Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Toppy.org.uk recommended firmwares

Page 6 of 8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
panaman
Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
Just to let you know I have reflashed my firmware again and added [Ab] & [De]. Although not needed, I have done another factory reset and scan, just because I am me Laughing

Today all my recordings I set worked, so I am keeping my fingers crossed that my Toppy is going to go back to its usual wonderful self.

A big thank you to everyone who has been so patient with me and helped me sort my problem out.

Steve

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:00 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
panaman wrote:
Just to let you know I have reflashed my firmware again and added [Ab] & [De]. Although not needed, I have done another factory reset and scan, just because I am me Laughing
... and deleted the nameless and duplicate and unwanted channels, I hope.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
panaman
Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
juwlz wrote:
panaman wrote:
Just to let you know I have reflashed my firmware again and added [Ab] & [De]. Although not needed, I have done another factory reset and scan, just because I am me Laughing
... and deleted the nameless and duplicate and unwanted channels, I hope.


I have deleted the 1000 channel, but I wasn't sure about deleting 27 & the funny News one, but I guess I can now you have mentioned it Very Happy

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
panaman
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
Sorry I don't know where I should be posting this as I have had help from more than one place, but as this was the last place I have been help I thought I would try here first. I have just got back from being out this afternoon and all timers I set had recorded ok, but I have just seen one fail before my eyes.

It was recording BBC1 Strictly and Harry Hill on ITV with X Factor due to record straight after Harry Hill on ITV.

I changed the channel to BBC2 as I didn't want to see what was being recorded. I went out to the kitchen to get a drink and heard the channel change to ITV, so I thought it was getting ready to record X Factor, but the program didn't begin recording. I waited a minute or two just in case, but it didn't start, so I started it manually. X Factor followed immediately after Harry Hill. They were both set via UKAS.

I am getting really desperate as there seems to be absolutely no pattern to what is going on. PLEASE can you help me, what are my options - would it be worth using ALTAIR to delete every file, except of course the Data (.rec) Files (my precious recordings) or the more drastic & daunting job of pulling the drive out, wiping it and starting everything from fresh??? If I delete everything via ALTAIR are there any files that link with the Data (.rec) files or are they totally independant?

I can't believe the timing of this so close to my holiday. It seems to have started last weekend after the clock change.

Below is the last part of my FPLog if it helps.

18:49:04 Started sending timer : 18:51 (1, 2009-10-31)
18:49:19 Stopped sending timer : 18:49
18:50:04 Started sending timer : 19:27 (1, 2009-10-31)
18:50:05 Timer has been deleted: 2009-10-31 18:50 Strictly Come Dancing.rec
18:50:19 Stopped sending timer : 18:51
18:50:58 New time: 18:50:58 (1, 2009-10-31)
18:52:01 New time: 18:52:01 (1, 2009-10-31)
19:27:02 Started sending timer : 19:29 (1, 2009-10-31)
19:27:17 Stopped sending timer : 19:27
19:28:17 Started sending timer : 19:30 (1, 2009-10-31)
19:28:17 Stopped sending timer : 19:29
19:28:23 Started sending timer : 19:59 (1, 2009-10-31)
19:28:28 Timer has been deleted: 2009-10-31 19:28 Harry Hill's TV Burp.rec
19:28:37 Stopped sending timer : 19:30
19:47:51 Stopped sending timer : 19:59
19:47:51 Started sending timer : 19:59 (1, 2009-10-31)
19:59:01 Started sending timer : 20:01 (1, 2009-10-31)
19:59:16 Stopped sending timer : 19:59
20:00:01 Started sending timer : 20:02 (1, 2009-10-31)
20:00:11 Started sending timer : 21:42 (1, 2009-10-31)
20:00:12 Timer has been deleted: 2009-10-31 20:00 The X Factor.rec
20:00:16 Stopped sending timer : 20:01
20:00:26 Stopped sending timer : 20:02


Last edited by panaman on Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:06 pm; edited 2 times in total

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
panaman wrote:
X followed immediately after Harry Hill.
Is that the common theme? Consecutive timers on the same channel? Does the Extend.log just show nothing for X Factor at all, like the other times?

If you weren't present when these things happen then maybe there's a native prompt. Either the 3-way clash or the duplicated recording on the same channel -- both will dump the timer if you don't respond.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
panaman
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 11:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
R2-D2 wrote:
panaman wrote:
X followed immediately after Harry Hill.
Is that the common theme? Consecutive timers on the same channel? Does the Extend.log just show nothing for X Factor at all, like the other times?

If you weren't present when these things happen then maybe there's a native prompt. Either the 3-way clash or the duplicated recording on the same channel -- both will dump the timer if you don't respond.


Thanks for replying so quickly.

We believe this also happened on Friday - When recording "Tonight" at 8pm on ITV1 followed by Coronation Street at 8:30pm Coronation Street didn't record. The Toppy was still recoding Eastenders on BBC1 until 6 mins past. We were not 100% sure as we have been setting and deleting so many test timers.

Tonights was a consecutive timer on the same channel (ITV1), whilst again still recording BBC1. Consecutive timers on the same channel is something we set a lot, so cannot understand why it has started now. Could the bug of been introduced since my update last weekend?

I did not see any on screen message about needing to change channel, but not really sure why it needed to change from BBC2 as it was already recording ITV.

My Extend Log is below - I think I have given you enough to see what you need.

Thanks

-
- 2009-10-31 18:49:00 (0d 2h 51m 53s) -
RS: 1) end (18:50+0/-115), event transition on LCN 1 from bbf7 to bbf8
(18:50-20:45) [Strictly Come Dancing]
=RS: 1) *END SIGNAL* no extension
-
- 2009-10-31 18:50:10 (0d 2h 53m 3s) -
-RS: 1) stopped OK
*RS: 1) REC ts=1003 svc=1043 [LCN 1] (PB) Strictly Come Dancing.rec
[18:50 31/10 - 20:51 31/10 ( 2:01)]
-
- 2009-10-31 18:50:20 (0d 2h 53m 13s) -
RS: 1) end (20:51+0/0), curr event bbf8 on LCN 1
(18:50-20:45) [Strictly Come Dancing]
-
- 2009-10-31 19:28:30 (0d 3h 31m 23s) -
*RS: 0) REC ts=200e svc=204e [LCN 3] (PA) Harry Hill's TV Burp.rec
[19:28 31/10 - 20:00 31/10 ( 0:32)]
-
- 2009-10-31 19:28:40 (0d 3h 31m 33s) -
RS: 0) end (20:00+0/30), curr event 138d on LCN 3
(19:00-19:30) [New You've Been Framed!]
-
- 2009-10-31 19:30:10 (0d 3h 33m 3s) -
RS: 0) end (20:00+0/0), event transition on LCN 3 from 138d to 9826
(19:30-20:00) [Harry Hill's TV Burp]
-
- 2009-10-31 19:59:00 (0d 4h 1m 53s) -
RS: 0) ending soon (20:00+0/0) on LCN 3 [Harry Hill's TV Burp.rec]
Extend: counting clashes of 20:01 against 39 timers
Extend: 2 (2) clashes found and dup channel
-
- 2009-10-31 20:00:30 (0d 4h 3m 23s) -
-RS: 0) stopped OK
-
- 2009-10-31 20:02:00 (0d 4h 4m 53s) -
!RS: 0) manual (instant) recording -- ignoring
-
- 2009-10-31 20:02:10 (0d 4h 5m 3s) -
!RS: 0) manual (instant) recording -- ignoring
-
- 2009-10-31 20:02:20 (0d 4h 5m 13s) -
-RS: 0) stopped OK
-
- 2009-10-31 20:02:50 (0d 4h 5m 43s) -
!RS: 0) manual (instant) recording -- ignoring
-
- 2009-10-31 20:48:00 (0d 4h 50m 53s) -
RS: 1) end (20:51+0/-10), event transition on LCN 1 from bbf8 to bbf9
(20:45-20:55) [The National Lottery Draws]
=RS: 1) *END SIGNAL* no extension
-
- 2009-10-31 20:51:10 (0d 4h 54m 3s) -
-RS: 1) stopped OK
-
- 2009-10-31 21:43:10 (0d 5h 46m 3s) -
*RS: 1) REC ts=200e svc=2085 [LCN 6] (PB) The Xtra Factor.rec
[21:43 31/10 - 22:51 31/10 ( 1:0Cool]
-
- 2009-10-31 21:43:20 (0d 5h 46m 13s) -
RS: 1) end (22:51+0/0), curr event 46a9 on LCN 6
(21:45-22:45) [The Xtra Factor]
-
- 2009-10-31 21:46:50 (0d 5h 49m 43s) -
-RS: 0) stopped OK

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:45 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
panaman wrote:
I did not see any on screen message about needing to change channel, but not really sure why it needed to change from BBC2 as it was already recording ITV.
Ah... the second ITV timer wasn't set as a watch timer, was it? That would explain things.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
panaman
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:13 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
R2-D2 wrote:
panaman wrote:
I did not see any on screen message about needing to change channel, but not really sure why it needed to change from BBC2 as it was already recording ITV.
Ah... the second ITV timer wasn't set as a watch timer, was it? That would explain things.


No the second ITV channel was set to record.

We did another test last night. Had one channel recording and the other channel recording two consecutive programs and everything worked frine.... so pattern to it

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
panaman wrote:
No the second ITV channel was set to record.
What exactly was the native prompt which ended up changing the channel? I'm sure that's a clue.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
panaman
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
R2-D2 wrote:
panaman wrote:
No the second ITV channel was set to record.
What exactly was the native prompt which ended up changing the channel? I'm sure that's a clue.


I was in the kitchen getting a drink when I heard the Toppy change channel, so I didn't see if there was a message before it changed.

At the moment I am in the middle of transferring all my my .rec files to my Netbook via USB. I had a good clear out of programs so I don't have half as much stuff to copy. I am then going to do a format of HDD, factory reset/scan and just load in the TAPS which I currently use. Hopefully this will be a good starting point if the problem reoccurs.

Thanks

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
Another thing to try is a test with SignalMonitor. But it would be good if you could reproduce the issue and see whether there's a native prompt before the recording fails to start.

There's also the outside possibility that your timers are being set for a specific tuner (for whatever reason).

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
panaman
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
R2-D2 wrote:
Another thing to try is a test with SignalMonitor. But it would be good if you could reproduce the issue and see whether there's a native prompt before the recording fails to start.

There's also the outside possibility that your timers are being set for a specific tuner (for whatever reason).


I know there was definitely no on screen promps on Friday when the 8:30 Coronation street started.

I think what you say about my timers trying to record from a particular tuner could be getting nearer to what is happening, so hopefully my wipe will sort that out.

Thanks

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
dgc188
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 3:25 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 45 Location: S Yorkshire (Tx: Emley Moor)
For what it's worth - I've also been having problems with ITV1 and recording - Coronation Street, for one, and something else - can't recall what - I just hit instant record and forgot about it thinking it was the "iffy" 14.09+ - though not had any problems with 14.09+ since it went in my box many months ago - but then I don't run any TAPs either, so maybe that has something to do with "my" reliable version of the F/W! Shame some of the patches don't work (probably do for 13.65 but that's progress!). Probably just ITV1 doing their own thing and scuppering the codes somewhere. (Belmont Tx).

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: Buggy Series Link F/W 14/4/2009 -Xl+B2DsEzHsIMPePfPsR2TfUUuVrXp
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6;
View user's profile Send private message
panaman
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 412 Location: Southampton
I have just finished transferring all mt TAPS & .rec files back (just over 12.5GB) after giving it a format, default setting etc.

Fingers crossed Very Happy

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
TAPs: Media Manager 1.5; Extend v1.7; Goldfish 0.5; QuickJump 1.72; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/11/09
View user's profile Send private message
AndyPunit
Posted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 3:44 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 01 Jun 2008 Posts: 1 Location: Portsmouth
Hi,

I notice that Topfield have had an updated firmware on their website for the last few weeks which I assume implements the updates mentioned in the News section on this website. Do you know if it has been tested and is fit for use please?
It would be notice to have standard software that does what it is supposed to.

We have 5800.

Thank you.

_________________
Have fun,

Andy
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 6 of 8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum