Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Site news and feedback  ~  That darn clock!

Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:06 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 4588
It always used to work for me too.
I've tried all the board styles; they all have the same effect.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:13 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 4588
Very strange - it works as expected on my wife's computer ie it is something specific to my similar desktop but I can't think what (I haven't placed any restrictions on what the site pages can do).

I'll just have to live with it; Many thanks to those who gave suggestions

Geoff
testing


Last edited by Geoff Bacon on Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:41 am; edited 2 times in total

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:57 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 249
Browser specific perhaps ? I know I see differences between how Firefox & Chrome handle certain sites

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:42 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 4588
It works ok in Edge!
In Google Chrome - add to a thread. On exit, the item is correctly starred. Read the post and exit it; refresh - the item is still starred.

Do the same in Edge and the item is no longer starred after reading the post and refreshing.
Then refreshing the Google Chrome browser, it still shows the thread as starred.

I'll just live with it cos there aren't a lot of posts nowadays (and I don't really want to switch to another browser)

Stay safe
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 249
Have you tried refreshing the page using Control + Shift + F5

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:32 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 4588
Yep (for those who don't know, this bypasses the cache when refreshing the page)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 249
I've had occasional problems with Chrome where I get stuck in a sort of login loop i.e. I go to a site (that I use regularly) enter my usename and password, click login and the page refreshes back to the same login page without logging me in.
When this happens sometimes Control + Shift + F5Control + Shift + F5 clears it, sometimes not.
Sometimes opening an incognito window and logging in there works, even after closing the window, sometimes not.
The only thing that seems to work consistently (but again not always) is Chrome menu/more tools/Clear browsing data and selecting cached images and files only
Very frustrating when it happens.
I tend to default to Firefox but also use Chrome regularly.
When I'm doing site/forum admin work I usually work in Firefox but have Chrome open to the same site (but not logged in) that way I can see how changes I make are working without continually logging out and in.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 4588
Thanks Jimi

Just started trying to use Edge as default browser.
Turned off Myfeed and the background.
This works ok for this site (it is based on Chrome) and also appears fractionally faster (perhaps they just blink the page to make you think something is happening?)

I'll switch back to Chrome if the need arises

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2020 10:45 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 840
I use Brave, which is built on Chromium with additional security options. It is obviously close to Chrome but without all the Google handles. Chrome extensions work, for instance. The red stars work as expected for me.

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2671
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Toppy2

Has a little red asterisk against unread posts


FWIW, tonight (using MS Edge), view latest post takes me to

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21369&view=newest

which actually goes to

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=274464#274464

when it should have been

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=274472#274472

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum