Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Freeview, TopUp and TV  ~  Emley Moor retune issues

Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:24 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4559
Sounds like your problem is the aerial - they have really changed since yours was installed. It is also important to have one that matches the signals broadcast by your transmitter.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:27 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 837
Thanks Geoff. I realise that they've changed, but we've not had an issue until the latest retune, despite using channels in the same general area of the spectrum.

It was s strange coincidence that it happened on the day of the retune when we also had a planned power outage. But I am drawn to the aerial or its connections as the root of the problem, as it's affecting all my devices, and even the channels on 100% on the other devices are now showing the occasional glitch. Do aerials degrade over time? Or is it more likely the aerial cables and connections that are deteriorating?

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 11:06 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2658
..... I never thought moisture getting into the cabling would ever be a real problem until a signal booster I use as a powered splitter failed, and when I tipped it upside down water poured out of it. My advice would be to replace the aerial and cabling.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 12:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 837
Cheers - our aerial is inside the roof (with "line of sight" to the mast), so I hope moisture won't be an issue Shocked

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 4:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 837
We've not managed to get anyone out to look at our aerial, and the lower MUXes (below 39) are still quite flakey. I'm usually managing to avoid recording on them, but the odd one sneaks through. Last night it was recording on one of the dodgy channels as I'd not reviewed the recordings for the day. The Toppy crashed while I was playing back something else, and restarted with the menu showing and not allowing access. I thought the disk had been corrupted and I'd have to rebuild it from the backups. But it had 'just' lost all its channels and a quick rescan via TM had it back up and running in 10 minutes or so Very Happy

So thanks again to Geoff B for his program Mr. Green

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 4:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2658
ccs wrote:
FWIW, I've had Channel Organiser in autostart for many years, so lost channels is avoided if it ever happens due to poor reception, say.

You need to use CO first to set up your defaults and deleted channels etc, then it does it all for you for ever more.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 11:14 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 837
Good point. First time this has happened in 15-odd years though

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:26 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 837
Out of interest, what happens with CO in Autostart? Does it need someone to press exit each time, or does it close automatically?

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:04 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2658
It just checks if a retune is needed, does one if necessary, and the toppy continues as normal.

I put it into autostart on 3 toppies probably 7 years ago, and never needed to do anything else.

It keeps a log of any retunes.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 837
Thanks - I've only ever used it interactively.

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum