Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  What Is The Best Way To Copy To PC (From TF5800)

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
ngc1967
Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 5:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Jul 2006 Posts: 142
I can't remember what the best way is to transfer a lot of Toppy recorded programmes over to my PC.

I want to make a back up of them just in case anything goes wrong as the machine is now about 12 years old.

I have a 2TB hard drive that I put in about 7-8 years ago and transferred all the files from my original 250GB back then but I can't remember if I took the hard drive out and put it into an external docking station and transferred the files that way or transferred them by USB directly. I vaguely remember that PCs don't see the .rec files without another program running but I can't remember what that program was either.

My TF5800 is connected to my PC by USB and I can see all the files through Antares but I can remove the hard drive if necessary and put it into a docking station if that is the best way.

I have just tried to copy using Antares but it took about 12 hours to copy about 4% and then lost communication to the Topfield. This can't be the best way otherwise it is going to take over a week!

Can anyone tell me what the quickest way is?

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -AbSyTe+CwOtTd
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; PcControl B1; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 22/10/12
?
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 6:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2656
You need TopfHDRW, not sure where to find it, mind.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 6:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3476
You can download it from here:

https://sites.google.com/site/andyfraserelectronics/freeview-and-satellite-recorder-repair/topfield-pvr-faults/TopfHDRW_Setup.zip

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 6:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
deleted

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
ngc1967
Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Jul 2006 Posts: 142
Thank you everyone.

I have just downloaded TopfHDRW from your link (andyfras).

I gather that I need to remove the hard drive now and put it into my docking stn (little bits of memory are beginning to come back to me!)

By the way it is nice that there are still people on this forum.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -AbSyTe+CwOtTd
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; PcControl B1; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 22/10/12
?
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2656
...yes, you run TopfHDRW on your pc and use the docking station to access the hd.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
ngc1967
Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Jul 2006 Posts: 142
Thanks ccs, I'll get on with that tomorrow

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -AbSyTe+CwOtTd
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; PcControl B1; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 22/10/12
?
View user's profile Send private message
cawright1
Posted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 2:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 145
Hi, just to add to this - from my own experiences - once the files are on your pc use 'VideoRedoSuite' to convert from.rec to avi /or MP4. Then you can stick the recordings onto a USB pen and play them from any telly.

I've got about 10 gig of stuff that I've converted already!

https://www.videoredo.com/en/Products_TVSuite_V5.html

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
?
View user's profile Send private message
ngc1967
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 9:46 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Jul 2006 Posts: 142
That's a good idea.
I've got a back up of all my programmes on a 4tb portable hd and I've recently got a new TV (still in its box) that can record via the USB port onto a hard drive so it should be able to play files through the same way (if converted)

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -AbSyTe+CwOtTd
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; PcControl B1; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 22/10/12
?
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:49 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 836
cawright1 wrote:
Hi, just to add to this - from my own experiences - once the files are on your pc use 'VideoRedoSuite' to convert from.rec to avi /or MP4. Then you can stick the recordings onto a USB pen and play them from any telly.

I've got about 10 gig of stuff that I've converted already!

https://www.videoredo.com/en/Products_TVSuite_V5.html

It only costs around $100 to purchase a licence Shocked

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
Laser
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 6:49 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2008 Posts: 441
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
It only costs around $100 to purchase a licence Shocked

Ouch!

It was years ago and I only did it a couple of times, but wasn't there a free software that did this? As I understand it, a .rec is a mpeg2-ts and that can be converted to mpeg2 (i.e. DVD format) losslessly by just stripping bits of header off or something.

Googling it reveals several different solutions, none of which are the one I'm thinking of!

_________________
TF5800 250GB Black Panther FW 5.13.65 (Patched)
TAPs: MS6.6, EPG2MEI 0.96, Extend 1.7, SecCacheUK, EIT_Sub, UKSubtitle, SDS
TV: Pioneer PDP-4280XD. AVR: Denon AVR-X2600H. Transmitter: Tacolneston
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 7:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 231
I use Handbrake (free) to onvert to mp4

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 8:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4550
VLC

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 836
REC2MPG is the simple utility that strips the unwanted data out of a .ts (.rec) file and losslessly converts the resulting file to mpg. I've still got a shortcut on my desktop for it that I haven't used in years - simply drop a .rec file onto the shortcut and it produces an .mpg file. See https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10814&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=rec2mpg&start=0

SonicLife is still hosting that and the other programs he created at http://www.soniclife.byethost7.com/?i=1

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 3:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 231
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
REC2MPG is the simple utility that strips the unwanted data out of a .ts (.rec) file and losslessly converts the resulting file to mpg. I've still got a shortcut on my desktop for it that I haven't used in years - simply drop a .rec file onto the shortcut and it produces an .mpg file. See https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10814&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=rec2mpg&start=0

SonicLife is still hosting that and the other programs he created at http://www.soniclife.byethost7.com/?i=1

Thanks for that link, just tried his rec2mkv and it seems to work great, very quick Cool
Anyone know how to get it to process all the files in a folder rather than one at a time ?

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 5800

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum