Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Need new tv which has hdmi. Have 5800 with scartt

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
goodolpete
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 209
Anyone have working solution for connecting the two please?

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
Sounds like you need a SCART to HDMI converter.
You can google for these.

I believe, but could be wrong, that some TVs came with one (but that was a couple of years ago).

Might be best to get one from the maker of the TV. Probably more expensive but should work (I think when I looked at these a couple of years ago, some of the reviews said some of these devices were "iffy").

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 6:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3525
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Sounds like you need a SCART to HDMI converter.
You can google for these.

I believe, but could be wrong, that some TVs came with one (but that was a couple of years ago).


Possibly more than a couple of years ago and usually as a very expensive optional extra. Older TV sets still supported SCART but not on the traditional large SCART sockets, They used a minature sockets on the TV and as an option you could purchase a SCART to SCART lead but with the smaller non-standard socket on one end. Modern TVs now use HDMI which is a digital standard rather than SCART which is analogue.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 6:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2644
Might be cheaper to find a 5810, which uses hdmi.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:36 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 228
Haven't tried it myself, but this gets good reviews https://www.amazon.co.uk/Adapter-GANA-Converter-Connecting-Set-Top/dp/B07DVLKDVQ

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
ccs
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:44 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2644
Lots of tv's have component video, I used that on toppy years ago, and the picture quality was good.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:44 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3471
If your TV has a Component connection (usually on several RCA/Phono sockets), the Toppy can be connected using its Component (YUV) setting via a Scart to Component + Audio lead. I used to have a stock of these that I had modified to work on a Toppy, but I've now run out. I could be persuaded to make up some more if there's any demand. The advantage of this method is that there is no electronics involved; it's just wiring.

Otherwise, there are scart to HDMI adapters, but most are rubbish, using only the composite signal. The best value genuine RGB one that I've found is this:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/323228092172

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
goodolpete
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2020 1:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 209
Thanks for all your replies. As my toppy has “moments” now and then,
and I’m upgrading the TV, I’m researching updating my PVR. I’ve scoured
World Of Sattelite, but can’t see any with dual FreeView tuners. Does
anyone know of a model still on sale?

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
shenson
Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 570
If the TV supports analogue you could use that and the Toppy's built in modulator. The quality wont be as good as SCART of course.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+EvEzMPeUUuWf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9; PruneEPG 1.0;
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DaveHill
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 4:51 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 87
andyfras wrote:
If your TV has a Component connection (usually on several RCA/Phono sockets), the Toppy can be connected using its Component (YUV) setting via a Scart to Component + Audio lead. I used to have a stock of these that I had modified to work on a Toppy, but I've now run out. I could be persuaded to make up some more if there's any demand. The advantage of this method is that there is no electronics involved; it's just wiring.

Otherwise, there are scart to HDMI adapters, but most are rubbish, using only the composite signal. The best value genuine RGB one that I've found is this:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/323228092172

Wow, that one actually works pretty well. Not using it with the Toppy, both are "retired" now with hardware problems, but it's working well on my Echostar Satellite RX.

The previous one I bought from Amazon was fine as long as nothing moved, see: https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=272132#272132

_________________
TX: Sandy Heath
TF5800 (retired, disk errors), TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSyXl+Ds, Samsung 250Gb IDE.
TF5800PVRt (retired, front panel failure), TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+Ds, Seagate ST3500418AS 500Gb SATA.
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; TF5000 Display 1.53;
View user's profile Send private message
goodolpete
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 9:35 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 209
andyfras wrote:
If your TV has a Component connection (usually on several RCA/Phono sockets), the Toppy can be connected using its Component (YUV) setting via a Scart to Component + Audio lead. I used to have a stock of these that I had modified to work on a Toppy, but I've now run out. I could be persuaded to make up some more if there's any demand. The advantage of this method is that there is no electronics involved; it's just wiring.

Otherwise, there are scart to HDMI adapters, but most are rubbish, using only the composite signal. The best value genuine RGB one that I've found is this:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/323228092172

Andy,
Is this one any good, do you think?
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Chenduomi-Converter-1080p-Composite-Adapter-black/dp/B079JZ4YZR/ref=sr_1_35?dchild=1&keywords=composite+video+cable+to+hdmi&qid=1596961585&sr=8-35[/url]
The bit that worries me is
Kindly note: the cable does not convert the signal,It works as a signal transmitter,not a signal converter. So this cable is not compatible with PC / laptop / PS4 / XBOX / DVD, before purchasing, please make sure both devices have signal coding and decoding function,for more details, please refer to the user manual of your device .

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 11:29 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3471
Sadly no; it's a load of rubbish that won't work at all.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
goodolpete
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 11:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 209
andyfras wrote:
Sadly no; it's a load of rubbish that won't work at all.

Thanks, Andy

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 11:47 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
goodolpete wrote:
Thanks for all your replies. As my toppy has “moments” now and then,
and I’m upgrading the TV, I’m researching updating my PVR. I’ve scoured
World Of Sattelite, but can’t see any with dual FreeView tuners. Does
anyone know of a model still on sale?

The choice today seems to be between the Humax FVP 5000T (3 tuners) and the Manhatten T3-R (2 tuners). I believe there may also be a Panasonic.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
goodolpete
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 209
albertd wrote:
goodolpete wrote:
Thanks for all your replies. As my toppy has “moments” now and then,
and I’m upgrading the TV, I’m researching updating my PVR. I’ve scoured
World Of Sattelite, but can’t see any with dual FreeView tuners. Does
anyone know of a model still on sale?

The choice today seems to be between the Humax FVP 5000T (3 tuners) and the Manhatten T3-R (2 tuners). I believe there may also be a Panasonic.

Hi, thanks for your reply.
I got a tax rebate, so decided to buy a zgemma h7c, with two t2 and one
sat tuners. At the moment I’m having trouble making it work, as there seems
to be a known problem of the box being choosy which usb sticks it sees,
to load updates, skins, etc.
Also swimbo, after years of having the almost perfect MyStuff program
pause, FF, go back an hour thro the buffer to see the news you missed,
Is “irked”, to say the least, that it doesn’t seem as good in Enigma2.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
?
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum