Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Freeview, TopUp and TV  ~  Freeview and TopUp TV

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Admin
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 11:32 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 16 Apr 2005 Posts: 67 Location: London, UK
Use this area for topics including coverage, new channels, customer services and general gripes.

Please note, however, that this is most emphatically NOT the place for discussions about whether or not there should be PayTV on digital terrestrial, or telling people that they're stupid for subscribing to TopUpTV, or... well, you get the general idea.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sulli
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Mar 2005 Posts: 250 Location: Manchester
Is there any sort of minimum term (contract) for TopUpTV? Can I pay one month and then maybe have a month break and then start paying again, is it that flexible?

_________________
Sulli

Startup TAPs: JAGs EPG, Bookmark2UK
Other TAPs: UK Timers, IP Guide
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:52 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
It is, but unfotunately, you still have to pay the connection fee, which is a bit of a nuisance. They really ought to offer at least a reduced connection fee for when people want to rejoin.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sulli
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Mar 2005 Posts: 250 Location: Manchester
Oh thats not good. So every time I want to reconnect I need to pay £20. I might as well keep paying £8 a month even if not required.

_________________
Sulli

Startup TAPs: JAGs EPG, Bookmark2UK
Other TAPs: UK Timers, IP Guide
View user's profile Send private message
Chrisdafur
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:16 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Mar 2005 Posts: 86
I don't know if to mention it, please feel free to delete if its breaking any rules, but would it be possible to record a number of shows whilst not subscribing to TUTV and then subscribe to view all the things you've recorded?
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:19 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
In theory you can record encrypted things, and decrypt them later, so yes.

But I'd not necessarily guarantee it, because I don't know how often details of the encryption change.  You might find that stuff recorded a long time ago can't be decrypted - but that's just a wild guess. It may be perfectly ok. I just won't promise that it will be.

Nigel

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chrisdafur
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:23 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Mar 2005 Posts: 86
[quote author=nwhitfield link=board=3;num=1111357937;start=0#5 date=03/31/05 at 23:19:55]In theory you can record encrypted things, and decrypt them later, so yes.[/quote]

Its not something I'm planning on doing but I just wondered if it was technically possible. Hopefully with this special offer on cam and card I'll be subscriping soon (and to think a year ago I would have never even thought about it).
View user's profile Send private message
Chrisdafur
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:43 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Mar 2005 Posts: 86
I'm just sitting here waiting for my card to activate and just thought I'd asked a few question whilst I'm waiting...

Does it really take up to 2 hours?  Surprised
Does it matter if one tuner is recording?
Should I just be getting a scrambled message?
Does it matter if I stick the Cam in the upper or lower slot?
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:48 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
I guess it could take a long time, depending on how much information they're sending out.

I have my CAM in the lower slot, but it doesn't make any difference. Have you got the card in the right way up? The contacts should be facing up. Somewhere in the menus (too lazy to walk back into the living room) there's an option to check the status of the card and CAM.

As long as you're tuned to the right channel, it should work fine, once the signal comes through, even if you're recording on another channel.

For what it's worth, I have my CAM in the bottom slot.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chrisdafur
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:55 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Mar 2005 Posts: 86
[quote author=nwhitfield link=board=3;num=1111357937;start=0#8 date=04/05/05 at 18:48:13]I guess it could take a long time, depending on how much information they're sending out.[/quote]

I just thought I'd ask, the electronic lady said it would take up to an hours. I called up after about 50 minutes and he said it could take 2 hours. I didn't want to sit here for 2 hours find out I'd done something wrong and wait another 2 hours.

[quote author=nwhitfield link=board=3;num=1111357937;start=0#8 date=04/05/05 at 18:48:13]Somewhere in the menus (too lazy to walk back into the living room) there's an option to check the status of the card and CAM.[/quote]

I've just checked and it wasn't installed, looks like I didn't have it pushed in hard enough. Phew well thats saved me another hour of sitting around and  then finding out it isnt in all the way. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 7:09 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
[quote author=Chrisdafur link=board=3;num=1111357937;start=0#9 date=04/05/05 at 18:55:37]Phew well thats saved me another hour of sitting around and  then finding out it isnt in all the way. Smile[/quote]

I've been on dates like that.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chrisdafur
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 7:46 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Mar 2005 Posts: 86
[quote author=nwhitfield link=board=3;num=1111357937;start=0#10 date=04/05/05 at 19:09:22]I've been on dates like that.[/quote]

LOL, it seems to be working now*.  Very Happy

*when I say 'now' I mean its bee working for a while, I just haven't got around to posting.
View user's profile Send private message
s7uar7
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Mar 2005 Posts: 196 Location: Chalfont St Giles
Which MUXes are the TopUp TV channels broadcast on?  My BBC and ITV channels are ok, but Sky Travel & UK History are a bit borderline.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: Power Manager v1.1; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B4.1a; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/11/09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cammy
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:15 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 30 Mar 2005 Posts: 63 Location: Blackhill Transmitter
http://www.dtg.org.uk/retailer/dtt_channels.html

Mostly MUX A (shared with Five) but there is 1 stream on MUX 2 (shared with ITV1 / ITV2).

Sky Travel & UK History are on MUX C so that shouldn't be a problem.
View user's profile Send private message
nicky napkins
Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:47 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 01 Aug 2005 Posts: 10
ok... this a most likely a stupid question(S)

how do you get top up tv? what is it?

does this box just need a normal tv ariel?

please help.................... i have not got a clue about these things..
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum