Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  TopManager V6.2

Page 38 of 38
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 36, 37, 38
ccs
Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 3:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2582
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
We've just got back from holiday, so I did a rescan using TopManager as I read in the rescan thread that some MUXes had changed. True Movies, True Entertainment and one other channel scanned into the 700s for some reason. TM said that they were "illegal" (?or "invalid") channels and didn't let me select them for retention so they've been deleted along with all the other unwanted stuff. I don't really want to do a rescan and then manually delete everything except those channels. Am I missing something?
Did you download the latest freeview.dat file?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4385
You will need to include your LTM in the list of Muxes (and that is assuming that True Entertainment is being broadcast on your LTM)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
I did wonder about the LTM when I saw the other post post, but they're on a regular MUX on Emley Moor, and I've got other channels from those MUXes. I'm not quite sure why they should be in the 700s and flagged as illegal.

I downloaded the new Freeview.Dat file via TM before I did the scan. It asked to overwrite the file and I gave it permission. Might the file be locked by a process and the overwrite fail? It didn't come up with an error, but would that explain the issue? If so, what's the best way to overwrite the Freeview.Dat file?

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4385
It's because the broadcaster has changed the method of delivery and is continuing to broadcast the old channel on a new channel number (primarily for saying "please retune") i.e this channel has a temporary high number before the channel is removed.

I think you will find that it is now on the LTM (although some regions don't have it at all)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 2:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 169
Geoff Bacon wrote:
It's because the broadcaster has changed the method of delivery and is continuing to broadcast the old channel on a new channel number (primarily for saying "please retune") i.e this channel has a temporary high number before the channel is removed.

That's exactly what I experienced with True Entertainment, the 700 number is now gone and it's on channel 48 (that's on CraigKelly can't say for other transmitters)

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
jimi
Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 3:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 169
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
I did wonder about the LTM when I saw the other post post, but they're on a regular MUX on Emley Moor, and I've got other channels from those MUXes. I'm not quite sure why they should be in the 700s and flagged as illegal.

This site shows them to be on a LTM on Emley Moor https://www.terrestrialtv.uk/dtt.cgi?reg=UK.E.YOR.EML
Regarding that site I've linked to, I've been using it for a while now and it always seems to be accurate and relatively up to date Cool

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 10:27 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
Thanks everyone - it makes sense now that I can see the website I shared is wrong! I'll have a go at retuning with the local MUX

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 5:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 169
Post up how you get on

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 6:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
Sorry - been away for a night.

I did the scan with the local MUX included and it found them. Worryingly the quality is well down on them, so I might have to remove them anyway if tinkering with the gain on the aerial amp doesn't improve things.

I just added every channel, but discovered that TM doesn't like the HD MUXes without any Toppy channels on them and continually rescans them looking for something

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 6:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4385
Why are you even scanning the HD muxes? - you should be using the Channle tables that TM knows about

1) Make sure you are on TM 6.2 (upgrade if not)
2) Tools| Install Files | FvTxdata.tsv (or similar, near bottom; just in case you have an old version)
3) PcControl| Channel Management
4) In dropdown box showing your muxes, select "Find My Transmitter"
5) Near bottom of page, set "At least 3 of My Muxes" (or 4)
6) Select your required mux with LTM and proceed as you did before


Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
I was obviously not scanning the local MUX, so I looked at the channels being transmitted by my local transmitter and added them all manually. I'm sorry if I didn't do what you expected me to, but I have no idea how up to date your transmitter information is

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2582
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
but I have no idea how up to date your transmitter information is


It's in both files....

Freeview.dat...

@LastUpdated=18:15 on 27/06/2019 # Update this!


FvTxData.tsv….

Source: DigitalUK.co.uk (19-Jun-2019)

And on the website...

Quote:
Freeview.dat (contains data about the channels)
Download Freeview.dat (created 27 Jun 2019)

FvTxData.tsv (transmitters and the muxes they broadcast)
Download FvTxData.tsv (created 27 Jun 2019)

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4385
@YJ

The files are described as in ccs's post.
TM 6.2 will tell you if your versions are out of date
The TM Tools| Install Files option does the update

Just follow my instructions in my previous response.
Note: You have to use the Dropdown box access the "Find My Transmitter" option

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:37 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
I'm sorry that I didn't know how to check the data and that I didn't do as you expected. Despite my obvious senility, I still managed to get the Toppy setup how I want it, so I'll leave it at that till I next need to update

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 38 of 38
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 36, 37, 38

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum