Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  PSU repair [expired thread]

Page 79 of 100
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80 ... 98, 99, 100  Next
candleuk
Posted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:09 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 27 May 2005 Posts: 21
Hi all after more than 5 trouble free years with my toppy she missed some recordings this week, then today when turned on it went straight to the menu and would not let me exit until I did a channel search. Just tested my voltages so does this look like I need to replace the caps or do I have another issue, many thanks in advance.

5v is 4.85
12v is 12.56
30v is 31.6
22v is 25.2
17v is 17.49
8v is 7.75
5v is 4.86
3.3v is 3.28
15v is 16.15

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3457
The 5V being 4.85V suggests that your PSU is starting to fail. It's time to start thinking about replacing the capacitors.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryclark
Posted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
Your 5V is drooping a bit, usually the lower limit is about 4.75, but it may vary with temperature as the Toppy warms up.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
acolwood
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:03 am Reply with quote
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 Posts: 4 Location: Yorks
OK, job done! Easier than I feared! Toppy now working perfectly.

One lesson learned I will pass on for anyone contemplating doing it themselves. Get a decent soldering iron. I had to take the cheap kit back to Machine Shop and swap for a 40watt Weller.

Thanks to all those who've posted advice on how to solve this problem.

_________________
TF5800 Silver
Firmware 5.13.40
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:51 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
Not all cheap irons are bad and not all bad irons are cheap! That said Weller is a good brand and mine is now nearly 30 years old!


Last edited by jumbo on Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:11 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:53 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3457
This is what I use:

http://cpc.farnell.com/duratool/zd-929b-89-2922/soldering-station-bs-plug/dp/SD01112?in_merch=Featured%20Products&MER=e-bb45-00001001

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MikeyP
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 4818
MikeyP wrote:

whoo hoo , I've just seen my first toppy bulger Shocked Very Happy

C25 top showing ever so slight but obvious to the trained eye signs of eating too many porkpies.


Make that my second ever so slight bulger C25 Shocked

Quote:

This is what I use:

Meh , I've got tips that cost nearly twice that Laughing Surprised Wink

_________________
www.mpavservice.co.uk
www.mpavservice.co.uk
www.mpavservice.co.uk
Parts or Repair service for your poorly toppy/PSU - 'talk to me' Smile my name's Mike though, not Terry Tibbs Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:17 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3457
MikeyP wrote:
Meh , I've got tips that cost nearly twice that Laughing Surprised Wink

I wish I was that rich. Sad

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jumbo
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:36 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
andyfras wrote:

I wish I was that rich. Sad
You're well on or your way to that goal with the number of PSU repairs coming your way Wink
View user's profile Send private message
MikeyP
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:56 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 4818
andyfras wrote:
MikeyP wrote:
Meh , I've got tips that cost nearly twice that Laughing Surprised Wink

I wish I was that rich. Sad


It's actually a PITA sometimes , cos they can fail for no apparent reason - just like that , the temp feedback dies and the tip heat drops like a stone, the reading however goes through the roof.

40+vat a pop Shocked mainy for sm stuff , it's a weller

Iuse a ws81 for other stuff mostly

_________________
www.mpavservice.co.uk
www.mpavservice.co.uk
www.mpavservice.co.uk
Parts or Repair service for your poorly toppy/PSU - 'talk to me' Smile my name's Mike though, not Terry Tibbs Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hollybrookhouse
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:25 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 21 Feb 2007 Posts: 10 Location: Lichfield, Staffs
Hello All,

My 3 1/2 year old topfield had a disk crash the other day and reading through the forums I am pinning the disk crash on a power supply fault. We have been leaving it on overnight which probably hasn't done the life of the PSU any good. Also we were suffering from remote control ignoring problems so it sort of backed up the PSU theory.

Anyway I popped the lid open, removed the disk and PSU and replaced the capacitors with some Panasonic 1200uf 16v Capacitors 105c ones (I saw that you could up the rating on this thread) powered up the board again and this is what I saw in Volts from top to bottom...

12.36 & 5.31,
29.7, 22.5, 16.6, 7.9, 5.3, 3.3 & 15.2

I'm happy with all the voltages except the 5v one. I have powered up the PSU board in isolation (not connected to the Toppy) but maybe the voltages will become more normal once there is something hanging off the end of it. Someone has also mentioned about the voltage 'drooping' once the unit/ board warms up. I've got my fingers crossed for a good result, does anyone have any comments?

All I have to do then is decide on a disk replacement

Cheers

Pete

_________________
Toppy: TF5800PVR/160 - Black, Firmware: ?,
TAPs: JagsEPG(2.7f), Description Extender(2.1),
View user's profile Send private message
MikeyP
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 4818
I regularly see 5.2V when it's not loaded, it's perfectly normal , so just throw it in Very Happy

_________________
www.mpavservice.co.uk
www.mpavservice.co.uk
www.mpavservice.co.uk
Parts or Repair service for your poorly toppy/PSU - 'talk to me' Smile my name's Mike though, not Terry Tibbs Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dpeace
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:41 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 17 May 2006 Posts: 2
I just wanted to post a message expressing my gratitude to andyfras, who today replaced my 5800 PSU capacitors.

Excellent, prompt service, and my machine is now working better than ever. I wish everyone I had dealings with was so professional.

Thanks, Andy.

Darren
View user's profile Send private message
Hollybrookhouse
Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:15 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 21 Feb 2007 Posts: 10 Location: Lichfield, Staffs
Denied!!!

After reinserting my PSU board back into the case and trying it out I found that it didn't recognise the hard drive I tried, or another drive I tested. I checked the voltages at the plug for the drive and found 0V. I then spotted some burned out chips on my main circuit board!

A couple next to the hard drive connector on the main board. I would post a photo but cant see how ....

Does this mean that I have a large paperweight??!!

Any comments ...

Pete

[/img][url][/url]

_________________
Toppy: TF5800PVR/160 - Black, Firmware: ?,
TAPs: JagsEPG(2.7f), Description Extender(2.1),
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 3:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3457
Is the blown chip called U51, next to the HDD power connector on the mainboard? This chip can be damaged when the PSU voltages go too far out of specification.

I do stock this chip and have replaced it on a couple of boards. The bad news is that the original HDD is probably also damaged (but may be repairable).

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 79 of 100
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80 ... 98, 99, 100  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum