Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  hard drive pvr

Page 1 of 1
cladder57
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2019 10:39 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 78
i switched on toppy today and it was stuck on one channel with its channel logo up
i switched of at mains no joy
tried to connect my lap top no joy could not find toppy
took hard drive out tried to connect using topfhdw no joy
used topfdoc and it stopped at program files-settings/mystuff-oldcopy'.cluster 11578
used my linux computer to try and acess hard drive no joy
but when i tried to connect totopfdw it did and manage to copy over recordings
tried it in the pvr same thing it locked on channel then shut down by it self andrebooted then i could change channels but nothing else could not format it was greyed out
tried another old hard drive it would not format or connect to computer
is the hard drive buggered or the psu gone again Sad

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/10/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:08 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4416
Did you reconnect the disk properly? "Format" greyed out indicates toppy didn't see it.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cladder57
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 10:02 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 78
tried to format disc in windows and linux , in windows device manger sees it but computer no and the disc is 6 to 8 months old.
put it in toppy made sure all connects are sound, it would run start verifying file check shut down then start again do this 2 or 3 times then do a verifying file check which takes ages you cannot do anything change channel menu use remote to switch off you had to press it 2 or 3 times and it would hang there then switch off so i switch on file check again then you can press menu pops up and format disc greyed out.
could it be psu or is it just kaput

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/10/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
cladder57
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 10:57 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 78
i noticed that one of the capacitors had a slight bulge c23 changed psu seems tobe working formatted reinstalled my stuff now about to transfer recordings

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/10/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:32 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4416
If one cap is bulging, you should change them all.

You should always format in the toppy i.e. don't use TopfHDRW/Doctor.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cladder57
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 1:40 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 78
i changed the whole psu i had a spare. the idea was to format in windows and then in pvr

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/10/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 1:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4416
The PVR will do it properly.
As you are doing it last, any windows format will not be used (so why do it?).
Formatting a disk is not like formatting floppy disk (where every sector was written to with timing marks)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cladder57
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:41 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 78
i know at the time the pvr did not recognised the hard drive in my simple way i thought windows format get rid of anythig so it will be recognised

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/10/17
?
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 781
The Toppy uses a format not recognised by Windows (and vice versa)

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum