Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  5800 no services (constant 79% Level, 0% Quality)

Page 1 of 1
riddet
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:46 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Jun 2008 Posts: 7
My 5800 started playing up last week. At first it would hang when starting - MyStuff would show 'L' and get no further. I fixed this by disabling TAPs and manually starting EPG2MEI and allowing it to regenerate the data.

Then the channels disappeared completely for a day, I tried a rescan but found no channels. Then later a rescan found the channels again. But now once again, no channels (though it doesn't hang on startup any more).

I've tried switching to a different aerial - a small internal unit that's capable of receiving an analogue signal - but no joy.

When I do a Service Search I see a constant 79% Level, 0% Quality.

I iive in Wimbledon which means we may get our signal from the Crystal Palace transmitter which has had problems recently: http://www.ukfree.tv/txdetail.php?a=TQ339712 However I'm not convinced this is relevant because I think I would have heard through other channels if 5 million Londoners were without a TV signal!

My 5800 has a 80GB SSD in place of the hard drive and it has a relatively new (February 2011) replacement PSU.

Can anyone suggest what I can try to fix this? I've read on other threads about splitters and attenuators, or replacing the jumper between tuners 1 & 2 - should I follow either of these paths?

Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3457
I suggest that you first disconnect your SSD to see if your Toppy works OK as a receiver.

If it is still not right, try a factory reset in case there are some corrupted settings.

Once it is working OK as a receiver, reconnect the SSD.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
riddet
Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:06 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Jun 2008 Posts: 7
This evening with SSD disconnected I selected the Installation menu and started a Service Search. Level was still 79% Level and Quality 0%, and no channels were found. I tried the same procedure with the second aerial.

After a factory reset the level is 61% and when I do a Service Search I find lots of channels!! Brilliant!!

Thanks for your help! Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4416
@riddet

How about posting a MyInfo Log file and setting up a signature, This would give use a chance to comment on potential latent problems.

TopManager (link in my signature) will help you do this (assuming you have a windows pc). If necessary, you can also use "Tools| Install Tap| MyInfo"

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
riddet
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:41 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Jun 2008 Posts: 7
For the last couple of months the problem with losing channels has been intermittent but I'd like to try other fixes to see if it wil go away permanently.

Since the first round of investigation I have done the following:

* checked SSD for SMART errors and performed a self-test (by connecting it to an external PC)
* update MyStuff and TAPs
* run ChannelOrganizer to remove duplicates

There is a firmware update available for the SSD but I have not been able to apply it as of yet (the update procedure uses a bootable ISO and I cannot persuade my PC's BIOS to expose the SSD to it).

Suggestions for what to try next are welcomed.

@Geoff Bacon

Thanks for the suggestions. My signature has been updated.

Output from My Info is:

MyInfo B5.6 Logging settings etc on: 12/10/2011 at 12:01

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Starting to record data 2202 seconds from boot

System ID: 456
TV Output: Type = Auto, Video = RGB, RF Channel = 36
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.13.65T dated Oct 10 2011
Base firmware version: 5.13.65

Running TAPS:
Slot 0: EPG2MEI v0.96 : Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
Slot 1: MyStuff 6.4 : UI Replacement
Slot 2: MyInfo B5.6 : Displays & records Toppy basic info
Slots 3 - 15 not used

Installed patch list:- Bf Bq Ce Ck Cw Cy De Ec Ee Ef Ep Er Es F Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot P Pc R Ra Re Rh Rp Rs S Sd Sr St T2 Td Tf Tp Ts Vr Xp Xw
Patch Decode Link - Will explain your patches:
http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=BfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaReRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXw

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 69 TV channels and 24 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 22 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 28, 33, 102, 103,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 25 are: 1, 2, 7, 70, 80, 105, 301,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 28 are: 9, 41, 42, 71, 81, 303, 700, 701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 706, 707, 708, 709, 710,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 29 are: 12, 15, 18, 21, 22, 24, 40, 48, 85, 89, 108, 110, 111, 112, 306, 711, 712, 713, 714, 715, 716, 718, 722, 725,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 32 are: 10, 16, 17, 23, 26, 27, 30, 31, 34, 38, 60, 72, 101, 104, 307, 309, 724, 727, 728,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 34 are: 11, 19, 20, 25, 29, 32, 36, 37, 43, 44, 46, 47, 49, 82, 87, 723,

Interactive On
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 15 MB, Available: 14 MB
Disk - Total: 75 GB, Free: 119 GB

Checking for actual or imminent recording
Found apparently invalid file:- /DataFiles/Frys Planet Word.rec
3 recordings (3 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 1 folders (+ 0 empty folders)

Time since boot: 0:0:36 (d:h:m)

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65BfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaReRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXw
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/10/11
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2587
3 things....

You have lots of tv and radio channels - delete all unwanted ones to get to around 40 max.

Switch off interactive services.

There are taps missing which are part of the MyStuff install. This includes the MyInfo ini file which produces a better summary of the firmware patches which have been added/missing.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4416
Suggest you do a full install of MyStuff over your current configuration (it won't damage recordings etc); this will add the taps to improve EPG collection and copy the MyInfo.ini file.

Also suggest you say yes when it asks if it should load the utility taps (FastScanGUI, ChannelOrganiser, HDDInfo, FWLoad etc).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
riddet
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:28 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Jun 2008 Posts: 7
Thanks for the suggestions - I'll give them a try.

I'm having to do installs from a Mac laptop because I can't seem to get the Toppy to talk to my PC, so installs are manual at this point. I'll have another try with hooking up to a PC to see if I can get the automated install working.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65BfBqCeCkCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaReRhRpRsSSdSrStT2TdTfTpTsVrXpXw
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/10/11
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4416
@riddet

When you say you can't get the toppy to talk to the pc, is this because you have a driver problem or because the USB ports on the pc are knackered?

If the former, try loading the WinUSB drivers (assuming you aren't using them already).
Note: on some pc systems e.g. XP, it is necessary to use the same USB port that you originally configured with the toppy drivers i.e. you could try each USB port to see if it makes a difference (then install the WinUSB drivers if that doesn't work)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum