Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Freeview, TopUp and TV  ~  Emley Moor retune issues

Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:24 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4472
Sounds like your problem is the aerial - they have really changed since yours was installed. It is also important to have one that matches the signals broadcast by your transmitter.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:27 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 807
Thanks Geoff. I realise that they've changed, but we've not had an issue until the latest retune, despite using channels in the same general area of the spectrum.

It was s strange coincidence that it happened on the day of the retune when we also had a planned power outage. But I am drawn to the aerial or its connections as the root of the problem, as it's affecting all my devices, and even the channels on 100% on the other devices are now showing the occasional glitch. Do aerials degrade over time? Or is it more likely the aerial cables and connections that are deteriorating?

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 11:06 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2620
..... I never thought moisture getting into the cabling would ever be a real problem until a signal booster I use as a powered splitter failed, and when I tipped it upside down water poured out of it. My advice would be to replace the aerial and cabling.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 12:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 807
Cheers - our aerial is inside the roof (with "line of sight" to the mast), so I hope moisture won't be an issue Shocked

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum