Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page

<  TAP and patch development  ~  What makes TAPs unstable?

Page 1 of 1
MarkPax
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 520
Are there any good rules of thumb to spot what causes crashing TAPs?

I had a nightmare today with a short (30 line) TSR TAP. The problem seemed to be this line in TAP_Main:-
TYPE_TapChInfo CurrChanInfo;
It crashed every time even though the compiler was happy. Another similar version crashed only when I started playing a merged recording in MyStuff. Odd given that my TAP doesn't do anything special, just looks for EVT_SVCSTATUS calls and changes the volume when it gets them.
I moved this type declaration up to being a global declaration and it's sweet, it seems stable now. (There's no need for it to be global however, it's just used in TAP_Main). I have loads of memory free.

Do you guys have any rules for structuring TAPs to avoid these kind of funnies? Thanks. (I am a C newbie)

Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4416
Just because it compiles doesn't mean it will work or that the logic is correct; it just means that the source code follows the syntax rules for the language.

I don't have experience with taps but normally programs need to leave things as they find them e.g. save and restore all registers, worry about code being reentered (especially if could exhaust the stack).

Geoff

TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
EMJB
Posted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:53 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3639 Location: Maldon Essex