Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Disk upgrades - summary of working and non-working models

Page 2 of 8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
czg
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:27 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 14 Jul 2006 Posts: 11
Another working combo (all from Amazon):

Samsung F4 EcoGreen 2TB 32MB 5400RPM 3.5 inch SATA-II Internal Hard Drive - OEM (HD204UI) 61.94 (I paid 64.48 )

AV Tech Sata to IDE Converter 14.05 delivered

StarTech.com 18-inch Ultra ATA/66/100/133 80-wire IDE Cable 3.18 delivered

Picture quality was poor at first but when I routed the cable under the HDD cradle it improved back to normal levels.
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
Well done hover for being the first to try a SSD. It's good to have confirmation that it works.

When 1TB of SSD becomes affordable, perhaps we'll all go that way.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jumbo
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
andyfras wrote:
When 1TB of SSD becomes affordable, perhaps we'll all go that way.
Given the way things are going (a) you'll be the first person who'll be able to afford it and (b) you'll be the only one with a working Toppy Wink
View user's profile Send private message
timnicholls01
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:30 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 07 Oct 2008 Posts: 51 Location: Windsor, Berkshire - Crystal Palace
Samsung HD103SJ 1.0 TB SATA
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002MQC0P8/ref=oss_product
43.99

with

Turbosat PATA/SATA bridge
http://www.turbosat.com/products/BRIDGE-MODULE--PATA-%252d-SATA-.html
18.99 + delivery


Confirmed as working..

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/9/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
nickbailey
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:18 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 4 Location: Southampton, UK
Not working:
StarTech Bi-Directional SATA IDE Adapter Converter
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/189377

It recognised the disk but would not complete the format, just sat there saying it was formatting for an hour.

I'm now successfully using the Turbosat IDE-SATA converter (which is a nice design and worth the few pounds more) combined with a 200GB/7200rpm/8M Samsung spinpoint SP2004C. I know it's nout a huge leap in capacity but my old disk was getting flaky and I had this spare doing not a lot in my desktop.

_________________
--------------------------
www.nickbailey.co.uk
--------------------------
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
sarahstaar
Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:54 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 Jan 2007 Posts: 41 Location: London UK
i would like to fit an ssd just to make my toppy quiet!!

anyone had any luck with any ssds
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
andyfras
Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
sarahstaar wrote:
i would like to fit an ssd just to make my toppy quiet!!

You'd be amazed at how quiet a 'green' SATA drive can be. It's a lot cheaper too.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
swerve
Posted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:22 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 23 Mar 2011 Posts: 17
andyfras wrote:
sarahstaar wrote:
i would like to fit an ssd just to make my toppy quiet!!

You'd be amazed at how quiet a 'green' SATA drive can be. It's a lot cheaper too.


I can second that having just fitted a 1TB WD green drive. I can't hear it at all from a couple of feet away.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/1/12
?
View user's profile Send private message
aramil
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Jun 2006 Posts: 649 Location: Worcester, UK ; TX:Malvern Central
Just to add one i have been using for over a month now:

Samsung HD105LJ 500 GB SATA

_________________
Toppy: TF5810; 500Gb spinpoint HDD (Lycom IDE-Sata);Fan Cooled; AI=Off, TS=On;
Firmware: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +CbCfCtDFsRtScStTaUUcUuUxVbXpZ;
PC OS: Fedora 14-64bit / Windows 8 Pro-64bit; TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo 5.6RC1; MHEG On/Off A3.
View user's profile Send private message
dvbgeek
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2007 Posts: 168 Location: Sweden
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB, model number WD5000AAKB, possibly hit-and-miss.

I know this is in the "Working" table already, but I have recently upgraded my TF5700PVRt HDMI with this disk, and I am having problems with it.

The issue I'm encountering since the upgrade is that while the box correctly reports the disk as being 500GB and also correctly calculates remaining space, when recording the box says "Disk is full" and aborts the recording or freezes up. Even though when looking in the archive, it correctly states that I have some 93% free space on the disk.

Has anyone else seen similar symptoms and more importantly, is there a fix?

_________________
Model: TF5700PVRt HDMI (ID 13426) / Firmware: 2.84 with recommended patches

Autoload TAPs: Power Down / TF5000Display / eit2mei - mei2archive - DescriptionExtender / MyStuff / TAP Commander (always the latest version of everything)
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
Did you format the disc in the Toppy (rather than outside using tools such as TopfHDRW)? If not then do it!
Also it'd be wise to use the shorter section (that fits) of an 80-wire master-slave IDE cable (as opposed to the original short 40-wire cable). If you can find a short 80-wire IDE cable (no longer than 30 cm) then that'll do but they are difficult to find. The 80-wire is (earth) shielded and provides better signal transmission. You can either leave the extra section or cut it off - very carefully - with a sharp knife or a pair of scissors.
View user's profile Send private message
dvbgeek
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Apr 2007 Posts: 168 Location: Sweden
Yeah, the Toppy asked to format the disk when I first put it in, so that should be OK. MyStuff shows the disk correctly, it's just timer recordings that are unreliable (if the box is on, it works, but if it's off, the disk is reported as being full once the box has booted up). Regular one-off recordings while the box is on, work fine. You don't suppose it has something to do with MyStuff?
I will try switching the IDE cable.

EDIT: The IDE cable switch did not work. One cable had a pin "blocked" and so didn't fit into the Toppy motherboard, and the other didn't accept the drive on either of the connectors (the drive was set to master, and there was no "shorter" section of that particular cable). So I'm back on the original 40-wire.

_________________
Model: TF5700PVRt HDMI (ID 13426) / Firmware: 2.84 with recommended patches

Autoload TAPs: Power Down / TF5000Display / eit2mei - mei2archive - DescriptionExtender / MyStuff / TAP Commander (always the latest version of everything)
View user's profile Send private message
per-Sony-fied
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Jan 2007 Posts: 121 Location: Essex
IS the spin speed for a new larger drive fitted to a TF5800 important?
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
It's better to go for a slower speed, ideally 5400 rpm. It is quieter and uses less power. High data speed is not necessary in a Toppy.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andy___
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:21 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 03 Sep 2011 Posts: 47 Location: Stirling
I have a WD20EARX 2TB drive connected with a Turbosat connector. Unfortunately I've had problems with stability. The previous drive was stable before I decided I need more storage space. I'll try and paste the original capacitor voltages below. With the Turbosat converter I could get reasonable functionality but the box would sometimes lock or crash. I retested the capacitors and they were a bit out of spec. I replaced 13 of them on the PSU using a kit from Andy Fraser. [He provided an excellent service by the way. I highly recommend him. He couldn't have been more helpful]. The post capacitor changing voltages were a bit puzzling but they didn't give me too much worry.

I had a couple of recordings fail the other night: "Dr Alice Roberts: Don't Die Young" on Really; and "Brainiac" on PickTV. The first one recorded the first few minutes but there was nothing of the 2nd recording. I'm using Mystuff and it reports 10.9MB free and the temperature of the drive is 115 (I guess that's F so about 46oC).

The error message was "Hard disk full" or something similar. There's about 1.9TB free. It was doing this before the capacitor change. It also sometimes crashed when transferring files with Antares and some files refuse to copy more than about half way.

I've tried to look at the drive using a USB caddy but it can't get my laptop to read it. Is there an idiots' guide somewhere? It might be a driver problem. Actually the vista laptop recognised the name and model of the HDD in the caddy and offered to format it. It wasn't assigned a drive letter nor could I read any data from it. I also tried TFtool which is not supposed to have the TB restriction according to http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18829&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0 but couldn't see anything with that either. I had no problems reading the original PATA drive in the caddy.

It sound to me like a similar to the one dvbgeek was having. Does anyone have any experience of this problem or any ideas on what to try next?

Capacitor Readings:
Nominal
5
12
30
24
17
8
5
3.3
15

original drive
5.12
12.47
30.7
24.8
17.16
7.68
5.11
3.32
15.72

2TB drive
5.1
12.7
31.1
25.1
17.34
7.66
5.09
3.32
15.88

2TB with new capacitors on PSU
4.99
11.83
32.1
26.1
17.76
7.46
4.98
3.32
16.3

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (MyInfo B5.6); MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 11/10/14
? 2TB HDD, 12V fan with series resistor, Harmony 555 remote. DigitalStream HD PVR. W8 x64
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum