Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Swapping drives

Page 1 of 1
anthony2l
Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 261
We have a broken 5800. It won't get past showing elapsed time on the display. I'm picking up a working 5800 and intend to try swapping the drives as there are wanted recordings on the broken machine.

Assuming the old drive works is there anything else that needs doing?

The old drive has MyStuff installed and is up to date with tuning etc. Don't know yet what's on the replacement machine.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]™
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2620
You'll need to check the firmware version you've inherited, and you'll also need to retune.
Also double check what the settings are set to, eg timeshift.
The hd should, in theory, be fine, assuming the fault is on the old toppy.

Your sig suggest you have a 5810, is that what you're replacing?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
anthony2l
Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 261
Thanks. No it's not my machine being replaced.

Presumably no harm in just re-intalling the whole MyStuff inc firmware package then?

Yes undoubtably a retune as the replacement is coming from a different region.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]™
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2620
Boot it up tapless the first time (hold down the zero button when switching on) and then you can run myinfo to see what you've got.

It might insist on a retune if no channels are found.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 6:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4472
My GCBMyStuffInstaller only copies files that are different from those already on the toppy. So reinstalling it with option 1 is likely to just update Freeview.dat and FvTxdata.tsv before it loads the required firmware

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
anthony2l
Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Apr 2011 Posts: 261
Geoff Bacon wrote:
My GCBMyStuffInstaller only copies files that are different from those already on the toppy. So reinstalling it with option 1 is likely to just update Freeview.dat and FvTxdata.tsv before it loads the required firmware

Geoff


Thanks, looks new since I last did anything with Mystuff, and useful, I'll get it from

http://www.geeceebee.co.uk/gcbmystuffinstaller/downloads

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]™
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum