Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Channels Film4+1 and TBN recently disappeared?

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Grand Dizzy
Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 Oct 2009 Posts: 166
I used to watch TBN a lot but it seems to have gone now, as well as Film4+1. Just checking that these channels really have stopped broadcasting?

Also, does anyone have a complete list of all the channels we should be able to get on the Toppy? I always wonder if I'm missing any. I notice there's one called 'Now 90s' but it seems blank? Which is a shame.
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4444
Film4+1 is available on 45
TBN UK is on 65 (although it is missing from the latest Freeview.dat file - I didn't detect it on my toppy)

Now 90s is not available (HD only)

You probably need to retune
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kjhskj75
Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:28 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 78
TBN UK has moved to a DVB-T2 multiplex, so you won't see it.

NOW 90s is only on 5am-7am, at other times it's a IP streamed channel.

Film4+1 should return with a retune. It's on ArqA (same as Dave)

Official list of channels:
https://www.freeview.co.uk/corporate/platform-management/channel-listings

Ignore the ones for BBC-B, COM7 & COM8
View user's profile Send private message
meadfoot
Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 261
Another freeview list is here https://www.terrestrialtv.uk/dtt.cgi

Just change the region to your own and ignore PBS3/BBCB, COM7/NUK7, and COM8/NUK8 Muxes as they are HD and the Toppy cannot load them.

_________________
Sutton Coldfield TX
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -SyXl+WfZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Bookmark 3.0; MyInfo B5.6; TF5000 Display v1.53; UK Subtitle 1.9; Font Manager 1.0d;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/7/13


'I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand' Confucius
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Grand Dizzy
Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 Oct 2009 Posts: 166
Thanks for the info, folks Smile
View user's profile Send private message
Grand Dizzy
Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 Oct 2009 Posts: 166
Anyone know if I should be able to get any of these? (I'm in the South West)

STV
UTV
S4C
Local TV
Smithsonian Channel
Clubland TV
Spotlight TV
PBS America
Tiny Pop
POP Max
Ketchup TV
Yaaas!
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4444
Type in the name of your transmitter and "ukfree" into a search engine.
Then scroll down and to where it shows the muxes and their main channels. You probably need to click on things like "+6 more" to expand them
As mentioned by meadfoot, ignore the PBS3/BBCB, COM7/NUK7, and COM8/NUK8

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kjhskj75
Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:15 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 78
Anyone know if I should be able to get any of these? (I'm in the South West)

STV
No, only Scotland

UTV
No, Northern Ireland

S4C
No, Wales

Local TV
No local TV in the Southwest

Smithsonian Channel
Yes

Clubland TV
Spotlight TV
No, Manchester only

PBS America
Yes

Tiny Pop
On Local multiplex, so no

POP Max
No, Manchester only

Ketchup TV
Yaaas!
Yes, but won't work on Toppy (needs internet)
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:49 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3520
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Type in the name of your transmitter and "ukfree" into a search engine.
Then scroll down and to where it shows the muxes and their main channels. You probably need to click on things like "+6 more" to expand them
As mentioned by meadfoot, ignore the PBS3/BBCB, COM7/NUK7, and COM8/NUK8

Geoff


Plus some channels may require a T2 tuner, which the Toppy doesn't have.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
Grand Dizzy
Posted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 Oct 2009 Posts: 166
Thanks for all the great answers, folks! Smile So helpful!

It is quite frustrating being able to see some of these channels, with EPG data, yet not being able to watch. Quite a tease!

For a while it looked like the number of Freeview channels would just go up and up, but with all these new unwatchable HD channels etc, it seems like the number has stopped going up, and is perhaps starting to go down. I've just realised that 5Spike seems to be gone now too!

I really will have to get myself an Enigma2 box at some point when I can afford it, though I'll hopefully always keep the Toppy running too. It's like a family member Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message
meadfoot
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 261
5Spike has just been renamed to Paramount Network and remains on ch31

_________________
Sutton Coldfield TX
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -SyXl+WfZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Bookmark 3.0; MyInfo B5.6; TF5000 Display v1.53; UK Subtitle 1.9; Font Manager 1.0d;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/7/13


'I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand' Confucius
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Grand Dizzy
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 Oct 2009 Posts: 166
meadfoot wrote:
5Spike has just been renamed to Paramount Network and remains on ch31

Oh, thanks! LOL
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 8:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3520
Grand Dizzy wrote:

For a while it looked like the number of Freeview channels would just go up and up, but with all these new unwatchable HD channels etc, it seems like the number has stopped going up, and is perhaps starting to go down. I've just realised that 5Spike seems to


The broadcasters can also get many more SD channels on a HD MUX which the Toppy cannot decode

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 11:42 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 794
meadfoot wrote:
5Spike has just been renamed to Paramount Network and remains on ch31
Do we need to rescan to pick this up, or will it just "appear"?

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 11:56 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4444
you always need to rescan to pick up new channel lineups - just like on a TV (a TV may tell you that new channels are available but it is upto you to rescan)

Don't forget to load the latest version of Freeview.dat first

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum