Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  SATA-IDE converters, working and non-working models

Page 2 of 18
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next
dairyman
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:12 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 9
[quote="buggy"]
buggy wrote:
The Newlink does have a very short IDE cable which would allow it to flop over and avoid the clearance problem.


A warning on the Newlink connector. I received mine on Friday but to my horror it wasn't as pictured - if you check the link, it says, in tiny grey writing, that the product may not match the image. What I got was a sealed black plastic unit, with no ribbon. It stands upright, with the 40 holes at one end and the SATA / power ports at the other. Plugged directly into the Toppy motherboard, it stands higher than the case height, even with nothing plugged in.
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
@dairyman

See this link:

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15819

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
dairyman wrote:
Plugged directly into the Toppy motherboard, it stands higher than the case height, even with nothing plugged in.
And it uses a chipset that is not compatible with the Toppy's IDE.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dairyman
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:07 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 9
ryclark wrote:


Thank you!!
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
I have now updated the first post in this thread to include a warning about the Newlink adapter form factor.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
Bob_Swede wrote:
I have now updated the first post in this thread to include a warning about the Newlink adapter form factor.
There's nothing wrong with the Newlink adapter -- it's just that Aria are selling other, incompatible adapters using the Newlink picture, manufacturer code and links from previous orders of the Newlink.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bob_Swede
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
R2-D2 wrote:
Bob_Swede wrote:
I have now updated the first post in this thread to include a warning about the Newlink adapter form factor.
There's nothing wrong with the Newlink adapter -- it's just that Aria are selling other, incompatible adapters using the Newlink picture, manufacturer code and links from previous orders of the Newlink.

R2-D2 thanks for the pointer!
I have now modified the warning to direct it towards Aria instead.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
Added link to CDL Micro for the Newlink adapter.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
smounteney
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:23 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Nov 2009 Posts: 2
Hi all

I want to upgrade my TF5800 160GB disk as I have a bunch of new 500/750 & 1TB SATA disks

I have been looking for a suitable adapter and at the moment I wonder if the Sunplus chipset would work. I have found a very reasonable item on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=400061861015&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:GB:1123

The seller confirmed sunplus but not a chip number. Any ideas if this could work?

Thanks in advance

Simon
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
No, that is the wrong way around. It is to convert an IDE drive to work on a SATA motherboard. You need SATA drive to IDE motherboard converter. Best to stick with those listed above that are known to work with the Toppy.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
smounteney
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:05 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Nov 2009 Posts: 2
Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
WWWombat
Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:37 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 23 Nov 2008 Posts: 33 Location: Harrogate, North Yorks (Emley Moor transmitter)
For UK buyers, I'd like to confirm that Ebuyer UK stocks the Startech IDE2SAT device, which matches #10 on the images at the start of the thread.

It is quickfind # 145964, or link http://www.ebuyer.com/product/145964. Currently 17.

The board comes with a power adapter just like image #3, so you don't need to buy anything else for the power.



In my 5800, the existing IDE cable was too short, so I followed other advice and installed a proper Ultra-IDE cable (80 way, with the extra ground wires). Like others, I found that this needed to be fitted the "wrong" way around, with the end that would normally go into a motherboard actually fitted into the hard disk.

And again, like others, I found that I needed to drill out the masked polarisation pin for the end that was actually fitted to the Toppy's board.

Installation was paired with a Samsung Ecogreen F2 1.5TB HD154UI. That runs very cool, and pretty quiet - idle noise is about the same as the original 160GB Samsung drive, but seek is slightly noiser, even after using the HDD Info TAP to alter the settings and reduce the seek noise.

This has been in and working for a week now, with MyStuff now installed and rapidly filling things up. All looking good, and I'd be happy to go with those choices again...

Mike

_________________
Tap versions probably out of date! TF5800: TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+CfCtIPePsZ
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
PSU: All capacitors replaced Jan 2014. HD: WD Green 2TB SATA: StarTech IDE2SAT.
Sig partially generated by MyInfo
View user's profile Send private message
k0sh
Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:54 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 31 Mar 2008 Posts: 8
Hi,

Has anyone tried this one from deal extreme? http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12537

One reviewer says it works with the topfield

I have ordered it and will try it with a 1tb or 1.5tb samsung
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
k0sh wrote:
Hi,

Has anyone tried this one from deal extreme? http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12537

One reviewer says it works with the Topfield

I have ordered it and will try it with a 1tb or 1.5tb samsung

Seems like this is not using the Marvell chip, so it might not work with the Toppy. So far it seems like only adapters based on the Marvell chip has been reported as working with the Toppy.

If you succeed with this one, please report back and I will add it to the list in the first message on this thread.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:47 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
Bob_Swede wrote:
Seems like this is not using the Marvell chip, so it might not work with the Toppy. So far it seems like only adapters based on the Marvell chip has been reported as working with the Toppy.
That is not true. Some Sunplus have been successful too. In fact the earlier adapters used were Sunplus. As always, with a new gadget, you just have to suck it and see. Not all Marvels work in the Toppy. Similarly there's no guarantee that Sunplus would work either.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 18
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum