Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Freeview retune issues

Page 27 of 27
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 25, 26, 27
bugbear
Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 11:31 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Sep 2007 Posts: 227
gomezz wrote:
What MUXes does the Toppy try to tune after using FastScanGUI?


FastScanGUI didn't appear to "know" anything about this latest freq change, so, having looked at (and only half understood) it's interface, I didn't proceed.

BugBear

_________________
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bugbear
Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 11:33 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Sep 2007 Posts: 227
andyfras wrote:
For the Tacolneston transmitter, try manually tuning RF C39. This mux moved yesterday, so FastScanGUI will be unaware of it.

If your aerial is quite old (from analogue era), it is probably a Group C/D which will have a poor response at C39, so you may need to upgrade to a Group E aerial (or wideband for future compatibility with Com7 & Com8).


Well, the Sony telly-box picked it up, so there's some hope.

I assume by manual tune, you mean the basic toppy built in one?

BugBear

_________________
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 11:46 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
bugbear wrote:
I assume by manual tune, you mean the basic toppy built in one?
If you've previously used FastScanGUI, it will remember which muxes to use.

To get it to forget, Factory reset, Reboot, and Factory reset again, then tune.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 2:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4196
The tables in FastScanGUI are out-of-date.
Suggest you use TopManager or ChannelOrganiser.

Alternatively, if you want to stick with FastScanGUI, google for the muxes that you need to use and run it in Manual mode (I have previously patched the tap on my PC to use the number I wanted but now I just use TopManager)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bugbear
Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 6:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Sep 2007 Posts: 227
juwlz wrote:
bugbear wrote:
I assume by manual tune, you mean the basic toppy built in one?
If you've previously used FastScanGUI, it will remember which muxes to use.

To get it to forget, Factory reset, Reboot, and Factory reset again, then tune.

Julie


Yes, this was (indeed) the problem.

I spotted it when trying to do a manual retune (in basic toppy mode) and noting than only 6 frequencies were available to choose from.

I worked round it by manually adding ALL the frequencies in FastScanGUI.

I now have many channels Smile

Edit; as a service to anyone searching this thread:

http://www.ukfree.tv/txdetail.php?a=TM131958

currently shows C55, C59, C50, C42, C45, C39.

BugBear

_________________
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bugbear
Posted: Tue May 14, 2013 7:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Sep 2007 Posts: 227
andyfras wrote:
For the Tacolneston transmitter, try manually tuning RF C39. This mux moved yesterday, so FastScanGUI will be unaware of it.

If your aerial is quite old (from analogue era), it is probably a Group C/D which will have a poor response at C39, so you may need to upgrade to a Group E aerial (or wideband for future compatibility with Com7 & Com8).


I have a green cap on my aeriel, so (yes) it's Group C/D.

But my toppy is happily reporting 99/99 strength and quality for Film 4.

So no aerial upgrade needed Smile

BugBear

_________________
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DX
Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 1:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 2694
The gain on C/D aerials does drop off a bit at lower frequencies compared to a wideband but isn't anything like the cliff edge you get on A or B. At channel 39 a C/D is probably only a few db down on a wideband.

There are some gain curves here if you are interested

http://www.aerialsandtv.com/gaincurves.html
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 27 of 27
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 25, 26, 27

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum