Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Freeview, TopUp and TV  ~  Virgin 1 goes 24h and FIVER and Five USA move

Page 1 of 4
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
jondurant
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:33 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 19 Jun 2006 Posts: 90
From 20th May Virgin 1 will be boradcasting for 24 hours on Freeview. It's staying on channel 20 but moving multiplexes.

From 12th May Fiver moves to channel 30, Five USA moves to channel 31

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +CbCfCtEmEvEzFsMPePsUUuVbVcVyXZ
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; Goldfish 0.4; SDS V1.3e; MyInfo B5.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/5/10
View user's profile Send private message
andrec
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:20 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 1349 Location: Bristol, U.K.
And the capacity currently used by Virgin 1 on Mux D will be used for a 'new' channel - Virgin 1+1.

There's also a change coming up on Thursday 30 April - UKTV Style is rebranding as 'Home'.

This and Virgin 1+1 will require new logos, so don't think this is last you have heard from me Shocked Cool .

(Nice to see someone new monitoring and reporting the changes Smile ).

_________________
André Coutanche
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gomezz
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3988 Location: Buckingham
andrec wrote:
And the capacity currently used by Virgin 1 on Mux D will be used for a 'new' channel - Virgin 1+1.

So the +1 channel will *not* be full time?

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andrec
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:14 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 1349 Location: Bristol, U.K.
gomezz wrote:
andrec wrote:
And the capacity currently used by Virgin 1 on Mux D will be used for a 'new' channel - Virgin 1+1.

So the +1 channel will *not* be full time?

That's correct, according to the reports.

_________________
André Coutanche
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:02 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
Don't forget that since a rescan will be necessary, due to the mux change, you must make sure you have a firmware that includes the NITfix, otherwise you won't get channels on the right numbers.

And you can get an appropriate firmware installed very easily, via the new firmware downloads page.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gyles
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:01 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 13 Nov 2006 Posts: 68
andrec wrote:
on Thursday 30 April - UKTV Style is rebranding as 'Home'.

jondurant wrote:
From 20th May Virgin 1 will be moving multiplexes.

From 12th May Fiver moves to channel 30, Five USA moves to channel 31


Is it beyond the wit of man to synchronise these things?
View user's profile Send private message
andrec
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 1349 Location: Bristol, U.K.
gyles wrote:
andrec wrote:
on Thursday 30 April - UKTV Style is rebranding as 'Home'.
jondurant wrote:
From 20th May Virgin 1 will be moving multiplexes.
From 12th May Fiver moves to channel 30, Five USA moves to channel 31

Is it beyond the wit of man to synchronise these things?

Possibly not - but it may well be beyond the wit of the market. Don't forget that commercial muxes are privately - and separately - owned ...

_________________
André Coutanche
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
redgshost
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:54 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 08 Feb 2007 Posts: 52
I realise there is an RSS feed for the forum but would it be possible to set up an RSS feed for just the items that will need activity for most people, like rescan. Just an idea and I have absolutely no idea what is involved technically so it may not be possible.

Thanks for the great site.

Ged
View user's profile Send private message
chunkywizard
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:20 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 9319 Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
you can watch those topics and get emails when a post is made. Is that good enough?

CW

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
toodeep
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Apr 2005 Posts: 282
Quote:
Don't forget that since a rescan will be necessary


Hardly Wink
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:56 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3988 Location: Buckingham
Hardly in that you will not forget or hardly in that a re-scan is not *absolutely* necessary? Confused

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
toodeep
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:14 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Apr 2005 Posts: 282
The latter. Not rescanning effectively turns Virgin 1 into Virgin 1+1. In any case, TSCC will be done by then!
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:27 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
I'd maintain that, for people who want things to work properly, yes a rescan is necessary.

You may end up with V1+1 on the existing V1 stream, but aside from programmes being an hour out, you'll also run the risk of any automated searches no longer working, depending on how you've defined them.

Depending on whether the existing stream is simply renamed, or has other of its parameters altered too, it may not automatically spring to life on un-scanned boxes.

Simplest advice for users who aren't technical is to rescan if there is a mux change involved.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
toodeep
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Apr 2005 Posts: 282
Nigel is right, of course.
View user's profile Send private message
glenmcfar
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:49 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Dec 2006 Posts: 4519 Location: Dundonald, Ayrshire, Scotland
And remember that when Virgin 1 moves it will be moving to a 24hr stream.

Glen.

_________________
H/W: TF5800 | URC-7555 | Asus | Best Firmware Ever!
A/S: SecCacheUK, EitSub, EPG2MEI, Display, Extend, QuickJump, FontManager, TapLauncher, MyStuff
T/L: TapCommander, Surfer, MeiSearch, MediaManager | HDFW, CutAds, Sudoku
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 4
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum