Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAP and patch development  ~  Toppy Updater - Version X7c Now Available

Page 9 of 12
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
EMJB
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 8:26 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3632 Location: Maldon Essex
juwlz wrote:
If it's Vista, it could be a write-permissions problem - i.e. TU doesn't have write access to the folder it's trying to download to - does TU distinguish between the connection failing and the transfer failing? It does say it's the transfer that's failed, which could mean it just couldn't save the file.

Julie


Hadn't thought of that one - Sounds a real possibility. Suggest trying right click in Explorer, and select "Run as Admiinistrator" option.

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
Toppy-boj
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 4:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Jan 2006 Posts: 252
No.. all the toppy pieces seems to work ok
eg

CLog file for EMJB's TOPPY UPDATER X6
Started @ 17:08:19 on 08/05/2009

--------------------------

Processing file ToppyUpdaterList_MyStuff.txt
Extracted update details for MyStuff improved UI TAP (Details: MyStuff.tap From:http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/TAPDownload/MyStuff5TapLatest.zip To:!UserDir! Help:http://www.bobdsmystuff.co.uk/)
Extracted update details for Small Logos (Details: smlogo.dat From:http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Logos/logodats.zip To:!UserDir! No help link specified)
Extracted update details for Normal Logos (Details: logo.dat From:http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Logos/logodats.zip To:!UserDir! No help link specified)
Connecting using XP mode
Trying to connect to Toppy @ 17:08:26
Connected successfully to Toppy @ 17:08:27
Starting copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Auto Start/MyStuff.tap @ 17:08:42
Finished copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Auto Start/MyStuff.tap @ 17:08:43
Starting checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\MyStuff.tap @ 17:08:44
Finishing checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\MyStuff.tap @ 17:08:52
Starting copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Settings/Logos/smlogo.dat @ 17:08:53
Finished copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Settings/Logos/smlogo.dat @ 17:08:54
Starting checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\smlogo.dat @ 17:08:54
Finishing checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\smlogo.dat @ 17:09:00
Starting copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Settings/Logos/logo.dat @ 17:09:00
Finished copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Settings/Logos/logo.dat @ 17:09:02
Starting checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\logo.dat @ 17:09:02
Finishing checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\logo.dat @ 17:09:11
Starting internet download of http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/TAPDownload/MyStuff5TapLatest.zip @ 17:09:16
Finished internet download of http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/TAPDownload/MyStuff5TapLatest.zip @ 17:09:16
Unable to find MyStuff.tap in Internet download
Starting internet download of http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Logos/logodats.zip @ 17:09:16
Finished internet download of http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Logos/logodats.zip @ 17:09:16
Unable to find smlogo.dat in Internet download
Unable to find logo.dat in Internet download
Finished @ 17:09:24 on 08/05/2009


folders seem to to be writable as well

as stated before GetDatabase.exe also shows this

Trying to download file database from "http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pcAoxEZjB3tsqw9lZqcpDKA&output=csv"
Transfer failed

have no othther problems with programms that access the internet

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 -Xl+B4C0CwEvEzFmFsIOtPeRtTdVr
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.94; TF5000 Display v1.53; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.0; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TSSaver v0.5; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B4.0; Power Manager v2.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
EMJB
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 5:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3632 Location: Maldon Essex
Toppy-boj wrote:
No.. all the toppy pieces seems to work ok


These may not require write to disc, so don't disprove juwlz's theory. Have you tried running as administrator?

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
Toppy-boj
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 5:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Jan 2006 Posts: 252
found that the temp file had the files copied from Toppy, but before you press continue they are deleted. If once you get to the stage where it say continue, them manually copy the files via altair to the temp dir, then press continue, it will now check up on the internet and download new versions etc


so why is it copying overthe files then deleting imediatly?

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 -Xl+B4C0CwEvEzFmFsIOtPeRtTdVr
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.94; TF5000 Display v1.53; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.0; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TSSaver v0.5; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B4.0; Power Manager v2.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
EMJB
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 6:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3632 Location: Maldon Essex
Toppy-boj wrote:
yep tried running as admisistrator

also using default ini as follows

[Intro]
Aim=This is ini file for TAP Maintainer
Stored:=08/05/2009 17:23:23
[Comms Settings]
Mode=1
[FTP Settings]
IP Field 1=192
IP Field 2=168
IP Field 3= 1
IP Field 4= 77
Server Name=slug
IDType=0
Port= 21
Username=anonymous
Password=password
[Overall Settings]
Auto Mode=0
CheckMode=1
Default Directory=/ProgramFiles/

would this cause a problem?


Those the settings you have chosen (mainly the defaults), and there is nothing internet related in there.

Are you already logged on to you ISP before running Updater? If not it will not work.

What browser are you using as your default? If not Internet Explorer, could you please change to IE to see if that clears the problem?

There should be a file called "ToppyUpdaterLog.txt" in the directory from which you ran it. Could you please post any lines begiining with error, plus half a dozen preceeding lines.

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
Toppy-boj
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 6:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Jan 2006 Posts: 252
sorry ammended the post... see here which looks like the problem

found that the temp file had the files copied from Toppy, but before you press continue they are deleted. If once you get to the stage where it say continue, them manually copy the files via altair to the temp dir, then press continue, it will now check up on the internet and download new versions etc


so why is it copying overthe files then deleting imediatly?

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 -Xl+B4C0CwEvEzFmFsIOtPeRtTdVr
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.94; TF5000 Display v1.53; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.0; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TSSaver v0.5; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B4.0; Power Manager v2.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
EMJB
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 6:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3632 Location: Maldon Essex
Toppy-boj wrote:
... so why is it copying overthe files then deleting imediatly?


Was rather confused by your refence to temp files - I think you must mean files in the Temp subdirectory.

It doesn't delete them immediately - it extracts and stores size, date, version & sum check data used in the version comparison, after which it no longer needs the files copied from the Toppy. By deleting them it ensures they are not confused with the ones downloaded into the same place from the internet.

If you copy the files with Altair after they have been deleted, you are putting the Toppy version where the program thinks the internet version should be, it will think the internet download has been successful if it actually failed. In that case it will never detect updates!

I can think of no reason why copying with Altair could make the internet download work. If you were transferring with FTP it might just explain it.

I therefore remain of the view that your problem is in some way related to you internet access.

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
Toppy-boj
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Jan 2006 Posts: 252
cheers....back to square one... any ideas ion internet connection as I say everything else works includes other programmes which access the internet.

is there any ports etc I need enabled

green on this subject Embarassed

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 -Xl+B4C0CwEvEzFmFsIOtPeRtTdVr
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.94; TF5000 Display v1.53; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.0; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TSSaver v0.5; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B4.0; Power Manager v2.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
Toppy-boj
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Jan 2006 Posts: 252
Quote:
Those the settings you have chosen (mainly the defaults), and there is nothing internet related in there.

Are you already logged on to you ISP before running Updater? If not it will not work.

What browser are you using as your default? If not Internet Explorer, could you please change to IE to see if that clears the problem?

There should be a file called "ToppyUpdaterLog.txt" in the directory from which you ran it. Could you please post any lines begiining with error, plus half a dozen preceeding lines.


logged onto ISP permant ADSL link and internet access
IE is default
No error message in "ToppyUpdaterLog.txt"

extract showing intternet download part

Starting copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/InstallerFirmware/Recommended.tfd @ 19:27:13
Finished copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/InstallerFirmware/Recommended.tfd @ 19:27:15
Starting checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\Recommended.tfd @ 19:27:15
Finishing checksum calculation for F:\downloads\ToppyUpdater\TempDir\Recommended.tfd @ 19:27:32
Starting copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Auto Start/MyInfo.tap @ 19:27:32
Finished copy from Toppy for #:/ProgramFiles/Auto Start/MyInfo.tap @ 19:27:32
Starting internet download of http://uk.geocities.com/igjack@btinternet.com/TAP/eit2mei.zip @ 19:27:45
Finished internet download of http://uk.geocities.com/igjack@btinternet.com/TAP/eit2mei.zip @ 19:27:45
Unable to find eit2mei.tap in Internet download
Starting internet download of http://www.toppy.org.uk/~chunkywizard/Firmware/Recommended.tfd @ 19:27:45

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 -Xl+B4C0CwEvEzFmFsIOtPeRtTdVr
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.94; TF5000 Display v1.53; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.0; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TSSaver v0.5; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B4.0; Power Manager v2.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
Toppy-boj
Posted: Sat May 09, 2009 5:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Jan 2006 Posts: 252
definatly a isue with Vista and current compuer. Connected a old xP laptop, download topfield tools and TU, coneected va USB... all works OK.

what can be wrong with Vista?

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 -Xl+B4C0CwEvEzFmFsIOtPeRtTdVr
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.94; TF5000 Display v1.53; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.0; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TSSaver v0.5; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B4.0; Power Manager v2.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sat May 09, 2009 6:09 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10801 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
All the wretched security stuff that's supposed to protect your PC.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EMJB
Posted: Sat May 09, 2009 8:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3632 Location: Maldon Essex
I've not experienced problems with (Home Premium version of) Vista. If you find a solution, let us know in case others have the same problem. The next version will have more logging in the relevant area, which might clarify what is going on.

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
EMJB
Posted: Wed May 13, 2009 5:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3632 Location: Maldon Essex
@Toppy-boj

Do you have a laptop with USB connection to your modem? If so I suspect the problem is something to do with the USB power management (as some have found with thier Toppy connections)

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
Toppy-boj
Posted: Wed May 13, 2009 6:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Jan 2006 Posts: 252
@EMJB
on my main computer with Vista its connected to the router by a lan port. have no issues in using internet etc .... did not work with TU

laptop I used has XP and connected to the router via WiFi - This worked Ok with TU

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 2/6/2009 -Xl+B4C0CwEvEzFmFsIOtPeRtTdVr
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.94; TF5000 Display v1.53; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.0; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TSSaver v0.5; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B4.0; Power Manager v2.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
EMJB
Posted: Wed May 13, 2009 6:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3632 Location: Maldon Essex
Toppy-boj wrote:
@EMJB
on my main computer with Vista its connected to the router by a lan port. have no issues in using internet etc .... did not work with TU

laptop I used has XP and connected to the router via WiFi - This worked Ok with TU


Oh, that was a good theory while it lasted!! Will have to think again!

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 9 of 12
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum