Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  Aldi Wireless USB Hub

Page 1 of 9
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
shenson
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 568
This Wireless Hub from Aldi looks interesting. Presumably it runs linux internally and it might be possibly to get root access somehow. Think I'll get one to play with if they have any left.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+EvEzMPeUUuWf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9; PruneEPG 1.0;
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
birdman
Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:05 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
shenson wrote:
Think I'll get one to play with if they have any left.
It says it's for next Thursday...

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
thesaint
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Apr 2005 Posts: 366 Location: Darlington
shenson wrote:
This Wireless Hub from Aldi looks interesting. Presumably it runs linux internally and it might be possibly to get root access somehow. Think I'll get one to play with if they have any left.

Got one of these today and it works fine so far with topfield tools, saves me transporting my laptop to update the toppy, also has a connection for sound from the pc via headphones if required, more experimentation required.
Phil

_________________
the saint

TF5800[/b], F/W: MS6.4 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 +CwFmOtTdVr
TAPs: Archive v1.0a; MyStuff 6.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B4.0; EIT Sub v0.6;

Models TF5800 x 3, 2 x160gB Black & 1 xSilver
View user's profile Send private message
thesaint
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Apr 2005 Posts: 366 Location: Darlington
Might need some pointers here or some confirmation others are getting the same thing but I can transfer files off the toppy but it wont work the other way round wirelessly, it puts the filename on the toppy but at 0kb,s and comes up with an error message. Anyone with this unit seeing the same thing?. Also tried a usb drive attached and it reads and writes to it (different usb driver) but the write garbles the file so it looks as though this is going back as a failure.

_________________
the saint

TF5800[/b], F/W: MS6.4 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 +CwFmOtTdVr
TAPs: Archive v1.0a; MyStuff 6.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B4.0; EIT Sub v0.6;

Models TF5800 x 3, 2 x160gB Black & 1 xSilver
View user's profile Send private message
Darucla
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Jun 2007 Posts: 1544
It's fairly amazing that it works straight out the box to connect to the Topfield at all. It probably needs some tweaking a la Slug and Asus to do more, but it looks as if it should be trivial for a Linux savvy person. It works the same way with FTP-Topfield as well, AFAICS.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
thesaint
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Apr 2005 Posts: 366 Location: Darlington
Darucla wrote:
It's fairly amazing that it works straight out the box to connect to the Topfield at all. It probably needs some tweaking a la Slug and Asus to do more, but it looks as if it should be trivial for a Linux savvy person. It works the same way with FTP-Topfield as well, AFAICS.

Yes that maybe but as far as i am concerned it doesnt work straight out of the box because it wont write to the toppy, it wont write to a self powered usb drive and it wont write to a powered usb drive. In fact it corrupted a file completely on the powered usb so will now have to try and recover it.
Phil

_________________
the saint

TF5800[/b], F/W: MS6.4 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 +CwFmOtTdVr
TAPs: Archive v1.0a; MyStuff 6.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B4.0; EIT Sub v0.6;

Models TF5800 x 3, 2 x160gB Black & 1 xSilver
View user's profile Send private message
Rich
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 523
Ive just got one of these, and although my topfield shows up in the connections, my topfeild still will not connect to my p.c at all.

_________________
disk : samsung spinpoint 400GB
firmware 5.13.65
Taps:
UK timers v1.2, UK Oz Surfer v0.11d, RadTV 0.2, Power restore V0.7.3, EPG Navigator+UK autoscheduler Tap Comander v1.0.1, TF5000 Display V1.39, Description extend 2.1, Improbox V2.1 RC15c
View user's profile Send private message
shenson
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 568
Got one today and all I can say so far is WOW. Amazing little device. I've not done much with it yet but you my exclamation is caused by being able telnet into it with the default password and get Linux root access!!!!

Quote:

# cat cpuinfo
system type : Ralink SoC
processor : 0
cpu model : MIPS 24K V4.12
BogoMIPS : 255.48
wait instruction : yes
microsecond timers : yes
tlb_entries : 32
extra interrupt vector : yes
hardware watchpoint : yes
ASEs implemented : mips16 dsp
VCED exceptions : not available
VCEI exceptions : not available

# cat meminfo
MemTotal: 29996 kB
MemFree: 18104 kB
Buffers: 0 kB
Cached: 5980 kB
SwapCached: 0 kB
Active: 3164 kB
Inactive: 3496 kB
SwapTotal: 0 kB
SwapFree: 0 kB
Dirty: 0 kB
Writeback: 0 kB
AnonPages: 712 kB
Mapped: 556 kB
Slab: 3472 kB
SReclaimable: 504 kB
SUnreclaim: 2968 kB
PageTables: 176 kB
NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
Bounce: 0 kB
CommitLimit: 14996 kB

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+EvEzMPeUUuWf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9; PruneEPG 1.0;
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
R2-D2
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
thesaint wrote:
Yes that maybe but as far as i am concerned it doesnt work straight out of the box because it wont write to the toppy, it wont write to a self powered usb drive and it wont write to a powered usb drive.

I wonder if you've just got a duff one? The thing is, there's pretty much zero difference (in comms terms) between downloading from the Toppy and uploading to it (there are the same packets flying backwards and forwards for both, the only real difference being the size of the data included in some of them).

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
birdman
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:57 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
R2-D2 wrote:
The thing is, there's pretty much zero difference (in comms terms) between downloading from the Toppy and uploading to it
And if the Toppy has created a file of the name you gave it then it *has* written to the Toppy.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Darucla wrote:
It's fairly amazing that it works straight out the box to connect to the Topfield at all.
Not really. It shows up on the USB bus, and all of the interaction with it is done in an application. It's a MIPS chip, so that Asus/NSLU2 code works on it.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:05 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
shenson wrote:
Got one today and all I can say so far is WOW. Amazing little device.
What OS release is it running? Which kernel? (i.e. what does uname -a say).

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
shenson
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:14 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 568
The NSLU2 is ARM not MIPS. uname isn't compiled into busybox but cat /proc/version says:

Quote:
Linux version 2.6.21 (eason@eason-linux) (gcc version 3.4.2) #35 Mon Feb 8 11:25:57 CST 2010

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+EvEzMPeUUuWf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9; PruneEPG 1.0;
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Darucla
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:42 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Jun 2007 Posts: 1544
Using Windows Vista 32, go into Firewall Settings and allow Distibuted Transaction Co-ordinator. On my system this then allows FTPTopfield and an FTP client to work with the Topfield in exactly the same way as if the PC were connected directly to the 5800 by USB. Although slower.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
PeteY
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:03 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Dec 2006 Posts: 164 Location: Lombardy, Italy
Has anybody tried talking to this thing with anything other than a windows machine? Does it require windows drivers, or does it run a samba server (or ftp or something) for access to attached usb drives? I'm using a Mac, but there are linux and windows machines in the house too.

_________________
Toppy: TF5800PVR 250GB Firmware: 1365 Patched
No TAPs ATM
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 9
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum