

Disconnect your computer.

Using the Toppy's remote control and your TV run the HDFW TAP manually.
Press the archive key on the remote
Repeatedly press the >> or << on the remote to toggle to the Toppy's "program files" folder.
Use the up/down keys on the remote to highlight the HDFW name
Press OK and the TAP will run with its own onscreen blue screen
Press exit on the remote to quit the TAP

The running of the TAP (without doing anything) will result in the TAP producing a folder on the Toppy's hard disk called "Program files/HDFW_Firmware"

Now connect your Toppy back up to your computer using MPEG Steamclip.

Transfer the new firmware to you Toppy. The firmware file needs to go in the "Program files/HDFW_Firmware" folder.

Once this is done you are finished with your computer.

Run the HDFW TAP manually again (as above). this time HDFW will give you the option of selecting the new firmware which you can now "flash" to your Toppy as per the on-screen instructions.

I would recommend making a backup of your existing firmware (a HDFW TAP option) before re-flashing with new firmware.

After you have done this on one of your boxes post back about additional patches that you may install in a similar way.


Blundering through and now have the folder created on toppy - where do I find ------ "Transfer the new firmware to you Toppy. The firmware file needs to go in the "Program files/HDFW_Firmware" folder." ----where is the new firmware?
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3523
100949football wrote:

Blundering through and now have the folder created on toppy - where do I find ------ "Transfer the new firmware to you Toppy. The firmware file needs to go in the "Program files/HDFW_Firmware" folder." ----where is the new firmware?


The firmware file can be found on this site. The version you probably want is
http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Firmware/Recommended_5800.tfd

Links to recommended firmwares
http://www.toppy.org.uk/downloads/firmware.php

First download this to your computer

Then using MPEG streamclip transfer the file from your computer to the Toppy "Program files/HDFW_Firmware"

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
100949football
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:01 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2006 Posts: 40 Location: Falkirk, scotland
alan_m wrote:
100949football wrote:

Blundering through and now have the folder created on toppy - where do I find ------ "Transfer the new firmware to you Toppy. The firmware file needs to go in the "Program files/HDFW_Firmware" folder." ----where is the new firmware?


The firmware file can be found on this site. The version you probably want is
http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Firmware/Recommended_5800.tfd

Links to recommended firmwares
http://www.toppy.org.uk/downloads/firmware.php

First download this to your computer

Then using MPEG streamclip transfer the file from your computer to the Toppy "Program files/HDFW_Firmware"



Hi Alan, you deserve a stiff drink after this...........me too!
"chunkywizard" will not read on the Mac - no application programme to open it.
ToFi from the toppy.org.uk/downloads/firmware.php - get to the clicking the download button then nothing to complete the download or transfer of the "firmware"........so frustrating as I feel we are nearly there!!!!!!!!
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3523
100949football wrote:

Hi Alan, you deserve a stiff drink after this...........me too!
"chunkywizard" will not read on the Mac - no application programme to open it.





ToFi from the toppy.org.uk/downloads/firmware.php - get to the clicking the download button then nothing to complete the download or transfer of the "firmware"........so frustrating as I feel we are nearly there!!!!!!!!


We seem to be slightly at cross purposes here Smile

I was under the impression that you had abandoned ToFi to install the firmware and we were going down the alternative method of installing firmware using the HDFW TAP running on your Toppy.

After "installing" HDFW TAP on your Toppy, which you have achieved, all you then have to do is to transfer the new Toppy firmware file to the "Program file/HDFW_firmware" folder.

The first link I gave in the previous post http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Firmware/Recommended_5800.tfd is the firmware file

You do not open this on you computer. You simply transfer this file to your Toppy using MPEG Streamclip in the similar way that you originally transferred the HDFW TAP file (but the destination folder on the Toppy is
"Program file/HDFW_firmware"

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 5
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum