Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAPs  ~  Problem running Altair

Page 1 of 1
adrian
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:09 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jun 2005 Posts: 29 Location: West London
Despite the machinations of the Users' Manual and with help from
this site (thanks Nigel et al) I have reached the stage in my Toppy
education where I would like to learn how to install a TAP.
However I have a problem with Altair.
(I'm running XP and using Tim Crook's instructions)

Enter 'control userpasswords2' in 'Start' - 'Run' box. The panel with
two tabs appears and shows:
Administrator--------------------------------Administrators
Adrian-----------------------------------------Administrators
Guest------------------------------------------Guests
So I assume that have the required Admin privileges.

Start - USB unplugged
Load Altair_1.250.zip
Unzip into a dedicated new folder in 'Program files'.

As instructed in 'Altair.txt' right-click on 'tfbulk.inf' file and select
'Install' to install drivers.
Click on 'Altair_1.250.exe' to open it (as in 'Altair.txt').

I would now expect the 'Choose Model Series' panel to open
leading on to 'Choose Components'.
Instead it goes straight to the two panel file selection window.

The only step I can see where I could be wrong is Tim's step 3 -
"Unzip and install". Do I have to do more than just putting it in its
new folder and clicking on it to open (as in 'Altair.txt')?
The fact that Tim says a reboot might be needed implies to me the
creation of a Registry entry.
I must be missing something out.

I am reasonably PC-savvy but not a full-blown Techie.

Help would be much appreciated.

I spent many happy hours yesterday......................
View user's profile Send private message
tim
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:40 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 30 Mar 2005 Posts: 34
Adrian,
You have admin rights on your PC.
The vital step you seem to be missing is after the unzip procedure...
I recommend you unzip the zip file to a temporary folder then from within that temporary folder execute setup.exe (or install.exe) and follow the on screen instructions.

The instructions will then request a folder to install the files to, this will typically be c:\program files\

Tim


Last edited by tim on Mon Jun 27, 2005 4:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
adrian
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:57 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jun 2005 Posts: 29 Location: West London
Thanks, will play.

I would have expected a 'setup' or 'install' file in the folder I unzipped to.
View user's profile Send private message
adrian
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:07 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jun 2005 Posts: 29 Location: West London
Have played.

Am having Really Thicko Day.

I understand the need for a temp folder as at this stage it is not installed but just resting there pending installation.

I'm afraid to say that I still don't know how to fully install it from there.
Control Panel obviously won't help as it looks for a 'Setup' or 'Install' in the temp folder.
I've looked for a Windows general purpose Setup/Installer.exe but no joy.

Please delete line in original post ".......am reasonably PC-savvy" and insert a phrase of your choice.
View user's profile Send private message
bellandbottle
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 857 Location: Reading - Crystal Palace
adrian wrote:
Have played.

Am having Really Thicko Day.

I understand the need for a temp folder as at this stage it is not installed but just resting there pending installation.

I'm afraid to say that I still don't know how to fully install it from there.
Control Panel obviously won't help as it looks for a 'Setup' or 'Install' in the temp folder.
I've looked for a Windows general purpose Setup/Installer.exe but no joy.

Please delete line in original post ".......am reasonably PC-savvy" and insert a phrase of your choice.


I had the same problem until I down loaded the software from Heathrow Systems a la new simple installation guide. It all installed automatically then - hope this helps
View user's profile Send private message
adrian
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:29 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jun 2005 Posts: 29 Location: West London
Many thanks.

Playtime again.
View user's profile Send private message
adrian
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:37 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jun 2005 Posts: 29 Location: West London
Many more thanks - the Heathrow one went in a treat!
A little bit of jiggling to get the USB to recognise the Toppy but the Readme file covered that nicely.

Am now Happy Bunny

(or at least until......................)
View user's profile Send private message
bellandbottle
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 857 Location: Reading - Crystal Palace
adrian wrote:
Many more thanks - the Heathrow one went in a treat!
A little bit of jiggling to get the USB to recognise the Toppy but the Readme file covered that nicely.

Am now Happy Bunny

(or at least until......................)


No problem - it might be an idea to tell Nigel that the other method did not work. I meant to do it myself, but excitement got hold of me.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum