Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Disk upgrades - summary of working and non-working models

Page 4 of 8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
JoRogan
Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 3:04 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Apr 2012 Posts: 5
Working HD not on list:

1TB Western Digital WD10EARX

73 from amazon.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl
TAPs: AccurateBM v0.5; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 30/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
aekostas
Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Jun 2007 Posts: 231 Location: Craigkelly Tx
JoRogan wrote:
Working HD not on list:

1TB Western Digital WD10EARX

73 from amazon.


Thanks for the report. What adapter are you using?

_________________
Hardware: TF5800PVR "Black Panther" with WD500AVJB, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; TF5000 Display v1.53; MHEG On/Off A3; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.4; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/1/14
View user's profile Send private message
cthatcham2
Posted: Fri May 18, 2012 7:41 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 30 Sep 2008 Posts: 30 Location: West Berks (Hannington transmitter)
I have (perhaps stupidly) already bought a Western Digital WD10EURX 1 TB before consulting this list. It is SATA III, has a spin speed of 7200 rpm and a 64 MB cache. Has anyone tried using this disk? It was advertised as ideal for PVRs, etc.

Is it likely to work? I note that AndyFras suggests a slower spin speed.

I've also bought a PATA SATA converter but it didn't come with any connecting cables. Do I need cables?

Please advise, thanks!

Kate

_________________
History: TF5800 since Feb 2006.

PSU capacitors replaced May 2012.

Upgrades June 2012: WD10EURX 1TB HDD, Antares, MyStuff 6.4

TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/7/12
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Fri May 18, 2012 8:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
cthatcham2 wrote:
I note that AndyFras suggests a slower spin speed.

Because they are generally quieter and use less power. High data rates are not necessary in a Toppy.

Quote:
I've also bought a PATA SATA converter but it didn't come with any connecting cables. Do I need cables?

It depends which one you bought. If it's one that plugs directly into the HDD, you will need an IDE cable to connect to the mainboard (the Toppy one will be too short). Most adapters require an 80 wire 40 pin cable connected backwards (mainboard connector to the adapter, disk connector to mainboard) when used in a Toppy.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/120889359751

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cthatcham2
Posted: Sat May 19, 2012 8:38 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 30 Sep 2008 Posts: 30 Location: West Berks (Hannington transmitter)
Thanks, Andy - I've ordered the cable as the converter is one that plugs into the HDD.

Kate

_________________
History: TF5800 since Feb 2006.

PSU capacitors replaced May 2012.

Upgrades June 2012: WD10EURX 1TB HDD, Antares, MyStuff 6.4

TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/7/12
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Wed May 23, 2012 7:49 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
cthatcham2 wrote:
I have (perhaps stupidly) already bought a Western Digital WD10EURX 1 TB before consulting this list. It is SATA III, has a spin speed of 7200 rpm and a 64 MB cache. Has anyone tried using this disk? It was advertised as ideal for PVRs, etc.
It's not exactly 7200rpm. WD quote its rotational speed as:
Quote:
IntelliPower
    A fine-tuned balance of spin speed, transfer rate, and caching algorithms designed to deliver both significant power savings and solid performance
And, as you say, it is "Tested for compatibility in a broad range of AV products including set top boxes, DVR/PVR, and mainstream video surveillance systems."
It also says:
Quote:
Reduced power consumption
    WD AV-GP drives consume less power by up to 40 percent compared to 7200 RPM hard drives. Lower power means less heat and greater reliability.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
The Governor
Posted: Mon May 28, 2012 7:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 165
I just put a Samsung Spinpoint 5400 rpm drive in mine after my disk failed... what I've noticed since doing it is that the Toppy itself is pretty sluggish ( I also had to install new TAPS so it's running the latest MyStuff).

Not sure if it's a disk issue or MyStuff issuue as yet..

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Z
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.1; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; TAP Commander 1.33; TF5000 Display v1.53; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 8/1/11
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Mon May 28, 2012 9:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
The Governor wrote:
I just put a Samsung Spinpoint 5400 rpm drive in mine after my disk failed...

What caused the disk to fail? PSU capacitors?

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Governor
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 8:12 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 165
Not sure andyfras, everything seems to be working as it should, albeit the Toppy is slow to respond. There's no sign of a blown capacitor, although I guess there might not be?

If this disk dies then I guess it points to another cause...

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Z
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.1; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; TAP Commander 1.33; TF5000 Display v1.53; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 8/1/11
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 8:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
In most cases, there is no physical sign of capacitor failure (some green ones dome). There is a danger that the out-of-specification voltages, generated by the PSU as the capacitors fail, can damage your new disk.

If you have a meter, I strongly urge you to check the voltages; if the voltages are a long way out, switch off the mains to your Toppy until the capacitors have been replaced.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Governor
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 12:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 165
Thanks andyfras, my new disk is playing up so that points to something else.

Is there a guide anywhere for which caps to check, how to do it? (I always thought you'd have to remove the caps to test them?)

Also, could you drop me a PM with your prices on DIY cap kits, and also how much to send it to you? I'm just trying to see if it's worth repairing it or buying a replacement unit...

Smile

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Z
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.1; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; TAP Commander 1.33; TF5000 Display v1.53; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 8/1/11
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 6:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
The Governor wrote:
Is there a guide anywhere for which caps to check, how to do it? (I always thought you'd have to remove the caps to test them?)

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19103

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
birdman
Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
cthatcham2 wrote:
I have (perhaps stupidly) already bought a Western Digital WD10EURX 1 TB before consulting this list. It is SATA III, has a spin speed of 7200 rpm and a 64 MB cache. Has anyone tried using this disk?
I have one working. Seems fine.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3523
The Governor wrote:
Not sure andyfras, everything seems to be working as it should, albeit the Toppy is slow to respond. There's no sign of a blown capacitor, although I guess there might not be?

If this disk dies then I guess it points to another cause...


You really do have to check the PSU voltages.
A meter to measure voltages can cost as little as 4 including postage
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-DT830B-LCD-Digital-Multimeter-Electric-Voltage-Tester-BATTERY-and-LEADS-/160732680715?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item256c6a120b

Slightly more robust construction 6.50, but probably have similar innards
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DIGITAL-LCD-MULTIMETER-VOLTMETER-AMMETER-AC-DC-METER-OHM-CIRCUIT-TESTER-/261037111087?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item3cc706372f

A faulty PSU will take down a Hard Disk, or at least stop it working correctly until the power supply lines are restored to normal.

Often people replace hard disks without checking the supply lines and the hard disk appears to work again. This is because the newer hard disk takes a lot less power and puts less strain on the failing power supply. This period of correct working can be very short as the PSU continues to degrade.

In the majority of cases catching a failing PSU soon enough means no peripheral components are damaged. A seemingly faulty hard disk will work again.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
I have recently installed a WD3200AVJS in a 5800 where the original disk had failed. I used a Lycom ST-106-2 adapter.

I found that the link on 5-6 was required to limit the data speed to 150 MB/s. Without this, the Toppy sometimes did not see the disk.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 4 of 8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum