Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Replacing the current HDD with a larger 1TB HDD

Page 4 of 4
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu May 14, 2020 9:25 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 824
I seem to remember someone fitting an SSD many years ago without issue. At the time it all seemed a bit pointless as the Toppy disk isn't heavily stressed and a slow disk works perfectly fine: the Toppy bottlenecks are elsewhere. And back then they were significantly more expensive. Shocked

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
wjohnm
Posted: Thu May 14, 2020 2:33 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 04 May 2020 Posts: 17
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
I seem to remember someone fitting an SSD many years ago without issue. At the time it all seemed a bit pointless as the Toppy disk isn't heavily stressed and a slow disk works perfectly fine: the Toppy bottlenecks are elsewhere. And back then they were significantly more expensive. Shocked

I was taking the experience of my laptops, the Dell XPS13 is so good with 250Mb SSD, and no cooling fan. So much better than this Fujitsu with noisy fan.
With SSDs getting cheaper just wondered, but if I can get a 250 or 300Mb HDD that doesnt get too hot maybe that is the thing to do.
Just need to go through the list of working discs and adapters.
John

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
View user's profile Send private message TF5800PVR
munk
Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 4:29 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 May 2006 Posts: 65
I installed an SSD a few years ago into a 5800 and had no problems at all with it. On the contrary it made a huge difference in terms of noise (or lack thereof, was absolute bliss going from a noisy old disk I had in there at the time). I don't know that there's a huge increase in speed given the application involved (recording TS streams doesn't require a lot of speed), although other aspects/applications may benefit (ie transferring data to a PC would be a lot quicker). Since then I've changed back to a larger capacity non-SSD drive which is also a lot quieter.

I think it was a 40 or 60Gb OCZ Agility SSD drive from memory connected via an iDE to SATA bridge. The bridge was one of the originals sold by Turbosat, I'm fairly sure I'm using one of the bridges from andyfras now with a larger 2Gb HDD, it would probably be fine for connecting an SSD.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/8/15
View user's profile Send private message
wjohnm
Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 4:50 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 04 May 2020 Posts: 17
Thanks munk, seems to be advice that HDD is quick and quiet enough so I’m going for one with adapter from Andyfras. ( and capacitor kit! )
John

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
View user's profile Send private message TF5800PVR
wjohnm
Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 4:51 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 04 May 2020 Posts: 17
Sorry for repeat.
View user's profile Send private message TF5800PVR
jimi
Posted: Sat May 16, 2020 9:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 219
munk wrote:
although other aspects/applications may benefit (ie transferring data to a PC would be a lot quicker).

I think the limiting factor for transferring is the usb not the HDD

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 4:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 824
Indeed. The Toppy USB circuitry is pretty poor. removing the Toppy disk and connecting it to the PC via USB and a caddy is many times faster.

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
munk
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 5:31 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 May 2006 Posts: 65
jimi wrote:
munk wrote:
although other aspects/applications may benefit (ie transferring data to a PC would be a lot quicker).

I think the limiting factor for transferring is the usb not the HDD

I meant if you had the disk attached to the PC/host directly (using TopfHDRW for transfer), in such an application then SSD is a lot quicker than HDD for transfer.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/8/15
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Sat May 23, 2020 11:47 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 824
Unless you're transferring large amounts of data, the time taken in extracting the Toppy from my setup, taking it apart, taking the disk to the PC, finding the adaptor and connecting it, and then doing the the whole process in reverse is more trouble and time than it's worth Wink

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Sat May 23, 2020 1:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 219
I use a Raspberry Pi running an FTP sever to access the toppy remotely. Pi is connected by usb to the Toppy and by powerline adapter to my network. I just leave it running overnight to complete any file transfers, did that the other day, 24 episodes of NCIS LA transferred to my PC overnight. Then converted to MP4 and transferred to my server. Cool

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
underquark
Posted: Sun May 24, 2020 1:49 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1793
Way back in the mists of time I connected a 3-connector IDE cable and had the “middle“ connector plugged into an IDE-to-USB adaptor. I also had a switch that could power the disk while the transfer was being made whilst the Toppy stayed switched off.

_________________
A 5800 and a 5810 still in use with various dead ones and bits lying around, one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; Various remotes - URC1056B01 (my fav.), URC11-7140 R02 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
View user's profile Send private message
wjohnm
Posted: Sun May 24, 2020 10:22 am Reply with quote
Joined: 04 May 2020 Posts: 17
Well it is done new capacitors and 320 Mb disc and adaptor from Andyfras, plus help from many posts. Maybe I didn’t need the new disc as I tested my hesitant soldering using the original disc, and it sounded much quieter, anyway I now have more space.
Hope picture appear here
[img] https://photos.google.com/photo/AF1QipPdPA0qdL6mcWMSRUqWwbNsyOAziHKyLtCXOGUJ [/img]

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
View user's profile Send private message TF5800PVR

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 4 of 4
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum