Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  August firmware update now available for download

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:29 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
The August firmware update is now available for download from the Turbosat/Heathrow systems web site.

Details of download links, and other aspects of the update are available in the news story.

If commenting on bugs that have reported or listed as fixed, please use the existing bug threads wherever you can, so that we can keep better track of how people are faring with the update.

Note that if you are using the TF5000 display TAP, you will need to ensure that you have at least version 1.22, which has been reported to work with the new firmware. Earlier versions are known not to work. updated 1940

Nigel.


Last edited by nwhitfield on Fri Sep 09, 2005 1:24 pm; edited 2 times in total

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
meadfoot
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 261
Thanks for this and all the other work you all do.
Very Happy
I look forward to doing my update tonight.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tom
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jul 2005 Posts: 347
Nigel. Keen to upgrade to get Improbox working - skimmed through your upgrade guide - will existing recordings be OK after upgrading and doing a factory reset? As a new user I do not have any favorites or timers pre set. Thanks Tom.
View user's profile Send private message
Tom
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jul 2005 Posts: 347
Sorry - just read the guide again. Recordings safe - to excited to upgrade. SADO me!
View user's profile Send private message
andygrunt
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Aug 2005 Posts: 401 Location: Bristol, UK
Just upgraded and so far, so good Smile

Thought it was mentioning two minor variations to what is said in the otherwise excellent Pdf insctructions.

1 - It's stated in the pdf that the zip containing the firmware upgrade will also contain a text file of notes - this isn't the case, the zip I got only had the .tfd file.

2 - After installing the update, I left the word 'end' flashing on screen while I read the next bit of the PDF. After a few seconds, the Toppy turned itself off and on. The Pdf suggests I needed to turn it off manually. I checked the Firmware number in the menus and sure enough it was 5.12.00
Andy.
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:26 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
Yep; the PDF was written for the last update and then amended. I noticed that the box restarted automatically this time, but I've not had a chance to amend the docuementation - getting ready for my hols tomorrow.

And there's normally a list of what's fixed... hopefully that will come soon. One has been requested.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RobTuck
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 251 Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Is anyone able to host the firmware on their webspace? Ive tried to download it 6 times now from turbosat and it fails every time. It just refuses to reach 100%

_________________
Topfield TF5800, MyStuff 5.62c, rt2mei on Debian 5.0 Linux, MWI 0.50a.
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:26 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
It will eventually appear on the Topfield site as well as Turbosat's.

I think with things of this nature, people ae best off only obtaining it from the official source.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rayd
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:49 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 03 Jun 2005 Posts: 377 Location: West London
nwhitfield wrote:
Yep; the PDF was written for the last update and then amended. I noticed that the box restarted automatically this time, but I've not had a chance to amend the docuementation - getting ready for my hols tomorrow.


Mine didn't restart - it kept flashing End and I had to put it into Standby.

Turning back on again it booted as normal, but the remote didn't work. The green light was flashing, but the Toppy was totally unresponsive.

Removing power for a minute ans switching back on again brought it all back to life. I did a factory reset and re-scan and all seems OK.

I also noticed the behaviour at the start of upgrading was a bit different to the instructions.

With Download pressed on the upgrader, when I took the Toppy out of standby, it did show C456 briefly and then 'Down' plus a count before the Ap counter. It then proceeded as per the book.

Cheers,

Ray D
View user's profile Send private message
andygrunt
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Aug 2005 Posts: 401 Location: Bristol, UK
Yeah, I think I also got the C456 showing briefly when I was updating.
View user's profile Send private message
jake
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:56 am Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Jun 2005 Posts: 5 Location: London
nwhitfield wrote:
The August firmware update is now available for download from the Turbosat/Heathrow systems web site.
...


I have a silver TF5800 with a 16:9 TV in RGB mode - the new firmware
seems to handle AFD worse than the previous ones!!

4:3 content is now stretched to 16:9- fat faces!
and 16:9 is squashed and zoomed slightly ie shown at 14:9
Skinny people and black bars!

I can't get it to work correctly - of course I can get the TV
to force the right mode after changing channels but that
then needs to be done after every channel change (where the
previous channel is a different aspect to the last one)

Crying or Very sad

I have to downgrade - I'm hoping that's possible.

If you have a widescreen TV I cannot recommend upgrading
to this unless there's some tweakery I don't know about yet.

jake
View user's profile Send private message
RobTuck
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 251 Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Excuse my ignorance, but what is AFD?

Incidentally, my 28" widescreen doesnt exhibit the problems you mention.

Did you change the system setting back to 16:9 after you did the factory reset? (assuming you did the reset)

_________________
Topfield TF5800, MyStuff 5.62c, rt2mei on Debian 5.0 Linux, MWI 0.50a.
View user's profile Send private message
jake
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 3:05 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Jun 2005 Posts: 5 Location: London
RobTuck wrote:
Excuse my ignorance, but what is AFD?

Incidentally, my 28" widescreen doesnt exhibit the problems you mention.

Did you change the system setting back to 16:9 after you did the factory reset? (assuming you did the reset)


Do you watch 4:3 as intended (no distortion and with black bars) or
in stretch-o-vision - even a Porsche needs to use it's first gear
some of the time. There's no real excuse for forcing an image wide
if it's not. However, If you do have proper signalling going on then, sorry for the lecture, but I don't understand why I don't on the Topfield - I have Nokia and Pace hardware that both work perfectly, the correct
ratio is displayed automatically always (bar the occasional broadcaster
mistake)

AFD explained: http://www.pjdaniel.org.uk/afd/

The May firmware seems to be AFD ignorant, and signals the aspect
solely on the MPEG stream. So adverts flip to wide because the
mpeg stream that is broadcast actually changes.

AFD allows a broadcaster to always broadcast a 16:9 stream
and tell the receiver to make the necessary aspect changes - this is done by BBC for things like Diagnosis Murder, The Apprentice USA etc. ie
the raw mpeg stream is a pillar-boxed 4:3 picture in a 16:9 mpeg stream.

With AFD the picture coming out of the Topfield is meant to
be a non-widescreen 4:3 one (for the programmes above)

Yep I did the reset thing - did a powercycle too, I tried CVBS too.
In case it was a pin8 v 23 thing.

I'm back on May11 firmware and the BBC always produces a 16:9 image with supplied black bars for 4:3 content - wrong, but at least the picture is not distorted.

I'll retry the Aug firmware - if it works I'll report.

jake
View user's profile Send private message
Barry
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 3:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 May 2005 Posts: 122 Location: South West
Problem was spotted yesterday.

There is now a thread in the bugs section about it.

http://www.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1412
View user's profile Send private message
dalep
Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 10:47 am Reply with quote
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 13 Location: UK - Bournemouth
RobTuck wrote:
Is anyone able to host the firmware on their webspace? Ive tried to download it 6 times now from turbosat and it fails every time. It just refuses to reach 100%



Its on my site here: www.rfidsecurity.com/toppy/aug162005.zip

Dale
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum