Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Upgrade from Mac

Page 1 of 1
bluebird
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 9:17 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 1 Location: Cardiff
Anyone tried upgrading firmware from a Mac using Virtual PC? I'm tempted but don't fancy turning my Toppy into a teapot Shocked
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 9:33 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
A few people have, without any luck - but you're unlikely to damage anything. The problem is that you have to run software that talks to the USB port, and then turn on the Toppy; on the PC, the download starts almost instantaneously.

On the Mac, it takes a while for VPC to recognise new USB devices.

I'm expecting a new PowerBook any day, so I'll have a bash when that comes.

One thing I think it may be worth trying is installing the drivers in VPC, and Altair, trying to get that working, and then ticking the box in the VPC settings to have exclusive use of the TF5800.

Whether or not that makes enough difference to things, I'm not sure.

I'll try tinkering when I have the time.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
murph7355
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 9:37 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Apr 2005 Posts: 3
Bit of a bummer Topfield didn't just have a firmware file copy to the root directory, and then on the next restart it updates the firmware.

Looks like the PC updater never copies the TFD file over as a preliminary step.
View user's profile Send private message
pesky
Posted: Sat May 14, 2005 1:16 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 27 Mar 2005 Posts: 61 Location: North of England.
murph7355 wrote:
Bit of a bummer Topfield didn't just have a firmware file copy to the root directory, and then on the next restart it updates the firmware.

Looks like the PC updater never copies the TFD file over as a preliminary step.

If anyone can do some protocol analysis and figure out how the updater works, I'll have a serious bash at writing an equivalent program for the Macintosh. Also, some of us are on good terms with the Topfield engineers and I'm happy to sign an NDA and then write the program for them if they tell me what it's meant to do.

Toppy and Mac go together so well that it's a pity you can't use one to update the other.
View user's profile Send private message
damian
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 7:41 am Reply with quote
Joined: 21 May 2005 Posts: 10 Location: london (east)
howdy - just joined after grabbing the last remaining 5800 in tottenham court rd yesterday.

pesky - any movement on mac > toppy software (just wonderin') Wink

i'm not a coder but appreciate the work required

ta
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 9:33 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
Tottenham Court Road? Which shop's carrying them there?

Let us know, and I'll add it to the database - I know a lot of people would like to see the boxes before they buy.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
malc
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 10:37 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 May 2005 Posts: 1380
Has anyone tried the serial upgrade route with a Mac?

I would have thought virtual PC using a serial port is more likely to be sucessful and for upgrades serial speed would be adequate.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 10:48 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
I've not had a go, since I don't have a Mac with serial ports, and I can't find my Keyspan USB-Serial adaptor; it would doubtless require a cable being made up too.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
damian
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 10:59 am Reply with quote
Joined: 21 May 2005 Posts: 10 Location: london (east)
i got the 5800 from:

Newvision Electronics
256 Tottenham Court Rd
London W1T 7RD
02075808394

he get's them in in small batches and sems to sell them quickly to people like us who know about them and have really made the choice already.

i was a little miffed that i had to shell out another 35 for the CAM to hold my top-up-tv card - not quite enough research i guess!!

paid 299 which is ok - i know it's 5 quid cheaper online but life's just too short.... etc..
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pesky
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 12:05 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 27 Mar 2005 Posts: 61 Location: North of England.
damian wrote:
pesky - any movement on mac > toppy software (just wonderin')

Not a sausage. Nobody has got back to me about it. So not only can't I write the required software, but my own box is still running the old firmware. I'm going to have to borrow a PC from work or something.
View user's profile Send private message
IanP
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 5:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Apr 2005 Posts: 330
I'm not familiar with virtual PC/Macs but if it can see a (USB adapter) serial port fast enough that sounds like the way to go.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum