Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAP and patch development  ~  Volume patches

Page 1 of 5
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
R2-D2
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
The first two patch the initialisation routine so could be turned off by some things (and applying them dynamically to the running firmware is pointless). You can turn [Vd] V3 (and V2) on and off when you like, though.


Last edited by R2-D2 on Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:44 pm; edited 3 times in total

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy K
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3515
What is a audio cinch connector ?
View user's profile Send private message
PeteY
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Dec 2006 Posts: 164 Location: Lombardy, Italy
Thanks for these, R2. Vb is exactly what I needed.

_________________
Toppy: TF5800PVR 250GB Firmware: 1365 Patched
No TAPs ATM
View user's profile Send private message
glenmcfar
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Dec 2006 Posts: 4519 Location: Dundonald, Ayrshire, Scotland
Andy K wrote:
What is a audio cinch connector ?


I was gonna ask the very same question. I guess if we don't know then we don't need to!

Glen.

_________________
H/W: TF5800 | URC-7555 | Asus | Best Firmware Ever!
A/S: SecCacheUK, EitSub, EPG2MEI, Display, Extend, QuickJump, FontManager, TapLauncher, MyStuff
T/L: TapCommander, Surfer, MeiSearch, MediaManager | HDFW, CutAds, Sudoku
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
Cinch connector.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chunkywizard
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:51 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 9319 Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Will any of these patch have the effect of maximizing the Toppy volume after a factory reset?

CW

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
glenmcfar
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 9:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Dec 2006 Posts: 4519 Location: Dundonald, Ayrshire, Scotland
R2-D2, I know we're all infinitely more dumb than you but could you please tell us in a slightly more verbose manner exactly what these do? I think I want Vb but I'm not 100% sure.

Glen.

_________________
H/W: TF5800 | URC-7555 | Asus | Best Firmware Ever!
A/S: SecCacheUK, EitSub, EPG2MEI, Display, Extend, QuickJump, FontManager, TapLauncher, MyStuff
T/L: TapCommander, Surfer, MeiSearch, MediaManager | HDFW, CutAds, Sudoku
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 9:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3985 Location: Buckingham
chunkywizard wrote:
Will any of these patch have the effect of maximizing the Toppy volume after a factory reset?

The PowerDown TAP does that (resets the volume to the specifed level) when it comes out of stand-by.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chunkywizard
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 9:42 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 9319 Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Cheers Gomezz, but I don't think I will run a TAP just for that. I would however patch the firmware.

CW

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
maverick
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jun 2005 Posts: 602 Location: Tunbridge Wells
Thanks R2.

Have lived with the issue of being blasted with sound each time I begin playing a DVD.

I had my Harmony set to control the TV volume rather than the Toppy volume to get round the problem but much prefer the MyStuff volume bar for a consistent UI.

Having patched this and tried this out, I was wondering if you planned to release it in any other amplifications as my setup would benefit from maybe +9db.

Ta,

Mav

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.5; EIT Sub v0.6; Skip 1.34a (TF5800PVR); Super PiP 1.1b;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 18/3/11
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:06 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
maverick wrote:
my setup would benefit from maybe +9db.
The patches are just twiddling unused bits on the AV switch, one of which is a +6dB boost (normally off). So that's the only choice, I'm afraid. (Make sure the Toppy volume is set on 100%, as it likes to default to around 70%.)

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MrOctagon
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:26 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 May 2006 Posts: 150
Thanks for these R2. Two questions:

1. If I apply both Vb and Vc will my audio output on the cinch connectors have an increase of 6db and also be fixed at this new default maximum level?

2. What is the soft volume control? (sorry if I am being rather thick here).

Thanks in advance for any replies.
View user's profile Send private message
aramil
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:19 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Jun 2006 Posts: 649 Location: Worcester, UK ; TX:Malvern Central
MrOctagon wrote:
Two questions:

1. If I apply both Vb and Vc will my audio output on the cinch connectors have an increase of 6db and also be fixed at this new default maximum level?


I would of thought that as the 6db is a fixed gain intergrated into the chipset it would still apply no matter what else you did with other patches

Quote:
2. What is the soft volume control? (sorry if I am being rather thick here).


The software controlled volume on your toppy (as opposed to a hard control ie a volume knob)

_________________
Toppy: TF5810; 500Gb spinpoint HDD (Lycom IDE-Sata);Fan Cooled; AI=Off, TS=On;
Firmware: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +CbCfCtDFsRtScStTaUUcUuUxVbXpZ;
PC OS: Fedora 14-64bit / Windows 8 Pro-64bit; TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo 5.6RC1; MHEG On/Off A3.
View user's profile Send private message
MrOctagon
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:30 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 May 2006 Posts: 150
aramil wrote:
The software controlled volume on your toppy (as opposed to a hard control ie a volume knob)


Thanks for your reply. So if I apply Vd I'll have no volume control in the native toppy menus? If that's right, will the volume be fixed at the highest possible level?
View user's profile Send private message
aramil
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Jun 2006 Posts: 649 Location: Worcester, UK ; TX:Malvern Central
YES it should. although R2 did say:

Quote:
Oh, and I don't think [Vd] works as advertised.


have a go and report back it is not like you can't remove it if not.

_________________
Toppy: TF5810; 500Gb spinpoint HDD (Lycom IDE-Sata);Fan Cooled; AI=Off, TS=On;
Firmware: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +CbCfCtDFsRtScStTaUUcUuUxVbXpZ;
PC OS: Fedora 14-64bit / Windows 8 Pro-64bit; TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo 5.6RC1; MHEG On/Off A3.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 5
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum