Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  reservation will be changed yes/no

Page 1 of 1
MikeyP
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 4818
I thought I'd read somewhere this 'reservation will be changed yes/no' was going to be less of an intrusion on the new firmware ??

I was watching ITV4 last night with a BBC2 recording in progress and there was a timer recording set for sky3 to start any minute.
It came to the time of the recording and gave me the 'reservation will be changed'. I ignored it, let it time out and it subsequently changed to sky3.

But then I just used the channel change to get back to ITV4 Rolling Eyes

so why did it feel the need to tell me !!?? Confused Shocked

(Bastille firmware, EPG Navigator and Uktimers)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ugly--Kid--Joe
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:53 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 May 2005 Posts: 1472 Location: Cornwall
This message comes up less than it used too, but Hyde found a pattern that it happens more frequently if you are tuned to Mux 1.
Maybe Hyde can expand on this.

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W:1365AbBfBqC0CbCeCkCyDDeEcEeEfErEsEvEzFFsGmHHeKtMhNfPPcPePfRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStT2TeTfTpTsUUuUxWfXXpXwZXl
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34: EPG2MEI v0.95: EIT Sub v0.6: SecCacheUK v0.4: Extend v1.7: MyStuff 6.2: TF5000 Display v1.53: MeiSearch 1.37: Movie Guide v1.01: MyInfo A4

Transmitter: Caradon Hill
Popcorn Hour:
Runnig FTP Topfield: RT2MEI v1.1: Remote Timers
OTHER:Harmony 885 Remote
View user's profile Send private message
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5956 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Yes Very Happy Here's the post I made in the beta testers area

Quote:
Check Your Reservation Message

I had a hunch about this a couple of f/w's ago, and have just run test 2.16 three times.

I'm almost certain that the Check Reservation message occurs when you are being pulled away from Mux 1 by any of the other muxes.

If you start with a non-mux 1 channel and view a 2nd channel from that mux with a recording set to start on mux 1, all is OK.

Start with a mux 1 channel and view a 2nd from the same mux, any recording set to start on at least mux 2 and mux A cause the viewing to be switched.

I don't have time to test muxes B C & D against Mux 1 at the moment, but if folk could structure their test 2.16 along these lines it could be interesting

_________________
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MikeyP
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 4818
I really should print out a MUX and channel list Confused
I can never remember what mux has what channels


Does that fit in with what I was doing then?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:22 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
At the moment, this is a hunch, so if people can try and verify it, it would be helpful - more useful information that we can pass on to the engineers.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ugly--Kid--Joe
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 May 2005 Posts: 1472 Location: Cornwall
Mux 1= BBC1, BBC2, BBC3, BBCNews 24 and CBBC
So yes as you were recording BBC2 that would fit.

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W:1365AbBfBqC0CbCeCkCyDDeEcEeEfErEsEvEzFFsGmHHeKtMhNfPPcPePfRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStT2TeTfTpTsUUuUxWfXXpXwZXl
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34: EPG2MEI v0.95: EIT Sub v0.6: SecCacheUK v0.4: Extend v1.7: MyStuff 6.2: TF5000 Display v1.53: MeiSearch 1.37: Movie Guide v1.01: MyInfo A4

Transmitter: Caradon Hill
Popcorn Hour:
Runnig FTP Topfield: RT2MEI v1.1: Remote Timers
OTHER:Harmony 885 Remote
View user's profile Send private message
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5956 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Actually, no Wink

You were recording Mux1 (BBC2)
Watching Mux2 (ITV4)
Timer started for MuxC (Sky3)

The only way you could switch back to viewing ITV4 is if during that switch over period the BBC2 recording completed, or you aborted one the two recordings (BBC2 or Sky3), and you would have had a Toppy OSD checking to see if you really did want to cancel a recording. Since you didn't talk of such a message, I can only assume that the BBC2 recording completed, or you actually switched to viewing a channel on Mux1 or MuxC.

LCN/Mux assignments can be viewed here:-

http://www.dtg.org.uk/retailer/dtt_channels.html

_________________
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MikeyP
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 4818
It was about 20:27 when it asked to change (to record futurama) and the fred dibnah programme (Yes I know I was saying about fred Dibnah programmes but this is a new new one Laughing ) was just about to finish so you might be right.

I was just initially bewildered why it was asking to change the other channel may have finished, but I was sure I was able to go back to ITV4 Confused

I'll try again next time conditions make it happen Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ugly--Kid--Joe
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 May 2005 Posts: 1472 Location: Cornwall
Ok, sorry. I will have a few experiments with this over the next few days. I must admit thought i am seeing this less than i used to, and using the same CT's as before. IMHO i beleive it has slightly improved.

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W:1365AbBfBqC0CbCeCkCyDDeEcEeEfErEsEvEzFFsGmHHeKtMhNfPPcPePfRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStT2TeTfTpTsUUuUxWfXXpXwZXl
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34: EPG2MEI v0.95: EIT Sub v0.6: SecCacheUK v0.4: Extend v1.7: MyStuff 6.2: TF5000 Display v1.53: MeiSearch 1.37: Movie Guide v1.01: MyInfo A4

Transmitter: Caradon Hill
Popcorn Hour:
Runnig FTP Topfield: RT2MEI v1.1: Remote Timers
OTHER:Harmony 885 Remote
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum